We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant welcoming stay....”
Review of Stella Maris B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stella Maris B&B
Ranked #2 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant welcoming stay....”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed 3 nights, in this b&b. Our Hosts were very friendly, and gave us good ideas on where to visit, eat and general things to do. great location, only a few meters from the beach. Lovely 4 poster bed, with fantastic sea-view!! Loved the fresh fruit at breakfast, also Mary's pancakes are divine :)
Highly recommend this for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    23
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
125
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cremona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The lovely, delicious and unforgettable pancake with honey and fresh fruit (extra-sweet strawberries, bananas, kiwis and grapes) is worth the trip in itself! Add a fantastic location overlooking Keel beach in the heart of unspoilt and stunning Achill Island and the kind welcome we had at Stella Maris and here you have our absolutely positive experience at this B&B!!! If you like opulence and baroque-style you will love the surprising richness of decor in the living room (golden frames and cloths, marble columns, big golden chairs, ornaments...), if you are on the essential style, don't care and go forward to your room: you'll find a spacious and comfortable one offering you a splendid view of Minaun Cliffs!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illy67Cremona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. There was room for us to store our bikes and the guest house is right at the end of the beach so there was plenty for us to do. The rooms are gorgeous and the breakfast is just fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Not only was this B&B beautifully kept but it's location on Keel Beach was wonderful. It was also a convenient walk to a good restaurant and the local Pub. The price was great too. We stayed at many places for the same rate but none even came close to this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Parents stayed here. Food was fab and as much as they wanted. Staff were friendly and helpful. Some might like the "look" of the main room other might night but it is different. ;) The main bedrooms were nice with some great views.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I am lucky to be have been a regular guest in Stella Maris over the past few years travelling down to the half marathon. Achill is a very special wild place and Stella Maris is the place to stay if you are visting the island. Everything about the house is top class. The rooms are beautifully furnished, with four poster beds, pure luxury and there are incredible views out across the Atlantic. The location is great, you can walk to a few local pubs and lovely restaurants nearby. Breakfast is a feast, and is beautifully prepared - fresh ingredients, and very relaxing to sit and enjoy the views. Mary and Greg are very warm and welcoming. This place is a real gem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthstephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean. the island itself is wonderful as are the people. food was a little bit too much. and I mean too much. they should reduce the portions and maybe look at giving people more options. It's really difficult to make any complaints about such lovely people!

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the ocean - magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nephin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
13.1 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#6 of 27 in Achill Island
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris B&B

Property: Stella Maris B&B
Address: Keel, | Achill, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guesthouse offers luxury accommodation, a welcome retreat after a day of activity. Relax and prepare for the evening where you can sample local cuisine in one of the many restaurants within walking distance of Stella Maris, or join in with some of the traditional music in one of the local bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stella Maris B&B Achill Island/Keel, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing