We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”
Review of Bervie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bervie
Ranked #2 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a wonderful and hospitable stay at the Bervie. Elizabeth and John are welcoming, warm and first class hosts. The accommodation is bursting with character in the rooms and the public areas. There is nothing quite like whiling away the evening with a good book, a glass of wine and a peat fire in the sitting room.

We were fortunate with the weather and the Bervie leads directly out onto the beach; Keel strand and is an unspoilt blue flag beach overlooked by a dramatic landscape of cliffs.

The Bervie kitchen serves excellent dinner and breakfast - Kelly's award winning black and white puddings add something special to breakfast - and Chef, who is a fine cook, does especially well with fish - particularly enjoyed the crab claws and the turbot, but the belly of pork confit pork also deserves to eaten! Bravo!

The exchange rate for Brits means that this is really a 4 rather than a 5 value for money, but that's down to the global economy not the Bervie.

Room Tip: The swimming pool is the sea - the freshest and coldest - and the fitness centre is a run along an u...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZandDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Bervie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 216 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had absolutley atrocious weather during our stay in August 2011, but staying at Bervies really made up for it - we have been to Achill a few times, normally trapped in a camper van trying to dry our clothes, so the weather was not a suprise, but the ambience of this small guest house really was. John and Elizabeth are extremely good and friendly hosts and the food was fantastic - my children were really spoiled at breakfast, Elizabeth indulged them by allowing pancakes with sausages as well as a boiled egg with its own hand knitted cosy - presents from a guest no less! The old Coast Guard cottages make charming if a little compact accomodation for a family of 4 but we weren't in ours much as despite the weather we went out or lurked in the lovely sitting room with the fire whilst the children - shock horror- played chess?! Every afternoon about 5ish we had tea and warm freshly baked scones -bliss- and then a delicious 3 course dinner at 7.30. The guests were varied in ages and nationalities, but all were extremely friendly - So made for a very pleasant stay. The cottages are a stones throw from the beach and everyone goes swimming or surfing regardless of the weather - you will need a wetsuit as the sea is absolutley freezing but you can hire one pretty easily if you need to. We also went horse riding, toured around the island, I bought a lovely coat and we walked from the famine village (really worth a visit) to the most westerly pub in Europe. Its hard to think how they could improve, my husband suggests perhaps installing draught beer ( not on my list of priorities) but the lack of a bar gave us an excuse to go out for pre dinner drinks and enjoy some of the pubs on the island. The food makes this place great, but the hosts make it special. We have made our enquiries to go back this summer.

Room Tip: You will need to ask for a sea view if you want one, otherwise you look out onto a lawn or the court...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_RocheLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

an all round excellent experience from the greeting you on arrival to the time you leave very refreshed from the experience, the owners make you very welcome and always have time for you no matter how busy they are, the afternoon tea is an old fashioned treat that has been lost elsewhere but retains its charm here, the scones, jam ,cream plus the beautiful china make it a real treat not to be missed

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D-J-L527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights. We arrived during the dinner service but despite the hosts being very busy, they welcomed us very warmly and attentively. The hotel is beautifully situated and our sea view room had a truly good sea view. The backyard of the hotel opens right on to the beach. The room was comfortable with a better bed than we had most places (most places we stayed had firmer beds than I like; this was soft without being overly soft). The food was good and we enjoyed our stay here very much. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sullysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

we came to the bervie on our honeymoon - I was born in ireland and was introducing my new wife to the country - and we were so lucky to go to keel and find the bervie. if I could take someone to ireland and show them what was special about irish people - I would take them to the bervie. the people are lovely, really beautiful beaches and walks - we even went swimming in may. they cook beautiful food, play great music, and keep a wonderful mood of gentle humour and interest going with their guests. Go there! can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bomboraboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were only there for one night and even though the weather wasn't great we really, really loved. It is a total gem and the island is so beautiful. The best breakfast we had our entire stay in Ireland and we were there for 18 days. I would love to go back when it is warmer and stay there for several days. Beautiful, breathtaking scenery and the accommodations were as close to home as you can get. Lovely rooms and plenty of spaces to curl up with a good book and just look at the ocean. The have a laptop in the back room (all glass windows) overlooking the ocean for anyone to use. The rooms are immaculate! The owners (elizabeth and john, I think) are two of the sweetest people you will ever meet. By far, one of our favorite memories of the entire trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sironko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Bervie Guesthouse has a spiritual quality that fills you with love. From the moment we walked in we were greeted with such welcoming that it felt that we had come home. The family history indeed danced before our feet and enveloped us with safety and a longing for more. We could have stayed a lifetime and we felt that we did. The food was outstanding and the little extras, meeting our peculiar needs were deeply appreciated. Elizabeth is a very special person, whose hospitality is of the truest kind. John added the life of humour and service that made our visit so enjoyable. The staff, all of them, are beautiful souls who give angelic touches. We can't wait to return and enter the gates of this sacred place again and again. We are so grateful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m_michael_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
0.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
120 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Achill Isle House
Achill Isle House
#12 of 12 in Keel
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bervie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bervie

Address: Bervie Bervie Road | The Strand, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range: $60 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bervie guesthouse is a wonderfully restored coastguard station on Achill Island, off the west coast of Ireland in the County of Mayo. It is situated on the south-facing beach at Keel Strand, and has stunning unbroken views across kilometers of unpolluted golden sand, overlooking the majestic Cathedral Cliffs of Minaun, with the islands of Clew bay on the horizon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bervie Achill Island/Keel, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing