We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
147
13
3
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
13
3
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade brown breadachill islandtea and biscuitsyogurtlocal smoked salmonfull irish breakfastamazing breakfastlovely sunroomstewed rhubarbthank you very muchlong cyclespent nightskeel beachwarm welcomescrambled eggsnice personnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 169 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2011

this b and b was total perfection. it was homely, warm, clean and inviting, and had a lovely character. it is a large b and b, (with 14 rooms, i think,) where one has their own privacy, yet the warm personal touch by anne the owner, makes your stay wonderful. I stayed with a friends and we all agreed this was the best b n b we had ever been in, as often we would book a hotel, but Joyces Marian Villa made me realise that you can get better service, for.e.g. breakfast , cooked to order, ( instead of queuing for a self served breakfast, like a lot of hotels.) there was a nice selection of fruit and nuts, homemade jams, and marmalde and home made brown bread., as well as ur usual cereals and a lovely tradional breakfast., it has 2 cosy communal rooms adding luxury to the house, one been a conservatory with a lovely view and the other a cosy room with an open fire.great value for a special place ......we plan to be back very soooooon!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullingarannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Impeccably clean, warm and friendly. A peat fire to relax by in a communal area, where you can make tea and coffee. Very large for a B&B so it's free of the claustrophobic feel you can get in a smaller place. Ann who runs it is warm-hearted, helpful, honest and attentive. Our room was ideally sized, comfortable, well laid out and clean with a gorgeous sea view. Shower worked a treat. The breakfast was delicious and quickly served, including real home made bread and jams. Clonakilty black pudding, endless coffee, who could ask for more? We are left with fond memories of Achill Island and will surely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maireadcave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Superlatives cannot do this place justice. We received a warm welcome on arrival and were shown to our beautiful room. Delightfully decorated and with a fantastic view down to Keel beach. The room and spacious bathroom were spotless, as were the communal areas.

After a fantastic night's sleep we were treated to perhaps the best breakfast spread of any B&B or hotel we have stayed in. The breadth of what was on offer and the quality of the ingredients were special indeed.

From the other reviews it seems some people have an issue with the price. Quite frankly we would spend far more to stay here again. This is not your average B&B so I can't see why it should charge the average price (though on that note I think the price was no dearer than other places we looked at).

We look forward to staying again next time we are lucky enough to stay in beautiful Achill.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMcAndMsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Myself and four friends visited this guesthouse for an easter break. We found the rooms very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was a feast! A selection of fruit and homemade brown bread and jams, a selection of cereals including porridge with cinnamon and honey! A full irish breakfast which was very tasty with none of the grease. There was also a lovely sunroom and sitting room where we could sit and relax and an open fire and tea and biscuits awaited us on arrival.Also we were happy with the location . It was within walking distance of the pub, coffee shop, beach and the slievemore mountain which we climbed . We all agreed that we would definitely come back for another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I just attempted to book this B&B for the Achill Half Marathon. When queried the very high rate of 50EUR per person per night, was told to go elsewhere after being abused on the phone. The woman on the end of the phone then hung up on me. People with this kind of attitude have no place working in the service industry and I am sure give a bad name to what is otherwise a beautiful and friendly part of Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank KilkennyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews