We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
278
55
23
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
55
23
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greek night greek viagra lovely family rhodes town free shot whole family son george traditional dancing great holiday the ground floor the bus great barman regular buses happy days welcome drink great cook per night
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 384 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2017

I have been to 6 different Greek islands and never ever stayed at a place like this .we arrived at 10,30 at night was met by the owner and not taken straight to our room which you would normally do,but pushed to the bar to have a drink ,how kind we thought a welcome drink ,but no the bill came straight away when the son of the owner whispered in my ear ,would we like to upgrade for 7 euros a night ,having not seen the room yet I said no but felt uneasy.so we finished the drink and the owner took us to the smallest room I’ve ever stayed in!! It was horrible ,not the room I’d seen on their website.so next morning we paid 54 euros to upgrade to a much bigger room like the one on the website ,also it had gone down from 7 to 6 euros overnight..the towels are rock hard and grey ,they don’t empty your poop bin !!! You have to do it . The utensils and cooking equipment was really bad ,dirty nothing matched ,cheap and very nasty..And they cleaned the room twice if you could call it cleaned!!!!The owner is a money grabbing person ...we have paid the same kind of money and have much much better accommodation.we loved Rhodes and we still had a great holiday .you need to know these things about this awful place..all I expect is good clean accommodation,we had a lovely place in Zante for the same price we paid here .i didn’t pay 5 star and didn’t expect 5 star but I don’t expect this .

Room Tip: Away from the bar ,very noisy.
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
9  Thank StaffordshireSusieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice and were going to love it here! It was very late yet we were warmly greeted and welcomed with a much needed shot at the bar! :)
Kostas, Irene, George and Lucas truly are lovely and have fantastic family values, a family which all of their guests are welcomed in to.
During our stay we spent many nights being thoroughly entertained by George at the bar and met some amazing people and new friends.
The Greek night is an absolute must, you get a great insight into Greek culture and I haven’t had so much fun in a long time! Not to mention the fantastic meal Irene puts on!
We initially thought Tholos was too quiet for us but it turns out we had a lovely, relaxing holiday in the sun and had all the entertainment we needed onsite.
I’m not sure why people have given negative reviews on here because they couldn’t be further from the experience we had! My guess is they are unrealistic with their expectations, if they expect 5 star they need to get real and pay for 5 star!!! For the low cost of this holiday we got a lot more than we expected, the complex is very well maintained and the family and staff work extremely hard to keep it this way!
We ate both at the onsite restaurant and other restaurants in the town, as did other guests and not once were we excluded or made to feel bad about not eating there so I’m not sure what that other review is all about?!
We will most definitely be returning next year and hopefully for many years to follow.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
6  Thank KeithandEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

We chose these studios , because all the reviews were good bar one, and short transfer from the airport. On the night we arrived we were made very welcome by George followed by a welcome drink, and whoever else is in the bar gets one. We upgraded from a ground level studio to a room on the 2nd floor a good decision a end room with big balcony with good views, I think we had the 2nd floor to ourselves, noise what noise so peaceful surroundings. No towel brigade here plenty of sunbeds with cushions. Good Greek food and plenty of mataxas and the odd cocktails. Would like thank kostas and his family and rita for making our stay a perfect one. George is a great entertainer diverse music to keep everybody happy, and of course we would love to comeback again, enjoy your trip to Leeds and south Africa George.

Room Tip: Definitely top rooms for the view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank saltybobful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

We have recently come back from a delightful weeks stay at The Sunlight studios.
We had a lovely warm welcome from Costas, Irene, their son George and family. we arrived late at night.
The room we had allocated was small and at the back of the hotel but George offered us an upgrade for 7 euros extra a day. This was on the first floor and was spacious, clean and had a balcony in the sun. The apartment was clean and comfortable. Our only problem was the shower curtain gets stuck to your bottom when you shower but tbh we found this quite funny but that's our sense of humour.
I would recommend you ask for an upgrade if you want a bigger and more spacious room.
It is also 7 euros a day if you want air conditioning. We found we didn't need this as its at the end of the season now. The weather was still glorious and around 25 to 28 some days.
As we were leaving in the evening, we were able to keep the room longer for another 25 euros.
We really enjoyed the pool, it was clean and you could always get a sunbed in a good position.
The food was very nice, this was cooked by Irene.
We attended their Greek night and had a fantastic time with the Greek dancers.
The food was exceptional.
We did walk into town and eat at a few other places. We can recommend, Seaview just along the road, also exceptional Greek food on offer here.
We also enjoyed another Restaurant the other end of the town called Billys.
We hired a car, which was cheap and we definitely recommend this.
There is a few car hire companys in the town. We went to Rhodes town and Falliraki. Beautiful beach at Falliraki.
The beach is not sandy at Tholos, its shingle but we were still able to go in the sea.
I would recommend this holiday apartment's and town to the older age group or if you want a quieter time.
We had a lovely time and would definitely recommend The Sunlight Studios and we would go back again.
Thankyou to Costa, Irene, George and his lovely family.

Room Tip: upgrade for a room with a balcony or front of appartments.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Jamjar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Just returned from a weeks hols at Sunlight Studios. Good hotel run by Kosta Irene and family, the whole family and staff were helpful and if you needed anything you only had to ask.
Irene cooked lovely breakfasts and reasonably priced meals from the menu, which were delicious.
We had a small ground floor room, which was adequate for our needs and we didn't have to climb stairs, we were offered larger rooms on second floor.
Swimming pool and bar area was very clean and in the evenings George was brilliant, playing good music and including everyone in the fun.
This was a good value hotel which was more like a Greek holiday than the larger more expensive hotels on the east side of the island that can be found on any coast in the med.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews