We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Filoxenia Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tholos
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Filoxenia in September 2012 and thouroughly enjoyed our stay

The Apartments are clean and comfortable and set in well manicured grounds , with wonderful views over the Ageean Sea. The pool area is great with plenty of beds and parasols.

What makes this place so great ,is the hospitality of the Owners ; Nicos , Evangelina and their family , they go the extra mile with excellent home cooked food and friendly approach to all aspects of your stay. The BBQ night is very special

We had a very relaxing stay and with its location it was great for visiting Rhodes Town and other areas of the Island of Rhodes.

Evangelina is so knowledgeable and very passionate about the history and culture of the Island , providing guidance on places to visit.

The only downside is the lack of a local sandy beach , however the hospitallity and food , more thn make up for this small deficiency.

I will definately return to the delightful relaxing atmosphere of Filoxenia

Room Tip: Front Sea View 2nd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 7777ColinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    46
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
81
154
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel numerous times now and Evangelia, Nicos and sons are the most amazing hotel owners. Nothing is to much trouble, their hospitality is second to non and would recommend it to anyone. Such a relaxing and warm atmosphere, great traditional Greek food, immaculately clean rooms, 2 pools to relax by. A 5 star hotel in my book. Thank you to the family for making me want to go back year after year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueLondon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from another fabulous holiday at Filoxenia Hotel. Stayed earlier in the year with my eldest daughter Georgia (21yrs) and this holiday was with my youngest daughter Vickie (18yrs). Both daughters are usually party girls but they just slip into the wonderful relaxing atmosphere at Filoxenia. The apartments are very well looked after and are cleaned every day. The gardens are beautifully planned with mini golf, draughts, chess and childrens play area. You receive the warmest welcome from Nikos, Evangelia and sons Panos and Michael. The food is amazing all home cooked with meat sourced from local butchers, salad, fruit and veg from their own garden. What more could you ask for other than Nikos' own wonderful cooking and Grandmas liquors. Evangelia has an immense knowledge of Rhodes and its history she has some captivating stories to tell and will always find time to share them with you. What more could you ask other than a few cocktails expertly made by sons Panos and Michael. Yes definately returning to Filoxenia again and I would thoroughly recommend you go too!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SouthportMum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in october, Lovely owners, great relaxing holiday.Would highly reccommend staying here, The family are very very nice and helpful, even the dog is nice.Cant wait to go back.The room we were in on top floor at the end overlooking the hotel and the nice veiw.The food is nice Nicos and Evangelia are a great couple.Room 65 was a lovely room.Thanks Nicos and Evangelia for a lovely holiday at your hotel.see you nxt year.Neil/sheila. x

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor for great veiw and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grannyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Filoxenia is Greek for hospitality and this family run hotel certainly lives up to its name. The family (Evangelia, Nicos and their sons Panos and Michali) cannot do enough for you. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. There is enough kitchen equipment to cook for yourself but given that the hotel food is freshly cooked on the premises, absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced who would want to cook? As a single traveller I felt totally safe and very, very welcome. I highly recommend the Filoxenia for a completely relaxing, superb holiday

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We loved the Filoxenia - beautiful gardens and a great taverna style restaurant which was popular with passing tourists as well as residents. The family made us feel really welcome and worked tirelessly from morning until night while we were there.
Obviously very convenient for the airport although we had awful flight times on the way home so we would probably have been better off on a longer transfer! At least we got to play midnight mini-golf. The hotel is somewhat under the flight path for the airport but it's surprising how quickly you stop noticing - we weren't disturbed by flights at night, or at all really!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rhodes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived to a lovely warm welcome, our rooms were very clean and a good size. There are two pools which are cleaned daily and there are plenty of sunbeds to go around all situated in a beautiful well maintained garden area. The most outstanding thing about this hotel is the family who run it, Evangelina, Nicos and their sons who do everything possible to ensure your stay is a great one and nothing is too much trouble. Evangelina's is happy to spend time advising you of places to visit and her knowledge of the history of the island is second to none. All our meals were excellent, the food home-cooked with a good choice of traditional Greek dishes. The Saturday night BBQ is a must as is Grandma's homemade liquor. The Filoxenia is situated in a quite villiage ideal for those looking for a relaxing holiday, however there is a bus stop outside the hotel with a regular bus service to Rhodes town. All in all a fantastic holiday which we would thoroughly recommend and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Debratw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
9.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 128 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 stars 2,092 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#3 of 35 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
7.8 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#5 of 128 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doreta Beach Hotel
Doreta Beach Hotel
#9 of 10 in Tholos
3.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 10 in Tholos
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vallian Village Hotel
Vallian Village Hotel
#3 of 10 in Tholos
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel Apartments

Property: Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
Address: 19 Klm Rhodes-Kamiros AV, Tholos 851 06, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Filoxenia Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a word: a Philosophy!! Its meaning: friend (FILOS) to the stranger (XENOS)! Welcome to our family, to our home! Filoxenia! The perfect place for family holidays where relaxation, safety, culture and the feeling of traditional warm hospitality is always present! Escape to nature! Located at the outskirts of Tholos village, in the heart of an olive garden, the ideal basis for escapes in the countryside through rural paths and the most important highlights of Rhodes. Our place offers Three (3) swimming pools and free sunbeds for your relaxation during your holidays, alongside with bar-restaurant where you can enjoy delicious home-made food of the Greek cuisine, enjoy your cocktails throughout the warm days of summer or even relax under the shade of the pergola, enjoying the free wireless internet. For your entertainment, There are an 18 course mini golf, giant chess, giant droughts and a pitch for French balls, a table tennis and a playground. Let us guide you in the world of history and tradition through our exhibition of old family itens and rural tools. A library can be found in-site, all in your disposal !!! Bar-Restaurant Filoxenia We welcome you to the family restaurant Filoxenia, where we will offer you an unforgettable journey to the most pleasing joys of the genuine local traditional cuisine cooked with the purest products. Delicious dishes, cooked with our own pure virgin Filoxenia olive oil, olives, pickles, aromatic plants, various vegetables all of them from our own cultivation and production, which will make you experience the finest gastronomic pleasures. We would happily share with you some of the oldest, forgotten recipes of our rural tradition, so that your every meal will be transformed in a true journey in the world of gastronomy. In this journey, your dishes will be accompanied by one of the exceptional Rhodian wines that we have in a huge variety. End up your dinner in the best way by tasting our traditional home made fruit sweets and liqguers made by grannies Georgia and Anna !!! Filoxenia Hotel – Apartments has a number of different rooms of which are: -Single/double studios with 2 beds - Triple studios with 3 beds -Apartments with 4 beds -Apartments with 5 beds Rooms’ Description Every studio and apartment is equipped with a kitchenette of two electric stoves, fridge with freezer and the necessary cutlery, dishes etc... Furthermore, bathroom with shower, telephone, Air Conditioning and a safe- deposit box. Filoxenia offers the perfect place for your summer vacations. Designed accordingly to the traditional architecture and colors of Greek heritage, it will attract your sight immediately. Close to the world-famous Valley of Butterflies and the exceptionally preserved city of Ancient Kameiros, Filoxenia studios offer a wide range of activities and actions. From sight- seeing of monuments to excursions through the rural paths in the Mediterranean nature and from gastronomy to a first-hand taste of local culture. Let us guide you throught the paths for the Temple of Appolo Erethimios and the ruins of the cherch of Saint George ! Location and useful distances Filoxenia studios are located next to the main road that connects the city of Rhodes and all the villages of the west side of the island. A bus stop is located just outside of the hotel, making your transportation even easier. Rhodes (Greek: Ροδος, Rodos, [ˈroðos]) is an island in Greece, located in the eastern Aegean Sea. It is the largest of the Dodecanese islands in terms of both land area and population, with a population of 117,007 and also the island group's historical capital. Historically, Rhodes was famous worldwide for the Colossus of Rhodes, a giant bronze statue was dedicated to Appolo, god of the sun and protector of the island. It was completed in 280 BC but was destroyed in an earthquake in 227 BC. No trace of the statue remains today. It's one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. The medieval Old Town of the City of Rhodes has been declared a World Heritage Site. Today, it is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Europe Historical sites on the island of Rhodes include the Acropolis of Lindos, the Acropolis of Rhodes, the Temple of Apollo, ancient Ialysos, ancient Kamiros, Kallithea springs, the Governor's Palace, Rhodes Old Town (walled medieval city), the Palace of the Grand Masters, Kahal Shalom Synagogue in the Jewish Quarter, the Archeological Museum, the ruins of the castle of Monolithos, the castle of Kritinia, and many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tholos
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing