We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Achill Lodge”
Review of Achill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Achill Lodge
Ranked #5 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Thank you Achill Lodge”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We really appreciate them much that even we arrived after midnight, someone opened the door for us. And in the morning we founded out we were the only one who stayed that night. Breakfast was served hot and nicely.

Thank you for your hospitality.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sketsahati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    22
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
29
43
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killaloe, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A mixed group of five ranging in age from 29 to 66 stayed on Sat October 26th in Achill Lodge and enjoyed a most hospitable and comfortable stay. Bernie was a great hostess and the add on of a taxi service to take us and collect us from an evening out by the man of the house Hughie guaranteed us a hassle free stay. Hughie even picked the pub for us and his choice Lynotts Bar was top class. Breakfast was great and the view from the dining room of the Island is special. If you want a stay on Achill Island then do not pass on this purpose built guesthouse. Bemid ar ais le cunamh De.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dergonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have just recently returned from spending a few nights at Achill Lodge and I will return if I am in that area. The accommodation is beautiful, clean and immaculately kept. I had the full breakfast every morning and that kept me going till the afternoon. Hot, tasty and no shortage of top ups if required. The family that run it are very friendly and make it a home-from-home experience. The location is great too for the outdoor type - hill walks and beaches.

Room Tip: nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timothy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A very friendly and homely atmosphere at Achill Lodge . A great breakfast, and I'm vegetarian, with a fantastic view of the island as your coffee is refilled every five minutes by the very courteous Aisling. Very nicely decorated rooms and very interesting decor throughout the B&B, especially upstairs in the relaxing communal area. The very helpful family who run the establishment won't keep you taking all day (like a lot of B&B owners do), instead they invest their time in providing excellent service and letting you enjoy a leisurely and memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I can't really add anything to the recent reviews of Achill Lodge, it's all been said. The welcome I received was just right, the food was gorgeous....Bernie you're a great cook! If you're lucky you might get to meet all the family & have a bit of craic...it was mighty and I was just drinking tea!!
I was there for three nights & would definately go back. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinemccullough60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway,Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We, a family of two adults and three teens have just returned from a visit to Achill Island where we stayed in the Achill Lodge. We would normally stay in a hotel or self catering as B&B/guesthouse can be a bit claustrophobic and imposing for our lot. This place has the best of the hospitality a b&b gives with the freedom/flexibility to come and go whenever you wish as a small hotel can give. We found this great as the weather was pretty poor and we had to depend on using the rooms more than we expected to. The rooms were lovely spacious and very clean. We could make tea and use the dining room at any time throughout the day. Breakfast was freshly cooked, well presented with plenty of it. Aisling and Bernie made us feel very welcome and comfortable for the three days we spent there. We loved Pure Magic for eating and were very well looked after for surfing gear by surfing with Toma's on the main beach in Keel. Thanks Bernie and Aisling

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diarmcaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Achil lodge is a great place to stay if you want to explore island, especially on bike, it's just in the middle with an easy accesses to all 3 Atlantic drives.
You feel like at home, spacious room great breakfast and you can freely sit in lounge with nice view whenever you want
Nice place to stay highly recommended, A+M, Cork

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Michal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
9.4 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
969 reviews
6.4 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#6 of 27 in Achill Island
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#3 of 4 in Achill Sound
181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Achill Isle House
Achill Isle House
#12 of 12 in Keel
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Monastery View
#3 of 7 in Achill Island
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Lodge

Property: Achill Lodge
Address: Bunnacurry | Achill Island, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achill Lodge is an architecturally designed, luxury boutique guest house operated by the Deery family. We are located in the village of Bunnacurry in the heart of Achill Island with beautiful bay and village views to be enjoyed from our balconies and roof garden. Our 6 guest bedrooms are all en-suite with TV, free wifi, and hair drying facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Achill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achill Lodge Achill Island/Keel, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing