We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bervie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bervie
Ranked #2 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Bervie is one of a kind. I don't think I have stayed at a better location! Having breakfast looking out onto the Atlantic and looking out over at the cliffs in Achill is very special. Opening the little blue gate in the back garden onto a truly beautiful mile long strand is stunning. That's after you've had a browse of the resident artist's cute studio. The hosts Elizabeth and John are pure hospitality and a lovely couple. The food is fabulous and you must stay for dinner one of the nights as it is really yum...Calveys is also definitely worth a visit while on the island. Achill lamb is a great tip for either place. Can't wait to go back...the only place to stay in Achill! Thanks Bervie :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
78
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location - garden leads to the beach! Wonderful breakfast with lots of choice. Genuine welcome..Will return. The Little Studio at the end of the garden selling photographs is worth a visit too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Amazing views, excellent, locally sourced food. Achill Island is a wonderful place for a low key, non- touristy vacation in Ireland and the Bervie is a great place to frame your stay on Achill. John and Elizabeth are warm and gracious hosts and have always made us feel at home and welcomed. They are never too busy to offer suggestions and recommendations or to laugh with you over your adventures during the day. The staff is great and the Bervie itself is full of interesting nooks to explore. Now they even have a resident artist/photographer on premises (check out the extremely talented John Michael Nikolai) so gallery browsing is right outside your door. We stayed at the Bervie for 2 nights a few years ago and promised ourselves we would go back and we just returned from a wonderful week there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mozearary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

In traveling far and wide, across many continents and countries, I have yet to encounter somewhere as lovely as The Bervie: the location is part of the magic - right on the seashore of glorious Achill Island; but beyond that, there is something extraordinarily warm about the reception one gets here. Food is absolutely excellent, accommodation delightful (cosy without being twee) and the hosts, Elizabeth and John Barrett are simply gorgeous.
If I were not already an Achill fanatic, this place alone would convince me to return. Enchanting...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonmk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moy, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a lovely break at the Bervie. We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. The bedroom was very clean, comfortable beds, delicious breakfasts, wonderful friendly staff. The lovely hot chocolate Elizabeth made for the kids at night, we were made feel very welcome and it's right beside the beach. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBM213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

we had a great time at the bervie. elizabeth, who runs it, is charming, helplful, and always ready with an appropriate comment. the food is outstanding -- great dinner, marvelous breakfasts beautifully served. room was very clean and spacious. we were there during a bank holiday so it was packed, but that didn't detract from the nice experience. wonderful location on the beach. it is a bit pricey though.

Room Tip: if it's not full then you might look at rooms before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have one night stay in bervie. It was really a wonderful experience. We got great welcome, delicious dinner and very clean room. Also the room is with excellent ocean view. I would absolutely stay here again the next time go to achill

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank feichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
13.1 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#4 of 27 in Achill Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bervie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bervie

Property: Bervie
Address: Bervie Bervie Road | The Strand, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bervie guesthouse is a wonderfully restored coastguard station on Achill Island, off the west coast of Ireland in the County of Mayo. It is situated on the south-facing beach at Keel Strand, and has stunning unbroken views across kilometers of unpolluted golden sand, overlooking the majestic Cathedral Cliffs of Minaun, with the islands of Clew bay on the horizon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bervie Achill Island/Keel, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing