We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B I've ever stayed in!”
Review of Stella Maris B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stella Maris B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clonmel, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best B&B I've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed in the Stella Maris. It was my second time staying there. The welcome we received by Mary was second to none. Our room was just beautiful with a spectacular view of Keel Beach and the rugged cliffs of the North Atlantic. Mary and Greg were so attentive to our every request and there is a wonderful family atmosphere there. The breakfast is just delicious with an extensive menu to chose from. We were so full afterwards that we didn't eat until evening! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Stella Maris to anyone considering a stay in Achill Island. Great value for money in such an opulent setting!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
136
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent two nights at Stella Maris B&B in Keel this May and had a great time. The big and cosy room had two huge windows with the best view ever: Beach and cliffs. You can directly access the beach from the B&B, go for wonderful walks and enjoy nature. The bathroom was equipped with an excellent shower with plenty of hot water. The windows are tripple glazed - that means that even while there was a storm raging outside, we felt warm and cosy inside. And the breakfast was absolutely delicious as well... fresh pancakes, yummy! Plenty of other things on the menu as well. The hosts are super friendly, know a lot about the island and are great to talk to. We absolutely loved Achill Island, and felt very much at home at Stella Maris B&B and can recommend it to everyone. There might be cheaper options, but at a 100 Euro per night for two, including breakfast, it was worth every cent of it.

Room Tip: Suite on the top floor - best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaCTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast for several days and enjoyed every minute. The room had breathtaking views and was immaculate and well-appointed. As others have mentioned, the breakfasts are made to order, with a starter of a nice buffet of cereal, bread, and fruit salad choices. The hosts were truly kind, giving us a suite at no extra cost when they had a late cancellation. We especially enjoyed the beach walks, a short distance from the garden and back yard of the facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfort c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in Oct, and received a superb welcome. The room was fantastic and had lots of great little touches all about the place. It really felt like being at home. The breakfast the next day was excellent with everything made to order and the service was wonderful. Greg and Mary are lovely people that have a lovely home. Thanks, and we will be back if we are ever in Achill Island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My father and I stayed here one evening in mid September and were charmed by the hospitality of the husband and wife proprietors, Greg and Mary. The BandB sits on the coast of picturesque Keel beach. Access to the vast beach is conveniently located in the back yard. The breakfast is made to order and both satisfying and delicious. This is the perfect spot to stay when spending time visiting Achill Iseland.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. I've traveled throughout the UK and found this to be one of the most cozy, clean and tranquil places for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been visiting Achill Island for many years as we love it so much. We stayed at Stella Maris for the first time for two nights 12th-13th September. We were made very welcome by Greg and Mary. Ours rooms were spotless, extremely comfortable and luxurious. The view from our room was stunning.
Breakfast was most enjoyable with a wide variety of food to cater for every need and served with a smile by Mary. The views from the dining room were also stunning.
We hope to return to Achill Island in the future and will certainly stay at Stella Maris if they have any vacancies!!

Mary, Ivy and Vince.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and can honestly say was delighted we booked a suite, beautiful views overlooking keel beach, room was spacious and very comfortable, had everything we needed from tea facilities, hair dryer, ensuite bathroom with power shower (nicest shower to have!) and dressing table by window great for getting ready loads of natural light. Room was always cosy and for it been our first B&B stay, I would highly reccommend staying here great nights sleep so comfy and peaceful and breakfast was nicer than any hotel breakie, with a fantastic choice of foods some of which are home made. The pancakes with fresh fruits and berries (see pics!!) should def be tasted if you do book here and you will not be disappointed, ideal location right on beach close to pubs and restaurants and was easy to find. Also after been out on our first day, we came back to the room and there was a lovely bottle of wine waiting for us, compliments of Mary and Greg which was such a thoughtful gesture.

Room Tip: spend the extra euros and book a suite seaview def worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bid86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
13.1 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
965 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
951 reviews
2.1 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
116 reviews
5.9 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#2 of 4 in Achill Sound
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris B&B

Property: Stella Maris B&B
Address: Keel, | Achill, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guesthouse offers luxury accommodation, a welcome retreat after a day of activity. Relax and prepare for the evening where you can sample local cuisine in one of the many restaurants within walking distance of Stella Maris, or join in with some of the traditional music in one of the local bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stella Maris B&B Achill Island/Keel, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing