We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly”
Review of Alkmini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alkmini Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Alkmini apartments the last week in June and booked as a last minute holiday so no transfers were arranged. Taxis were plentiful at the airport and cost 13 euros.
.On arrival at Alkmini's Mike was there to greet us and show us to our room. we were delighted with the size of the apartment compared to normal Greek accommodation it was very spacious 2 good sized rooms double balcony typical Greek shower with shower curtain (bonus) and typical Greek sink/fridge combination with the added luxury of an electric kettle. The apartment was spotless. We arrived quite late so abandoned suitcases and went down to the pool bar for a drink. We asked if there was anywhere we could get food but it was really too late but Mike offered to make us something but in the end he phoned a cousin who dropped off 2 Souvlaki pittas for us which was very kind and most welcome.
Mike and his family are really the most hospitable and kindest people we have encountered in our many years of Greek holidays nothing was too much trouble the food was delightful and tasty and very reasonably priced .
Mike also offers a minibus transfer back to the airport for 10 euros.
I would recommend these apartments if you want a relaxing holiday by the pool with good food and excellent hospitality

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandiebeach58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 99 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have been on holiday to Tholos in Rhodes at the beginning of June 2012 and stayed at the Alkmini Apartment. I must say that I was very impressed with the lovely apartment I was given. Clean, tidy and very comfortable, i must report. I travelled alone so was a bit apprehensive but was put at ease immediately on my arrival. Mike and his lovely wife Alkmini were so kind and made me so welcome I was sad to leave. The atmosphere and surroundings are so peaceful and very safe I would recommend this to all. The bar and swimming pool area is also really lovely and a treat too. They definitely get a 12 out of 10 for hospitality, quality and value for money. REALLY ENJOYED MY STAY. THANKS TO MIKE AND ALKMINI and my best wishes to them for a very prosperous future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rosemarie2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had two wonderful weeks at Alkmini Hotel in August 2011, we had read all the comments before we arrived. But were pleasantly surprised to find a warm welcome and spacious accommodation and an extra large balcony. The owners Mike and Alkmini were very generous hosts who couldn't do enough to make our holiday a relaxing and enjoyable experience, the food was traditional Greek recipes that were tasty and delicious!!! At very reasonable prices and good sized portions, we also mostly had the pool area to ourselves to our grandchildren's delight! We would definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others! The rooms were cleaned every other day and linen and towels changed too. The locals were friendly and many amenities were within walking distance and the beach was a 10 minute walk away and popular with wind surfers, we had a lovely time!

Room Tip: its worth paying a little extra to have a family room as it is much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Our holiday at the Alkmini hotel was fantastic. We booked a last minute holiday, and didn't know what to expect but when we got there we had a friendly welcome. The rooms are spacious and clean. Around the pool it is a calm, relaxing setting with a great sized pool for kids and adults. The owners couldn't be more friendly, they will deal with any problems that you have stright away. a few minutes down the road is a selection of resturants and cafes. But you really don't have to leave the hotel as the food from the bar is delicious and resonably priced, as are the drinks.
It was a great holiday with a very friendly atmosphere, i couldn't say much more than it was FAB and worth the trip!!! =)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richardsons263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Just returned from spending 11 nights at Hotel Alkmini with the family, booked last minute. Was a little apprehensive following recent reviews, but it turned out to be just the opposite. The rooms are very basic with just a small hob which we didnt use, a couple of chairs to sit on, but found them to be clean (the maid could do with a bomb up her backside though) with a large balcony and bedroom balcony also. We chose air conditioning on the second floor which is a must ,TIP: fax for A/C and upstairs balcony beforehand, didnt have any problems at all with mosquitoes inside, but did get bit a lot out and about (take some repellent) nor did we see any other four legged creatures! The pool was cleaned when we were there but just like most holiday complexes they do get a bit tired and cloudy. The hotel was very quiet just one ot two families around and some french holiday makers, I think Greece has been hit hard with their own credit crunch plus our own recently. The owner Mike is lovely so is his wife Alkmini they both go out of their way to look after you and add those little touches when at the poolside or the bar, they will do little day time snacks for you, I couldnt fault them at all they work so hard and make you feel so welcoming especially Mike himself, run up your bill and pay when you want. its no problem. The hotel itself is a little down the hill from the village of Tholos but their is an excellent bus service to Rhodes town just 2.50 euros takes about half an hour, their is alocal taverna in the village called Drosia which is absolutley fabulous excellent food sitting outside at a table in the village square, idyllic ,its what Greece is all about, cost us 40 euros for a family meal most of our meals out were around 50 euros anyway. Also down the road is Mikes which is also brilliant as is he! Billys is opposite and also does lovely food there is also a lovely taverna on the corner just down the track. Rhodes is a lovely island, we hired a car to get around and visited some lovely places, Valley of the Butterflies (not far), Rhodes town, Lindos, Filerimos, Kremasti which had a two week long festival on and down the main road ancient Kamiros. Also dont be put off by the distant power station!The beach is about a 10-15 min walk mainly shingle, best beaches are up near Rhodes and on the eats coast,I will definitely go back to Hotel Alkmini in the future and look forward to seeing Mike and his family again. Thank you Mike and Alkmini.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jesshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is a hotel of real contrasts. The owners were lovely: helpful, friendly. It's also a really peaceful, relaxing place in a very quiet part of the island, which we actually liked when sitting by the pool during the day. It was also uncrowded.

But - and these are very big buts - the place is disgustng. The rooms are terrible. Barely furnished. Self-catering was a joke; we only had one bowl, so the children had to take it in turns to have breakfast. There was no electricity on the day we arrived, so we ouldn't put anything in the (smelly) fridge. The main beds were ok, but the two for the children sagged woefully. The bathroom was so basic as to be laughable. The shower was disgusting and the shower curtain hadn't been cleaned for eons. The toilet had never been acquainted with Mr Bleach.

But we had plenty of company. Night one we were visited by a small army of mosquitos. It was good of them to drop by, and it meant we had fun next day doing a dot to dot puzzle on my son's face! Still, mossies aren't unusual in this area of the world, and a trip to the local chemist and an investment in some plug-ins dealt with that, as well as keeping the patio doors closed. Except that meant sleeping in a sauna. Horrid! Night 3 and we had our second visitor - a big, fat rat! He first crawled across my eldest's bed, waking him. We had a quick game of "chase" with ratty until he escaped to the balcony. But he kindly left us with some rat poo all over the apartment as a momento of his stay. He was good enough to return regularly to keep our supplies of rodent faeces topped up.

We'd had enough. The peace and tranquility of the place became a negative - it's actually isolated and decrepit. The nearest restaurants are a good mile walk away: not a great distance, but the lack of choice and quality was! The local beach was minging. The extremely deep pool that originally had a shimmering aqua/green allure, became a murky, slightly slimey sheen. We checked out.

We moved to a much nicer hotel, closer to Rhodes Town (The Olympic Palace Hotel), and were much happier.

Don't stay here. It's cheap for a reason, and the owners really were lovely people. But the standards are atrocious: I've back-packed in the sub-continent in more salubrious places.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank winksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I found the Alkmini Hotel basic but clean hotel/apartments the staff could not do enough for you nothing was too big or small i would recommend it to anyone be it old or young. I felt totally at ease and relaxed and i will be returning i find that if you want 5 star treatment you should pay 5 star prices. The only problem i found was the cost of the Euro bumping up the prices but can not fault the Alkmini Hotel/apartments

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenblanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.7 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
20.9 mi away
Karpathios Studios
Karpathios Studios
#18 of 27 in Pefkos
171 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vallian Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doreta Beach Hotel
Doreta Beach Hotel
#7 of 9 in Tholos
1,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Evi Apartments And Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkmini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkmini Hotel

Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tholos
Price Range: $88 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Alkmini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkmini Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing