We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem ,a haven in Tholos.”
Review of Sunlight Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunlight Studios
Ranked #1 of 2 Tholos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A lovely relaxing break with lovely people ,Greek family run ,who are very welcoming ,n the stress just rolls away ! Lovely gardens n clean pool ,n comfortable sunbeds ! A haven in Thalos ! Just a 40 minute bus ride into Rhodes town for 4 euros ,a must as Rhodes town is beautiful ,especially at night ! Last bus back to Thalos is 11 ,lovely places to eat serving traditional Greek food . Shopping great to !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank secrethaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 319 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

On arrival we received a lovely welcome. We were in one of the ground floor apartments, which are quite small, but with some rearranging we made it work for us with the little one. She loved the pool, where we ended up spending much of our time. We were well looked after throughout our stay and the little one had a huge fuss made of her. A great holiday all said.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcmePlus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me & my boyfriend have just got back from a week here. Taxi was €15 and about 15 mins away. Upon our arrival Kostas son George took us to our room swiftly! We wasn't really impressed at first, thought it was quite small. But the day after we spoke to Kostas who is the owner & was moved to a family room which was 10x better than our first room! The pool was lovely, didn't have to struggle for a sun lounger. The food was amazing! Plenty of choice to choose from! The place it's self is very out the way, with nothing much to do. Unless you hire a car for the week. We will definitely be returning next year, maybe for a long weekend though.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GS2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is a 13 euro, (10-15min) taxi ride away from the airport so its nice and close.

This was our first time visiting, but myself and my girlfriend were greeted with open arms by the family owners. First impressions were wonderful, and they lived up to expectations during the week.

Pool area is sublime, and it is a wonderful sun trap. Poolside bar / restaurant serves delicious food from early morning to late evening at affordable prices. Bar had all the drinks one could imagine, all served promptly and with the greatest hospitality. The rooms were basic, but for the price it is what we desired and expected. Crucially however, everything worked. The rooms were clean. Air con was a dream. (42 euro for a week extra - definitely worth paying for). Bed was comfy and the shower was warm and powerful.

Hotel is close to the beach at a 10min walk, and the hotel is about 2 mins away from a supermarket selling all basic foods. Bus stop on the main road (sunlight is down a quiet road off the "main road."), about 4 mins away, that travels to rhodes town for 4 euro.

Overall, this quick getaway was perfect for what we desired. I must stress the niceness of the hotel owners. George and Costos are sublime hosts, and his wife cooks beautiful food. Would recommend this hotel to all. Was mostly couples ranging from 20 - 50, mixed in with the typical family on holiday. Perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Buy the Air-conditioning. Shut curtains during day to shield room from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip09874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Sunlight is not too far from the airport and we jumped into a taxi straight away, A GREAT welcome yet again from the family; Kostas, Irene and George, plus Lucas the next day. The pool area looked fantastic, with everything so green and lovely flowers all around. The food was as excellent as ever and we enjoyed our breakfast and evening meal there every day, including fresh eggs for breakfast from their own hens! Our two appartments were lovely and clean, having everything we needed for our stay and the view from our balcony was across fields to the hills one way and to the sea the other. It's on a quiet side road too, so no noisy dusty traffic, and only 5 mins walk to the bus stop, although we hired a car from Hi Way locally. June was a little too hot for us so we will be reverting to September again next year! We missed the pool party - hope it was a good success George! Marge, Alan, Val & Elizabeth

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargeBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lovely apartments run by a really nice family. The pool area is so beautiful and well kept. However, every afternoon it became busy with local people visiting, so things get a bit noisy. But when the teenagers arrive it becomes EXTREMELY noisy, they take over the pool. I saw a lady who was trying to swim & just couldn't get around them. The music at the bar becomes very loud at this point too. We spoke to other people who had stayed several times and they were also unhappy about the afternoon noise. We hired a car because after a few days we had enough and wanted to get to somewhere calmer. The majority of people who stay at the Sunlight want peace & quiet and to relax in the sun beside the pool. It is such a shame because this spoiled a potentially great holiday.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have more space and ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visited end of May with my partner & little boy, my sisters family and my mam and dad who come here every year. I can see why they love it so much! Family run apartments by a really lovely family. Everyone is made to feel really welcome and you get to have a good laugh with George. Rooms are really big, comfortable and clean. The pool area is lovely and also very clean. Irene's food is delicious and everything is reasonably priced. The area itself has a few nice places to eat too and everyone we met during our stay was so friendly and welcoming. There is something very relaxing about Sunlight, I felt at home straight away. Will definitely be returning at some point!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennye09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.8 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
5.6 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
498 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vallian Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Georgia Apartments
Georgia Apartments
#1 of 5 in Afandou
552 reviews
5.4 mi away
Anseli Hotel
Anseli Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kremasti
226 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hillside Studios and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Studios

Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tholos
Price Range: $16 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunlight Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunlight Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Studios Hotel Tholos
Sunlight Studios Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing