We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

From start to finish our 2night stay was fautless all the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable.Within walking distance of beach and pub.Didn't eat dinner as hard to know what you will be doing 24 hours away.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schoolcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    11
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
129
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the roman room, the room was amazing the view was amazing and the jacuzzi was amazing worth way more than we paid, the breakfast was brilliant everyone was so accomidating,
In the room there was bottles of water and a toblerone on each side of the bed.
A previous review mentioned cold water, however we had two jacuzzi baths and two showers and didnt have any issues around lack of hot water,
I mentioned how much i liked the scones and i was handed a box of them as i was leaving for the way home, i would recomend it to everyone

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillyreg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I had a truly relaxing time at Ferndale, John and all those involved were excellent hosts and made every effort to ensure our comfort. We had chosen the beautifully decorated Roman room for our stay and the quality of the bedroom is comparable with the best 5 star hotels and yet has a much more homely and personalised touch. All the little details are taken care of and the standard of breakfast is to match.


The welcome, the accommodation, the food and the setting all combined to make this a truly perfect break! I hope to return in the summer.

Room Tip: The Roman room was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohill, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights in January. Have to say the bed & view from our room was amazing.
Breakfast was nice & food in the evening was good.
Would say that a kettle in the room to make your own tea & coffee would be a good idea.
Also dont book a taxi from the b&b they charge you double the price.
We did enjoy the peace & quite plus the bed was so big & comfy

Room Tip: we choose the mini suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited Achill Island for a family occassion recently. There were seven of us in the group altogether, and we stayed for one night at this guest house. The different themed rooms were decorated and furnished to a very high
standard,although not to everybody's liking. The rooms were nice and warm when we arrived, but when we returned we found them rather cold and the bed was very cold, so I for one did not get a good nights sleep.The breakfast the next morning was ok, but the tea was only warm. Then came the real let down, when I went to have a shave and use the shower the water was absolutely freezing. The other members of the group found this to be the case also. When this was mentioned to the owner we were informed that the water was heated with solar energy,(Winter in Ireland,come on). We all agreed afterwards that we would not rate this as five star accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianmac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Myself and my husband spent the October bank holiday weekend at Ferndale and had a brilliant time, we stayed in the Arabian room which was lovely with a really comfortable bed and we also had a look at the other bedrooms before leaving, all of which are beautifully presented - We'll be back to stay in the Roman room next time hopefully.
We had dinner there one night and it was such a treat - we were given an aperitif and a pre starter before we had even ordered and all the food was really tasty and it's obvious that the cooking is of a very high standard.
The house was amazingly decorated for Halloween, such a lot of effort is put in by John and everyone involved in Ferndale to make their b and b special and unique and it definitely pays off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stay all over the world and apart from our own, this bed was the most comfortable to date. The hosts are a joy, the breakfast as good as it gets, the effort and effect outstanding. If you need R&R this is the place. Not everything is perfection, but the enthusiasm more than outweighs any of our minor personal foibles that may have detracted or distracted. It deserves to go from strength to strength, which may only be delayed by having the cash to do it, as their imagination and aspiration abounds. We are already planning a return.

Room Tip: The sea view room we had was worth it, but all looked comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrongwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
13.4 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
965 reviews
1.9 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
130 reviews
4.5 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#2 of 4 in Achill Sound
180 reviews
4.8 mi away
No photo provided
Monastery View
#3 of 7 in Achill Island
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: Crumpaun, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland (Formerly Ferndale Luxury Accommodation)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offically registered board failte irish tourist board listed 5 Star B+B verfied and inspected ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale Luxury Bed And Breakfast Achill Island/Keel, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing