We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antrim, N Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights (10 + 11 May). We arrived quite late in the evening so Jon suggested we dine there too as he had other diners coming in that night. Well! What a dinner - it was out of this world! The room Jon gave us was wonderful, all the beautiful drapes and swags, and the furniture was unbelievable. Everything was so beautifully co-ordinated. Breakfast next morning was just a culinery delight; scrambled eggs like you've never tasted them with smoked duck! Yummy. But I think for us one of the most memorable food items was Heidi's cheese scones, which she kept bringing more of. We both decided to have omelette the following morning, and it too was deeelicious. Thank you Heidi, Jon and Alex for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The room we were in overlooked Keel and the bay. Wonderful view, when the sun was shining!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    11
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
115
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This place has got to have some of the nicest rooms in the country and the views are world class. the trip woukd have been five starts just rating the rooms but to make it better, the food, my mouth waters just thinking about it, is without a shadow of a doubt the nicest meal I have ever had. the owners and staff are even better, you could have a conversation with them all night... I cant stop pin pointing positives about this. you have to be there and see for yourself. 5 stars hands down.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This 5 star Guesthouse was recommended to us by The Merchant House in Dublin. We had a long weekend slot before Christmas and decided to treat ourselves. We most certainly were not disappointed, somewhat unusual in decor as all the 'Suites' have their own unique theme. Staff were very professional and made our stay so very pleasant. Price was attractive and competitive . Overall a very nice experience . We will return in the summer and enjoy the beauty of this Island and its landscapes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dromod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked as a post wedding long weekend break by our parents, Ferndale was amazing, welcoming and comfortable with lovely views from our sea facing suite. Room was beautiful and food was gorgeous- I wanted to take home a bottle of the sauce the chef used one evening we dined in. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

So weird it's like a nursing home was meant to stay a few nights but I left after one because It was horrible terrible decor honestly everything was like stage props the dining room was old dusty mingling there was grey hair on the black table cloths. Heidi was so strange she kind of didnT know when to leave you alone john was wearing a dirty old track suit when we arrived....breakfast in the morning was awful Heidi was cooking with no kitchen wear apron hat etc her hair was all over the place which really was putting me off when she served are breakfast she put her hand into my partners egg because she thought it was a hair??? Like seriously!!!!!! How would you expect any normal person to be able to eat after that??? The only thing I could manage was a cup of tea as I poured the tea what did I find?? A grey hair obviously not mine(iv black hair) after that I made up an excuse and couldn't wait to get the hell out of there!!!! 5star luxury honestly I would not like to see what 4 star or 3 is to them stayed in loads of 5star hotels and never have I experienced anything as awful or weird as this ??

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jalna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at ferndale for 3 nights in november. When we arrived we where greeted by great spooky halloween decorations. The host jon showed us to our room (roman room) i have never seen such a beautiful room, huge bed, huge tv, beautiful decor, such detail in everything truly luxury. the bathroom was massive and had a jacuzzi bath big enough for 2 people, best shower i have ever had, toiliteries provided as well.
We had a tour of all the other rooms, jon explained how all the furnishings are handmade, every detail goes into each room and we hope to try every one!
Jon provided us with blu-ray dvds to watch in our room, he was always available if we needed anything!
Breakfast at ferndale i cannot fault. beautiful surroundings and fantastic view from the dining room. Extensive breakfast menu, gorgeous coffee and fresh juice provided with jons wonderful homemade scones a must try!
Would not have a bad word to say!
Amazing stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeighMIlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Myself and my wife spent 3 days in Ferndale last week. After a long drive we were greeted with tea, chocolates and scones by Jon. Our room and bed were really comfortabe. Breakfast was really great, top quality and a great variety. Our hosts Jon and Heidi were really friendly and welcoming. The location is really stunning, the scenery is amazing, even in bad weather. I recommend the atlantic drive and a visit to the RTE masts (I forget the name of the mountain). If I get the chance I will definitely visit again. Next time I will definitely try the dinner menu. Martin and Ursula.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
4.5 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#4 of 27 in Achill Island
118 reviews
5.9 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Breeze B&B
Atlantic Breeze B&B
#7 of 12 in Keel
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: Crumpaun, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland (Formerly Ferndale Luxury Accommodation)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offically registered board failte irish tourist board listed 5 Star B+B verfied and inspected ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale Luxury Bed And Breakfast Achill Island/Keel, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing