We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Campsite I've been too yet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Keel
Belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Campsite I've been too yet”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Went to Achill with a group of friends last summer and spent 4 days in the Keel Sandybanks Camp and Caravan site. It was fantastic! The beach is glorious, the view is fantastic and the local pub is the best place to have a few too many. The people who look after the camp site are really friendly and always helpful (in my opinion much better than the site at Dugort thats for sure) The amenities where just what we expected, nothing fancy and thats just great. We spent a day under our tent porches while it chucked it down but that didnt dampen our spirits or those of the groups and families around us, plenty to even if the beach is not practical. Great place, will definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spdm7326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    24
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
46
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Keel is stunning, the site really is right beside the beach. The beach is one of 5 blue flag beaches on Achill, not bad for a wee island. The site is quite expensive, very busy and the toilets could do with more regular cleaning. The wait for the showers was very, very long. Apart from these niggles, the position of the site made up for everything.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We camped for 3 nights in Sandybanks, Keel, Achill and are only sorry we didn't stay longer - we were literally only yards from the beach & the truly magnificent views of the Minaun cliffs & the sound of the waves rolling in at night will stay long in the memory. The campsite itself is quite exposed, it took a bit of "handling" to erect the tent in blowy conditions but it's part of its charm! Staff were friendly & helpful; facilities were clean & functioning! The site is well located in Keel & Achill is great for watersports & scenic drives - plenty to do to keep kids amused - just beware of the sheep!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerandcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Unfortunately we decided to go camping on what turned out to be the wettest weekend of the year, with 90km/hr winds! The camp site was good, facilities were adequate with cookers and laundry facilities! The showers were quite sandy but that is to be expected! We could appreciate that it is a great location for surfing, cycling and walking, if the weather had been better!
The other thing of note is it is quite tricky to get to, lots of windy roads and quite isolated! Good for a weekend to get away from it all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I have been travelling to Keel Sandybanks since I was a baby with my parents, and now make a visit here one or two weeks every summer with partner & dog. This is by far the best place to stay on Achill Island. The location and views are amazing, and if you love camping this is the ultimate. The campsite is very clean, and has good showers and bathrooms, as well as kitchens with cookers and a decent washroom. The staff are very helpful and the general mood of the campsite is very good-spirited. The campsite is pet friendly and is directly beside the beach, so it's great for an active walk. I would highly recommend this campsite for anyone who wants a real taste of what rural Ireland has to offer! (Can get windy so go prepared!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I visited Achill to run the Achill Half marathon, and stayed here for two nights. The campsite was nice and had all the facilities I was looking for. The real plus is the location. It's right beside the beach and you can hear the waves break at night.

If you decide to camp you might want to bring a sturdy tent - as it can get quite windy!

Achill Island is also a lovely place to explore, which a variety of stunning landscapes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tailspin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

The caravan park is on one of the best sites in Achill but leaves alot to be desired.Young people run the park and manners leave alot to be desired.From the last time I stayed a few caravans have been upgraded but for the most part are well behind the standard you would expect from a caravan park that charges top rates.Dogs are allowed in some vans but you are not told which vans when you book which we found out on arrival ( dog hair everywhere ) and with a child with asthma this does not bode well.On leaving the site we were asked where the blankets were that they had left in the van and we were told if they did not appear we would loose our deposit (they were under the seats in the caravan where they left them but forgot to tell us) shambolic to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArmaghIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
0.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Achill Isle House
Achill Isle House
#12 of 12 in Keel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
7.1 mi away
Achill Sound Hotel (Ostan Gob a'Choire)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park

Property: Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Keel | Achill island, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park is a Grade A four star park that offers comfortable accommodation comprising of fully equipped mobile homes, which come with electricity, hot and cold water, room heater, cooker and fridge.We also provide ptiches for caravans, tents, and campervans on a nightly basis.Our caravan park is alongside Keel beach which stretches for 3km and is one of the finest Blue Flag beaches in Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park Achill Island, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing