We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, incredible hospitality!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at The Filoxenia Hotel for about a month this past Mid-July to Mid-August. I cannot say enough about the hotel. We were a family of five..myself, my husband and our three children. We had a room that was very comfortable and spacious for all of us. The pools were amazing and very clean. There were always enough lounge chairs and umbrellas to sit at around the pool.

The owners of the hotel, Nick & Evangelia, and their two boys, Mihali & Panagioti were so lovely and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. If we needed help with something, they were there with a way to help.

My husband and I are both Greek..my husband being from Rhodes..This is the first time we have stayed in a hotel when we visited Rhodes, and we must say, it was the most enjoyable, relaxing vacation we have ever had!

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, friendly, reasonable place to stay in Rhodes. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank DebbieNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 392 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

We spent a week at the Filoxenia. We had a lovely time. A family run place who are keen to help and always readily available with suggestions where to go, where to eat ect. We had a great week and is exactly what we wanted, The rooms are basic but clean and the pools are lovely. The only thing i would say is if you want a cuppa take a kettle as the rooms dont have a kettle!

Theres is not alot to do but there is a bus stop outside the hotel. The bars, restaurant and part stoney beach is within 400 m.

If you are considering staying at Filoxenia....go for it!! Its one of the best holidays i have had.

Room Tip: room 51 was lovely. overlooked pools and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank katyandchris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed for a full week at Filoxenia. The family (mother, father, two sons) as well as ther rest of the staff were friendly, helpful, warm, and receptive. Our room was cleaned daily. The pools were lovely, and there sufficient umbrellas and sun chairs. The family was wonderful to us. They made excellent suggestions. The guests were all friendly at the hotel and everyone seemed very respectful of one another. The views were lovely as well. We will be returning to this hotel not just due to the price but due to the entire atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank BruceBlakeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed at Filoxenia again and it was great. Beautiful sea facing room, very peaceful. Staff very friendly and helpful, brought us extra pillows nothing was too much trouble. Swimming pools cleaned every morning as well as all the sunbeds, chairs, tables and pool area. Took a bus into Rhodes town which cost us 15 eur ( for 3), so we hired a car for 22 eur and did the whole island tour.
Two large beers and a large orange cost 36 eur in old Rhodes town very expensive!!
If you love peace and quiet, delicious home cooked greek food then this is the place for you. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank EilahGeordieinheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Synopsis:

These small and basic apartments would most likely suit those on a budget, with low expectations, seeking a quiet resort.

Accommodation:

The accommodation is basic. The apartment would be more accurately described as a bedsite and contains 3 single beds, 2 of which were pushed together. There are also rooms with 2 beds but all rooms are identical in terms of fixtures and fittings. The furnishings in the rooms are cheap and in addition to the beds (which were very hard and consequently very uncomfortable) our room contained a wardrobe, dressing table/mirror, table and chairs and bedside tables. There was also a fridge and small hob. There was air conditioning in the room although there was an additional charge for this (5E for a 2 bed and 6E for a 3 bed room per day). There was also a safe (again at an additional charge, this time 3E per day) although this was of little practical value as it was not affixed to anything! The bathroom was also small and repeatedly flooded whenever the shower was used. There was also a small balcony, although this was very open.

Housekeeping:

For the first week of our two week stay no clean sheets or towels were provided. Further and whilst bins were emptied, the room was also not cleaned. In the second week and having complained, clean sheets were provided every two days, which apparently was standard practice. Towels were also changed although the replacements were frequently torn and marked. Minimal cleaning was carried out.

Hotel facilities:

The hotel is serviced by two small swimming pools which were reasonably clean. There were plenty of sun beds around the poolside although no cushions were provided and consequently, they were uncomfortable to use. There is a poolside bar and restaurant, although the food on offer is basic and of poor quality. In addition there is a pool table, crazy golf course, giant chess and drafts boards all of which could be used subject to additional charges.

Hotel staff:

Nikos, the hotel proprietor, was both polite and friendly. He also appeared most apologetic when he informed us on arrival that our room would not be available until the next afternoon and that we would have to spend the night in a nearby hotel, along with 3 other couples. However, at times his explanations seemed to verge on the creative. The remainder of the hotel staff were not particularly polite or friendly.

Noise levels:

On the whole the hotel was relatively quiet. This was probably because the hotel is situated on the outskirts of Tholos (which itself is a relatively small and quiet resort) and because the guests seemed to be mainly over 30s. It does however, suffer from aircraft noise as the hotel is situated directly under the take off path from the island's main airport.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JW356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

We travelled to Lindos for the wedding of my niece and wanted something cheap and cheerful as we wouldn't be spending much time in the room.

Filoxenia was great. Right from booking, where the manager offered to book us a taxi from the airport to the end of our stay, everything was done to make us feel welcome.

The guesthouse itself is simple but well-looked after. Our room had a bathrooom and small kitchenette and was clean and conenient (one minute walk from the main street, 5 mins max to the nearest beach)

Breakfast was included and was of a high standard. Decent coffee, greek yogurt, the usual cheeses, meats and breads but also local specialities like rice pudding and carrott and honey marmalade.
Our flight home was at 11.30 at night so we were expecting to get kicked out at 11.00 in the morning and to have to get changed in the car. However, the manager (Elani) allowed us to keep the room all day which made our last day much more comfortable. At 80 euros a day this was excellent value for money

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
48  Thank Jon1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We finally got to the apartments at about 2am. A group of us got off the coach and it looked very dark. It was rather scary and there was nobody there to meet us. All there was was just a note on the main door telling us what to do. But once that was sussed we settled in without any problems.

In the morning the first thing I did was sample the view. It didn't disappoint...there was the Aegean and the coast of Turkey in the distance. I wasn't keen on the occasional aircraft flying directly overhead. I noticed the apartments had its own little taverna and two swimming pools. The staff there were very friendly and helpful. After going to Rhodes Town (about half an hour on the bus), we explored our own resort of Tholos...not the liveliest of resorts but at least it's not one of those Club 18-30-type ones. It was adequate with no shortage of tavernas and restaurants, and there was also a good-value excursion agent. The beach there was nice. The main nightlife took place at the Doreta Beach Hotel: good if you like kids running riot and family holiday rep entertainment. Hmm.

Overall it was a very enjoyable holiday and would recommend it to those who like it nice and peaceful.

Stayed: September 2005
49  Thank prokeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
9.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,885 reviews
32.3 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
7.8 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#7 of 126 in Rhodes Town
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tholos
261 reviews
8.5 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
637 reviews
11.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel Apartments

Address: 19 Klm Rhodes-Kamiros AV, Tholos 851 06, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range: $21 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Filoxenia Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a word: a Philosophy!! Its meaning: friend (FILOS) to the stranger (XENOS)! Welcome to our family, to our home! Filoxenia! The perfect place for family holidays where relaxation, safety, culture and the feeling of traditional warm hospitality is always present! Escape to nature! Located at the outskirts of Tholos village, in the heart of an olive garden, the ideal basis for escapes in the countryside through rural paths and the most important highlights of Rhodes. Our place offers Three (3) swimming pools and free sunbeds for your relaxation during your holidays, alongside with bar-restaurant where you can enjoy delicious home-made food of the Greek cuisine, enjoy your cocktails throughout the warm days of summer or even relax under the shade of the pergola, enjoying the free wireless internet. For your entertainment, There are an 18 course mini golf, giant chess, giant droughts and a pitch for French balls, a table tennis and a playground. Let us guide you in the world of history and tradition through our exhibition of old family itens and rural tools. A library can be found in-site, all in your disposal !!! Bar-Restaurant Filoxenia We welcome you to the family restaurant Filoxenia, where we will offer you an unforgettable journey to the most pleasing joys of the genuine local traditional cuisine cooked with the purest products. Delicious dishes, cooked with our own pure virgin Filoxenia olive oil, olives, pickles, aromatic plants, various vegetables all of them from our own cultivation and production, which will make you experience the finest gastronomic pleasures. We would happily share with you some of the oldest, forgotten recipes of our rural tradition, so that your every meal will be transformed in a true journey in the world of gastronomy. In this journey, your dishes will be accompanied by one of the exceptional Rhodian wines that we have in a huge variety. End up your dinner in the best way by tasting our traditional home made fruit sweets and liqguers made by grannies Georgia and Anna !!! Filoxenia Hotel – Apartments has a number of different rooms of which are: -Single/double studios with 2 beds - Triple studios with 3 beds -Apartments with 4 beds -Apartments with 5 beds Rooms’ Description Every studio and apartment is equipped with a kitchenette of two electric stoves, fridge with freezer and the necessary cutlery, dishes etc... Furthermore, bathroom with shower, telephone, Air Conditioning and a safe- deposit box. Filoxenia offers the perfect place for your summer vacations. Designed accordingly to the traditional architecture and colors of Greek heritage, it will attract your sight immediately. Close to the world-famous Valley of Butterflies and the exceptionally preserved city of Ancient Kameiros, Filoxenia studios offer a wide range of activities and actions. From sight- seeing of monuments to excursions through the rural paths in the Mediterranean nature and from gastronomy to a first-hand taste of local culture. Let us guide you throught the paths for the Temple of Appolo Erethimios and the ruins of the cherch of Saint George ! Location and useful distances Filoxenia studios are located next to the main road that connects the city of Rhodes and all the villages of the west side of the island. A bus stop is located just outside of the hotel, making your transportation even easier. Rhodes (Greek: Ροδος, Rodos, [ˈroðos]) is an island in Greece, located in the eastern Aegean Sea. It is the largest of the Dodecanese islands in terms of both land area and population, with a population of 117,007 and also the island group's historical capital. Historically, Rhodes was famous worldwide for the Colossus of Rhodes, a giant bronze statue was dedicated to Appolo, god of the sun and protector of the island. It was completed in 280 BC but was destroyed in an earthquake in 227 BC. No trace of the statue remains today. It's one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. The medieval Old Town of the City of Rhodes has been declared a World Heritage Site. Today, it is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Europe Historical sites on the island of Rhodes include the Acropolis of Lindos, the Acropolis of Rhodes, the Temple of Apollo, ancient Ialysos, ancient Kamiros, Kallithea springs, the Governor's Palace, Rhodes Old Town (walled medieval city), the Palace of the Grand Masters, Kahal Shalom Synagogue in the Jewish Quarter, the Archeological Museum, the ruins of the castle of Monolithos, the castle of Kritinia, and many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tholos
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing