We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Keel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just back from an excellent trip to keel Sandybanks caravan and camp park. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff and had a speedy check in with great prices for camping only €18 a night for a big tent. All facilities on site campers kitchen, plenty of showers and toilets with lot of hot water. Fridges and freezer great extra for campers. Full laundry facility, iron and hair dryers. Wifi all round. Large community room with tv and lots of games and pool table even a high chair for babies. Staff always around the site very helpful and friendly. Location excellent for exploring Achill and directly on the beach overall this is a excellent camp site. Just one tip ensure you have cash as a lot of places don't take card although the Sandybanks do. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnydays1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had 5 nights in Keel campsite during the good weather. The weather made the trip. Not seen a nicer beach. Kids had a ball. Waves tiny due to heat wave and lack of wind. I understand that when the wind does get up it is not the best place to be unless you're into surfing etc. Campsite right on the beach. Playground across the road which means for the smaller kids they cannot go unsupervised. The toilet facilities were pretty overwhelmed at peak times due to the weather. Electricity hook ups were scarce. Keel is missing a pub close by that does good food, but we found Mastersons in Douggart which is 10 minutes away by car which served lovely well priced food. Thought the ease of access to the island via the short bridge is under advertised as not that much hastle to get to and from the island as you would think for an island. Showers were not great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Directly on the beach, this park has so much to offer if you like the beach. Facilities such as showers are charged for via a token system. Has laundry facilities in the park with a TV room and pool table,, Costcutter, pubs, restaurants close by. Lovely walk to Slievemore Mountain. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This caravan park is in an excellent location on overlooking the wild Atlantic ocean on keel beach and in the heart of Achill island. Facilities are excellent and it is very reasonably priced. We travelled in a camper van and even though the weather was poor, it did not dampen our spirits during the weekend.

I did many activities on this holiday that I am normally not allowed do. For example surfing was a great way to start the day. There is a man with a van called Tomas who parks on the beach every day and gives excellent surf lessons. He has a variety of surf boards and wet suits. His rates are very reasonable and he is an excellent instructor (or maybe it was just me who was an excellent student!!). We also went horse-riding on the beach which was awesome and reminded me of my childhood. 

I would strongly recommend a trip to the end of the island to visit one of the best beaches in the country, Keem. When the sun is shining on the island, this place is second to none. A must do activity is a cycle on Mayo's fantastic greenway. It is a dedicated bicycle track on a disused railway and is a fantastic amenity that should be enjoyed by anyone visiting the area. 

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasheenOgRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in one of the mobile homes over May bank holiday weekend. Despite our arrival late in the evening, the staff were warm and welcoming. The accommodation was very clean and well equipped. Our first night was quite cold but the staff were happy to hand out extra bedding and a heater at no extra cost the following morning. The mobile home was cosy, the kitchen and bathroom were spotless and the four of us had plenty of space to spread out our walking and cycling gear. Cycling the Great Western Greenway which starts in Achill Sound approx 8km away was a real highlight. In between the showers, the scenery was truly stunning and the cycle way meanders past rocky coves, sandy beaches and heather-covered mountainside. The campsite has clean and well-maintained toilet blocks and its location on the beach beside the Minaun cliffs is breathtaking. We were travelling with children who loved the campsite - there is a top-class play park just at the gates and they can cycle around the area without being in any danger. There is a supermarket nearby that makes fresh croissants daily and stocks a good range of food. We're used to camping both in Ireland and abroad - usually in a trailer tent. This was the first time we'd tried a mobile home and it worked out really well. Unfortunately we were unlucky with the weather but we will definitely be back. A really beautiful location and excellent campsite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ffibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We wanted to stay here for 5nights but left after two and won't be back.there are dogs everywhere and some people let their dogs roam around and poo everywhere and never cleaned it up.Yes there are sheep but it wasn't sheep dung!!!people were walking their dogs on the beach and letting them go wherever they wanted and our children got it on their hands twice in the time we were there..
We had to use the kitchen as we were camping and there was only one...yes one stove top working for the campers...we ended up having to have take out.
There is a swing top bin in the kitchen which had seen better days and was disgustingly filthy and there was no recycling bin in the kitchen and as a result everything went into the bin.
The showers are a joke...filthy and 4minutes...for a euro...the toilets are so small you have to squeeze beside the bowl to close the door.
The site is in a fab location and I think the owners just don't give a damm..there is a huge brown dog on the way in..the owners..and he barks and barks whenever anyone goes past..and barks and barks.
We needed to bring 2cars and we were charged for parking an xtra car...wtf!!!

There were people near us camping who were drinking until 4am outside their tent making a lot of noise and I dont know if the night supervisor was deaf or not on duty but they were very very noisy.
The staff seemed very young but were polite and helpful.
God only knows what any foreigners think of the set up.we won't be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank everlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed in motorhome for a night in July, it is located on one of the most beautiful beaches in the country. Staff were very friendly and helpful. facilities were average, toliet , shower, playground outside complex. Five minutes walk to a shop, Pub and a few restaurants.Will return again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Manager at Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thanks for the comments and feedback. Hopefully we will see you again sometime !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keel hotels
0.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Breeze B&B
Atlantic Breeze B&B
#6 of 12 in Keel
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mulhollow B&B
Mulhollow B&B
#9 of 12 in Keel
24 reviews
2.8 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Achill Isle House
Achill Isle House
#12 of 12 in Keel
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Keel | Achill island, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Keel
Price Range: $10 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park is a Grade A four star park that offers comfortable accommodation comprising of fully equipped mobile homes, which come with electricity, hot and cold water, room heater, cooker and fridge.We also provide ptiches for caravans, tents, and campervans on a nightly basis.Our caravan park is alongside Keel beach which stretches for 3km and is one of the finest Blue Flag beaches in Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park Achill Island, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing