We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, can't understand all the bad reviews!”
Review of Doreta Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doreta Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have just returned from a week at Doreta Beach hotel. It was the first hotel with my boyfriend and I was a bit worried after reading all the reviews but it seems some people just can't be pleased!
The hotel is not a 5 star resort but I didn't think it was going to be the price was good and we had reasonable food and drink, room was basic but very clean. The overall hotel was very clean. Pool was fab and so lovely having the sea so close with plenty of sunbeds!
I am quite a fussy eater but always managed to find something I liked at meal times it does get quite repetitive but there are some lovely bars/restaurants around if you fancy just one night out. The tavern and a la carte restaurant are ok and a nice change. The bars around the hotel are great all the staff were friendly and the cocktails were great! Some of the other hotel guests can be quite rude and no one seems to have manors but you get used to that after the first few days!!
Room is very basic but also very clean, we paid for a garden view and didn't get it so we requested a garden view had to wait till the next day and the receptionist sorted it out. There seem to be quite a few complaints about the rooms but if you don't ask you won't get. The receptionist was very accommodating even thought they seemed to get shouted at all day long!
If you want a pool side sunbed make sure you get up early my boyfriend got up at 6am then went back to bed but that's only as we didn't want to sunbathe on the beach and wanted a good spot!
The bus to Rhodes is great 2.80euros each way and tickets can be purchased from the supermarket they are really regular but do get very busy. Rhodes town is beautiful there isn't much to do around the hotel so well worth a trip into the town.
All in all it was a lovely relaxing holiday and we were on a budget so we didn't expect it to be the ritz!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've just returned from the Doreta Beach Hotel and because of the bad reviews on here before leaving, I felt obliged to write a review to let you know you have nothing to worry about.

From the minute we arrived we were welcomed by friendly reception staff who were very helpful throughout our stay. The bar and restaurant staff throughout the hotel were great and there is a huge selection of traditional Greek food on all day. The chap in the restaurant who seats you does come across moody, as mentioned in previous reviews, but is actually a really nice chap. The problem he has is, it's his job to seat people and when there are people seating themselves it makes his job more difficult, we stood and waited for him to seat us and he really appreciated this. Not only is there breakfast, lunch and dinner, but a snack bar near the pool serving all day, a Greek Taverna and a fantastic A la carte restaurant. The pool bar is great, it's open quite late and the staff offer great drinks and put on a great show doing so.

The pools are great and have 2 slides for everyone to enjoy, but it is quite difficult getting sun loungers unless you get up early and claim some by laying towels on them. There are plenty of others on the beach, which is about 20 metres away.

The hotel has recently been taken over by a French company, hence all the comments about the French and Russians, I'm assuming the tour operators in their countries are more active than ours. I found that the French people and staff were fantastic and i was welcomed when joining in with the activities. The Russians have a different culture and come across brash and rude, if you don't let this get to you then you won't have a problem. The activities team are also French but speak English and ask everyone to join them in the multiple activities throughout the day. I had a great time with them and all the staff in the hotel loved the fact i bought one of their t-shirts from the hotel mini market. The mini market is also great, it offers a vast range of products and the Greek chap who works the evening shift is very friendly.

Although the rooms are basic, they are updating them and trying very hard to get them sorted. The overall cleanliness over the rooms and hotel is outstanding. The public toilets in the main corridor near the restaurant is spotless, even the grounds outside and around the pool were very clean.

The local Greeks are also very friendly. We found a fantastic family run restaurant name Mike's, which were so welcoming and brought out nibbles for us when we went for drinks on a few occasions, although we were all inclusive at the hotel, we couldn't help but go back and as they were so nice, they even asked us to visit their house if we came back when we said we were due to leave. Go out of the hotel, turn left and walk about 100 metres, you won't regret it and you have to try their Mojito drink!

If you do wish to travel the cheapest way is to get a bus, the tickets are bought from the hotel shop rather than the bus and the stop is across the road from the hotel. It also stops at the airport on the way to Rhodes town and back so no need to pay for transfers!

So overall a very exceptional holiday, loads to do including tennis, mini golf, pool, ping pong and all the events with the activity team, plus evening entertainment. A fantastic environment, very clean, awesome food and amazing weather! We'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Benny2013G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Myself and my partner have just returned from a fantastic holiday at doreta beach. Before going we read reviews about the hotel and I must say we were quite worried and even thought about changing hotels, I am so pleased to say I am glad we didn't! The staff at the hotel were very friendly and anytime we needed anything/advice they were really helpful.
We stayed in a standard room on the first floor, it was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. The only downside was the bed was quite hard but from speaking to other holiday makers around the island this seems to be a problem in general in rhodes. When we arrived we walked passed a room which was packed full of new tv's, furniture etc. The hotel has recently been taken over and I think they are working very hard to make sure the rooms are all up to scratch and not letting holiday makers stay in rooms which have not been renovated. This may be why people are being turned away.

The food was absolutely delicious with a lot of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner. There were lots of meats, salads, hot and cold dishes to choose from and they even have themed nights such as fish, greek, Mediterranean etc. The desserts were divine, lots of choice and very very well made. The food is in constant supply so you dont need to worry about what time you arrive as it is replenished all the time. The a la carte was delicious but not so keen on the Greek taverna.

The cleanliness of the whole hotel was perfect, lots of people going round cleaning all day so always clean and tidy.

The pool area is also clean and tidy and right near the beach so you can choose between the two. There is a pool bar and snack bar which is accesible from both with a great choice of drinks, icecreams and snacks. The pool bar is open quite late into the evening and there are some great staff who make up lovely cocktails.

During the day there is an entertainment team and they are all really friendly and welcoming. The have different activities during the day such as aqua aerobics, french boules, table tennis, football, soft gym etc etc. The team are mostly french but they love the english and really liked us taking part.

The hotel does have a lot of russians and french but when going abroad you will always have a mix if nationalities. The russians are rude but we just ignored them, the french are brilliant and got on very well with many of the french guests.

Please don't worry about the bad reviews as I am sure you will have a lovely holiday. We went to mikes tavern quite a few times throughout the holiday which was also very good. Excellent food and they love the british, you will be very welcome there!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LucyMunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

me and my Partner had booked this hotel back in DEC12 we arrived at the hotel to be told our hotel room was having building work and was not ready for us to stop there, the hotel staff where very rude. we had arrived late at night on Saturday the 1st June , the staff could tell I was very distressed about the ordeal and did not once off an apology, this is the worst experience of a hotel I have ever had in my entire life! NEVER BOOK TO STAY HERE I’m surprised the place has not been shut down already

Room Tip: My room had not been built so good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Ashleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived at 05.30 hours and were told to come back to reception at midday. We did this and then were told they overbooked and had no rooms!!! We were eventually moved to happy days across the road which was horrendous! If they try and move you here then refuse! We were able to use the facilities and at doreta and this hotel was much better than the one we were placed in! Just be careful if you book this as we and many other Brits were sent to alternative hotels which were not of the same standard

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Kimmiew84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

On arriving at the Doreta we were told that there was not a room available, because the furniture hadn't arrived.We were sent to a hotel over the road called Happy Days. After 3 days a room was available, we payed for a room on the 3rd floor with a sea view, we were shown a room on the 2nd floor over the childrens play area which smelt of sewage. Needless to say we turned this down and were given the option of sleeping at Happy Days and useing the Doreta's facilities. The food at the Doreta was awful so most of the time we ate at Happy Days.Although The Doreta was not resposible for the rest of the guests, these were mostly rude arragant bad mannered Russians, Germans and French who got up at silly hours to claim the pool side loungers.Who pushed and shoved, eventually you gave as good as you got!
Was it a coincidence that most of the guests that were shipped to other hotels were Brits I don't think so. The entertainment was poor, 3rd rate, mostly spoken mainly in French.The beach is stoney and on the flight path into Rhodes. Would I stay at The Doreta again NO. If it hadn't been for the manager and staff at Happy Days the holiday would have been a disaster

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankinscents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Arrived late on 6th June only tobe told "you can't stop here as we are doing up rooms." Not bad as they had our booking for eight months. Told us they had booked us into the BELAIR 17km away. Probably the best decision they have ever made, the BELAIR is a smaller hotel with fantastic people, great food and a smile from everyone. Don't waste your money on the Dorita, book into the BELAIR it's just a short way from Rhodes town and you are guaranteed a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardEvans_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.3 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tholos
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vallian Village Hotel
9.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
6.7 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doreta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doreta Beach Hotel

Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Hotel Class:4 star — Doreta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doreta Hotel is a modern and comfortable beachfront resort and spa property, located on the west coast of Rhodes Island, near the pretty village of Tholos, at a distance of 17km from the centre of Rhodes town. It's an ideal choice for those who would like to combine the unrivalled views of the blue Aegean with cooling breeze of the west coast. Has a great atmosphere, not only providing an excellent environment for families, but equally suitable for all guests. The spacious lawns leading down to the tree-lined beach is a fun place for children to play carelessly and safely. Hotel is an excellent base for exploring the countless beauties of the island, but it also provides an opportunity for a relaxed walk around taverns, shops and the traditional village of Tholos. It is no wonder that one third of our guests repeat their visit to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doreta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doreta Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece
Doreta Beach Tholos
Doreta Beach Rhodes
Doreta Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing