We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DONT BLAME THE STAFF” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doreta Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doreta Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DONT BLAME THE STAFF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

I booked in Doreta Beach hotel in reluctance and pre conceived opinions. Therefore, I feel it’s my duty to write a review just with facts I gathered rather than my opinion.
First thing first please cancel your transfers as taxi from airport is 13.50 euro and 2.90 euro by bus. Last bus (no 26) from air port is just after 22:30.
If you arrive after 23:00 hrs you will miss your all inclusive privileges that’s includes water. There is a vending machine for water, crisp, sweets and rolls.
You have to hand in your passport in order for it to be logged in police data. It’s a Greek legal requirement not a hotel policy. You can collect your passport once it has been logged.
If you are not happy with your room then the helpful reception staff will change you to other, but remember they are only human therefore can only change room what they have and available, cant magic one up to your expectation. They changed for me and all rooms were clean and tidy. All rooms get cleaned daily and towels and bed lining will be changed at your request.
Air-conditions in public area is none existence so be prepare to sweat. Inside bar is very hot and noisy where they hold their entertainment. The head of entertainment is a very friendly Greek fellow but do not have any entertainment skill. (That’s being polite)
Food in the restaurant is repetitive and bland but plentiful. There will always be something you like. No themed menu. Don’t blame the staff or the manager if you don’t like the food or lack of restaurant staff. I will explain latter.
You have to get up early to get a bed in your desire spot although you are able to get one till 8 am. I had to get up at 6 am to get my bed, but to be honest I enjoyed the calm and the view (made some friends too). It amazed me how people complained about unattended towels left on sun bed then doing exactly so.
I witnessed the pools getting cleaned and water checked every day. It is deep and not suitable for non swimmers, having said that there are three areas in the pool they can use.
Pool bar staff may come across unfriendly but it is may be reaction of other ignorant guest and there were few. I got good service and friendly response from all.
If have a complain then deal with the hotel manager directly as he carries the responsibility and generally cause of it. He is elusive, uncreative, in other word useless. Don’t blame the staff they are great. I had some chosen word with him and got some result. It is true and fact that the staffs at Doreta haven’t been paid for three months. They are all under staffed and exhausted. Please support the staff and complain to the manager DIRECTLY.
It’s a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashishchakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    344
    303
    218
    234
See reviews for
562
366
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

The room - if you are fortunate to stay on floors 3 - 5 you are ok, these have been refurbished to a 4 - 5 star standard. But if like our family and many we spoke to floors 1 - 2 are like bottom end Butlins/Pontins, there was also a sewage smell from late at night till morning around our room - so we could not sit on our small balcony.
bar staff were few and rude and they kept running out of drinks in one week they ran out of vodka (most abundant short on the planet) then ouzo (there national drink)
The location is not the best - Rhodes town 45 mins on bus or 25 mins in a taxi - same for the water park.
Beach very pebbly you need beach shoes water warm, but very murky - no good for snorkeling.
The only good thing that kept sane through this was all the nice British people we met and could share our experiences with.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steverob69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tholos hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

After reading the reviews on here, I was very worried about the hotel, however, i needn't have been! As a graduate, I went to Doretta with my mum for a week, to get away, and we just wanted something cheap and cheerful!
We arrived late at night and were shown to our room. It was tidy but basic (most hotels are in greece). But importantly it was clean and we had a view overlooking the pool.
The food was good, a good selection and for an all inclusive hotel at the price we paid, we could not argue! Pool was one of the cleanest Ive seen and the entertainment around the pool (aerobics etc) were very enjoyable.
I highly recommend a day in Rhodes town, ( a bus goes from directly the hotel hourly).
The staff were friendly and always made an effort!
The beach was clean and tidy and the water and waves were fab! There are watersports available too!
Overall, a relaxing, pleasent, hot holiday, but you get what you paid for. If you remember that, you'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

we stayed on the 4th floor which had recently been revamped, the rooms where very nice and clean, the bar staff at the pool bar had about as much charisma as an ironing board, they were very rude and arrogant, not enough sunbeds unless you wanted to get up at 5am, very nasty smells from the drains, arguments between staff often occurred. i would say the hotel was just about a 3*, but apart from that the holiday was fantastic (apart from the hotel) believe me im no snob, dont waste your hard earned cash!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rotrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have just come back from a week at Doreta, our first visit for 5 years and our 8th visit in total. We first stayed at the Doreta in 1994 when our children were small, and at that time it was a very classy hotel mainly geared to the Italian market. It became an all inclusive complex around 1997 and was the perfect hotel for families with young children, so we continued to visit most years until our final trip there as a family in 2005. The Doreta began to go downhill in 2003, when the guests were largely all English; the surrounding bars/restaurants started to suffer because so many guests wouldn’t venture outside the hotel to spend any money locally. I have followed the fortunes of the Doreta since our last visit, and was pleased when I discovered a major refurbishment was planned for the end of the 2007 season to bring it back up to it’s true 4-5 star rating of previous years. Guess what!! As we entered 2008 the economy worldwide started to crash, with Europe, and Greece in particular, being badly hit. This is why only 3 floors of the Doreta have refurbished rooms, why constructing the Spa in the basement has been suspended, why they have installed aircon in the restaurant and not the main bar and why there are far fewer staff than years ago. The Doreta is trying to make the best of a difficult situation and personally I don’t think it’s doing too badly, although staff shortages don’t make for happy guests.

We had a second floor room which was clean, looked freshly decorated with a fully tiled bathroom, nice white shower curtain and a huge vanity area. The maid service was efficient and towels were changed daily. I agree there is a lack of drawer space in the rooms but adequate hanging space. Tea and coffee making facilities would be an improvement but I suspect this got shelved in the cutbacks.

The windows in the corridors are left open all day, and first thing in the morning there is a distinct smell coming in from the drains outside, and not, as a previous poster suggested, smells from the rooms of people with stomach upsets!!

The food in the restaurant was plentiful with a wide choice. Scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages are available at breakfast every day which was certainly not the case during our first few visits. The evening meals offered a good selection, and providing guests have a varied diet they will always find something to eat and there is always plenty of fresh fruit available at all meals. My only complaint concerning the restaurant is the non-enforcement of the long trousers rule for men at dinner, and one evening I saw 2 ‘gentlemen’ at dinner in vest tops. This is not acceptable, regardless of the star rating of the hotel. The restaurant is now air conditioned so there is no excuse, and I’m surprised Billy, the restaurant manager, allowed these people in to dine.

The snack bar offered a selection of salads plus hot dishes, and yes, often dishes remaining from the main restaurant the night before, but I see nothing wrong with this.

The pool is clean and well maintained but it does not have a shallow end. Parents just have to keep an eye on their children as we did when ours were young, regardless of whether there is a lifeguard in attendance. Someone mentioned the pool area being dangerous and seeing people in casts. There were three people with injuries during our stay – two sustained playing football, and lady with a sprained ankle after playing volleyball!

At lunchtime there were 3 bar staff at the pool bar who were efficient and very friendly. However, on numerous occasions I watched people go up and order drinks without a single please or thankyou. These are the same people who wonder why it takes so long to get served. The only time I saw queues for drinks was at the end of the evening when guests were trying to get their last all-inclusive drinks, which seemed a fair way of serving people. We found all the staff from the cleaners to the reception staff very polite and helpful.

The beach is a mixture of sand and pebbles, but the thing that spoils it completely is the litter and empty plastic cups left by guests. There are waste bins in the grounds and near the beach so why can’t people use them! Sun beds are not kept on the beach but can be taken from the pool/garden areas if you wish. We always managed to get 2 sunbeds between 8:30 and 9:00am so saw no reason to join the rest of the sheep and put out towels at 03:00.

The pool area is kept clean and is hosed down every evening by the maintenance staff. They pick up all the litter left by guests which generally returns before the evening pool bar session gets going!

The entertainment staff are woefully lacking in numbers! 3 girls to organise volleyball, football, waterpolo, pool games is inadequate. Years ago the entertainment team were brilliant with at least 6 crew plus their manager Rob Navarro, who was excellent and very professional. We didn’t stay in for the evening entertainment, which started at 9pm with a childrens disco which I feel is far too late, but other than this I cannot comment.

The resort of Tholos has suffered in recent years because of the all-inclusive nature of the hotel and the recession in general, and 2 bars which we used a lot on previous visits have now closed, which is a shame. Dundees is fantastic for karaoke and Mike’s bar serves wonderful cocktails and great food. Mike has been running his bar since 1979 and knows everthing there is to know about Tholos and the Doreta! It’s worth taking a walk up into the original village of Theologos which has a couple of bars and local shops. It’s very pretty and worth the walk.

I’m glad we returned for this last minute holiday to the Doreta although I’m very sorry the plans to bring it back up to scratch as a 4 or 5 star hotel have suffered because of a recession. I hope it does achieve what it set out to do because basically it is a lovely hotel for families in a nice quiet resort. I would go back again, but not for a few years and only out of curiosity providing it had managed to weather it’s current predicament. For anyone about to leave for the Doreta, it really isn’t as bad as some of the negative reviews would lead you to believe. A holiday is the company you have and what you make of each day, and the Doreta sets out to please.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjacobsbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We had a good holiday on Rhodes and would recommend it as a place to go, however the Doreta Beach Hotel was the only thing that let the trip down.
The hotel itself was nice and clean, however it does look a little tired and needs some TLC. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. In fact throughout the holiday the reception staff were excellent.
Our room was basic for a 4* and outdated. The main issue was our 'garden view' turned out to be a large white wall about 30 feet away, if we leaned over the balcony and looked right you could make out a tree top.
For a 4* all inclusive hotel the food was appalling, breakfast was as you would expect and to be honest was the only meal that was ok. Lunch and dinner was more or less the same every day. If you go expecting lots of lovely greek salads you'll be disappointed. What you get is pasta, chips and anemic looking meat. By the end of the weeks holiday we could not face going to dinner anymore. During the day there is a snack bar that serves toasties, chips and ice cream.
The pool is quite good with a small shallow pool for toddlers. There is not kids pool so if your hoping for a quiet swim you wont find it, but for having a dip to cool down its perfect. The beach is part stone part sand and we would recommend taking some 'wet shoes' so you can get in and out the sea with some dignity.
There is two bars, one inside that is open in the evening and a pool bar. Both operate a curious queuing system when they are busy which caused some confusion and both stop serving all inclusive drinks after 2300, apparently as they have non all inclusive customers, we never figured out why they could not keep serving both. The pool bar was staffed by two no matter how busy they were and to be honest the bar staff were pretty idle, being in no rush to serve. We got quite cynical as a result and came to the conclusion that there was no urgency as the more drinks consumed meant more money lost by the hotel.
Overall the hotel was ok but nowhere near 4*. The hotel staff were very helpful and the bar staff were pretty useless. Someone asked if we wished our holiday had been two weeks instead on one, only if we could have moved hotel. We would not recommend this hotel, but would recommend Rhodes for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fdcm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

We were worried about some of the reports we had read about the hotel on some review sites but we were impressed. The hotel is not 4-5* as advertised in some places but its definitely a 'good 3-4*' Luckily we had booked a Superior Room - which basically means you have a renovated room with a jacuzzi bath and a fridge. Our room was large and had a huge king sized comfortable bed together with 2 singles for the kids and wasn’t cramped at all. Floors 1&2 are yet to be refurbished and were shabby. Floors 3&4 have been done with marble floors and clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. The pool area is FANTASTIC. Really large. Downside if you're not much of a swimmer is there’s not really a shallow end. We found it ideal though as our kids love jumping and diving in so it was safe. There’s a smashing kids pool too for little’uns. The Animation team work really hard throughout the day – and we loved the club dance. The kids loved the daily activities of Football, tennis, volleyball, darts and water polo and didn’t ever want to leave the hotel. Totally safe environment too for kids day and night to roam unsupervised. Sunbeds were a bit of a problem if you wanted one at poolside – you needed to stake your claim by 6am or you’d lose out! Although there are lovely large gardens or on the beach if you didn’t mind.

Large clean restaurant – sometimes did need to queue at busy times but not for long usually. Food was as you’d expect really – something for everyone and we found something every night – gorgeous sweets – great breakfasts & lunch – dinner sometimes was a little strange but we never went hungry and never needed to eat outside the hotel. Snacks – excellent – ran all day and if you didn’t make it for breakfast you could still get cooked breakfast at 10.30 from the snack bar. Cheese pie – mmmm.

Drinks – excellent – great choice of drinks, cocktails, local spirits including own brand Tia Maria and Malibu – downside was the queues at the bar – but once they started the queuing system it wasn’t so bad. Suggestion to the hotel would maybe be to have a soft drink & water pump actually at the bar – as well as at the snack bar. Evening Entertainment was mixed – the Animation Team tried their best but it wasn’t that great, although we have been spoilt in previous years by superb entertainment. One thing – we’d have liked the evening entertainment to be outside as the large room inside was stifling and unbearable to sit for the entire evening. The evening bar staff were miserable and could have some with an injection of personality and both the inside and outside bars could have done with more staff – however we understand none of the staff had been paid since May and lots had left so they were enormously understaffed ... not an excuse I know but may explain ....?

The hotel is close to the airport – 15 mins drive away, so cheap in a taxi – you do get some aircraft noise during the day – we didn’t notice anything of a night and the planes didn’t bother us in the day – kids loved them!
Theologos/Tholos as a resort is very quiet with only a handful of supermarkets, couple of bars and car hire places – the town itself is about 25-30 mins walk away – small picturesque, lovely town (nothing there though).

Beach outside the hotel – WITH hotel sunbeds is sand and pebbles – beach shoes are a must but we found the beach clean, water fab and clean with watersports (not included/payable locally) right next to the hotel. Lovely breeze all day which was fantastic as we went to visit Lindos & Pefkos and there wasn’t a breath of air over that side of the island, it was SO hot which would have been unbearable for 2 weeks.

We hired a car and went over to Lindos, Pefkos, Lardos, Tsambiki Beach (fabulous!) and got the bus a couple of times into Rhodes Town – really great city, fantastic shops and beautifully picturesque old town - well worth a trip. Bus was good value also –2.60 Euro each. (kids half price)

After reading all the bad reviews we felt we should write one. We're just a normal average family not after anything posh or fancy (not after a top class Sandles Resort). The hotel had its faults, yes, and the remaining floors need renovation and Tholos is in need of a cash boost – but it was nowhere near as bad as we were lead to believe. If we’d have paid £5K for the holiday, yes we’d have been disappointed – but we didn’t, we got great value for money – we had a lovely room, the hotel was clean and most of the staff friendly and helpful, food and drink was good. Beach on the doorstep. ... what else do you need? My advice, make sure you book a superior room, don’t expect too much (and don’t pay too much attention to the moaners on the review sites!) and you’ll have a great time.

If we were struggling for cash we’d definitely go to Doreta beach again as you won’t find anywhere as good for the price we paid (£1,500) in the Greek Islands. If you want more you need to pay more!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyvogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.1 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
9.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aegean Breeze Resort
23.0 mi away
Princess Sun Hotel
Princess Sun Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kiotari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#26 of 74 in Faliraki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doreta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doreta Beach Hotel

Property: Doreta Beach Hotel
Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doreta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doreta Hotel is a modern and comfortable beachfront resort and spa property, located on the west coast of Rhodes Island, near the pretty village of Tholos, at a distance of 17km from the centre of Rhodes town. It's an ideal choice for those who would like to combine the unrivalled views of the blue Aegean with cooling breeze of the west coast. Has a great atmosphere, not only providing an excellent environment for families, but equally suitable for all guests. The spacious lawns leading down to the tree-lined beach is a fun place for children to play carelessly and safely. Hotel is an excellent base for exploring the countless beauties of the island, but it also provides an opportunity for a relaxed walk around taverns, shops and the traditional village of Tholos. It is no wonder that one third of our guests repeat their visit to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Doreta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doreta Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece
Doreta Beach Tholos
Doreta Beach Rhodes
Doreta Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing