We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second stay at the fabulous Bervie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bervie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bervie
Ranked #2 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our second stay at the fabulous Bervie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

On our first trip to Ireland in 1996 we found the Bervie by chance through the recommendation of a local gentleman we met. We loved it then and we loved it on our most recent trip. Elizabeth and John are fantastic hosts and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and at home. We love the Bervie - the room, views and food were all excellent. This place is magical! We were there during a storm but still had a fabulous time and enjoyed the beauty of Achill Island. The Atlantic Drive was spectacular. A place not to be missed on any trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stella1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
79
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

What a magical place. Liz and John (prop) are so welcoming and friendly. The accommodation is atmospheric, very comfortable and a home from home with a uniquely Bervie style. I cannot stress how superb the food was both for breakfast and dinner. We will be back at least once a year for our Bervie "fix"!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bernieodonnell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

As others have said, this is a very friendly place in a great location. But having toured Ireland for a couple of weeks, we found it on the pricey side for what you get - both in terms of the standard of the room (and rather hit and miss on basics like hot water/plumbing, wifi etc). If you go anyway for the location, you might want to dine in Calvey's across the road - excellent fresh fare (maybe a little simpler than the B&B), both fish and meat, and you can shave $20 on a 3 course meal for two.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Elizabeth and John are wonderful! You couldn't ask for more helpful, kind and friendly hosts. The food is fantastic-the fruit crepes for breakfast were delicious and the dinners yummy! Our room looked out over the ocean and the Bervie is just a few steps from the beach. Achill Island is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sadie0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Recently stayed here with my husband. Phoned up at last minute, got a room for the night and ended up staying for two! Hosts, Elizabeth & John, are lovely people and made us feel very welcome. Elizabeth let us look around before deciding which room we wanted. We had dinner here one night and although I agree that it's a little pricey, at least the food is great which makes it worth it. The B&B is in a fantastic location, right on the beach. We were able to find a little corner of the beautiful garden and have a glass of wine in the evening sun overlooking the sea! Elizabeth arranged bike hire for us and we had a fantastic day cycling around the island - would highly recommend. the rooms were very comfortable and breakfast very tasty. We would definitely return to Bervie.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimi7708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

This place is gorgeous and has beautiful views of the sea. The food was really nice although a little overpriced in my opinion. 1 soup starter,2 mains and 2 bottles of wine came to €120 and one of the main courses was a simple veggie dish of roasted pepper and couscous which cost €26. Because there is not many restaurants in the area, you are not left with much of a choice. The accommodation cost €90(i think) for 1 room for the night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ne1can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

we stayed only one night (regrettably) it was pouring rain and we were met by our wonderful host very welcoming and warm - THE IDIOT that commented that the host is overbearing is very wrong - the food in the evening and breakfast is very very good. we had a lovely room overlooking the sea and we loved it

the next morning it was fine and sunny and we took the road to the lookour north of keel and it was fantastic with beautiful beach and clear water
go there and stay at bervie we came all the way from australia and loved it

go

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
13.1 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#4 of 27 in Achill Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
6.0 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bervie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bervie

Property: Bervie
Address: Bervie Bervie Road | The Strand, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bervie guesthouse is a wonderfully restored coastguard station on Achill Island, off the west coast of Ireland in the County of Mayo. It is situated on the south-facing beach at Keel Strand, and has stunning unbroken views across kilometers of unpolluted golden sand, overlooking the majestic Cathedral Cliffs of Minaun, with the islands of Clew bay on the horizon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bervie Achill Island/Keel, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing