We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayside Bistro

Bayside Bistro
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Keel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sea food restaurant with scenic views in the heart of village of Keel, Achill Island.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

It was a bit quiet when we arrived, but even though Keel was pretty much wrapping up the holiday season there was a nice buzz of people in here through the evening. We had front windows on both our evenings here and looking out over the beach as we ate was so lovely.

One night we had value meals that were part of a deal from staying in the Stella Maris b&b - but they were ovely and flexible with us changing sides to suit ourselves as much as possible. The food was so wonderful - between us we had lamb, steak, the pork belly, scallops - all cooked to a tee. The desserts were wonderful too - just perfect.

Staff were lovely - friendly, efficient. Would recommend highly!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    57
    24
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Most disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Reviews did not accurately describe our visit. Service atrocious - waitress could not possibly have been more rude. Lack of fish on menu a joke given location. Everything we got was a massive , overpriced disappointment. They wanted us out of there and that was clear. A bad day = no excuse in this business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DD2Sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achill Island, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“At last a year round excellent restaurant in Achill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Love the food, and the service. Delighted they are open all year round. Fish is always excellent and menu is as good as any top class restaurant in ireland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AchillShoreView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a meal here with three children. We were staying at the Stella Maris so got a special menu which was very good value.
I had the steak which was excellent, my husband had risotto which was fine.
The children all enjoyed their chicken, sausages and chips
Overall it was certainly the best value meal we had in Keel, my only criticism is that it was a bit lacking in atmosphere

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PElspethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

What a find!
This is a lovely little restaurant with an impressive menu. The fish and chips were enormous and very tasty. The goats cheese crostinis were simply amazing. I had some special dietary requirements and they were met without any issues. The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced.
I would be happy to recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJJVVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayside Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bayside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing