We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not For Us”
Review of Doreta Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doreta Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I have just arrived back after staying for a week at the Doreta Beach. We paid £700 for the two of us all iclusive and thought it a really good price, this included upgrading at the time of booking to a superior room.
Hotel itself is very clean and check in staff were friendly quick and efficient. We were given a room on the 4th floor. There are only 3 lifts at the Doreta and they are tiny, there wasn't much room after we entered with our 2 cases, and this was a problem for the rest of the holiday as there was often queues, forget it if you have a baby in a buggy, it's everyone for themselves to get in the lift first.
The room was lovely, very clean with kingsize and single bed. ensuite with jacuzzi bath and seperate shower, the wall seperating ensuite to bedroom was opaque glass, not as others have described as revealing.However the last few days of our holiday it was very hot and the air con was totally inadequate. Had to leave patio doors open one night and was bitten by mossies.
Found all the staff at the Doreta to be nice and friendly if you took time to have a chat and got to know them a bit. Especially Maria and Marie at poolside bar, they make a wicked frappe, also Michael in the main bar who insisted in giving me a cocktail because I spoke a little greek to him.
The housekeeping was excellent room cleaned and beds changed every day. There is a do not disturb sign on the door if you wanted a lie in which we used a couple of times and maids left room alone.
Food was interesting, very bland and a lot of recycling going on, Brussel sprouts served one night at the restaurant ended up at the snack bar as a sprout salad the next day, no joking!!
Snack bar only served hot dogs, salad, spag bol, ham and cheese toasties and some dubious meat in sauce. The hot dogs were served the next day in the main restaurant chopped up in a tomato sauce. We ate out a few times and can recommend Dundees, turn right outside the hotel and it's a 5 minute walk, or turn left and there is Billy's and Mike's, However anyone who has been to Mike's before should know he is no longer there, but the food is nice all the same.
The animation team are all French and although they will ask you to join in games around the pool the games are more geared to the French and Russians. On this subject the Russians are very rude and do not beleive in queueing, it is a free for all at all meal times and they'll totally disregard you when it comes to getting an alcoholic drink at any of the bars.
We booked the greek taverna one night as we were really missing Greek food at this hotel, what a waste of time. The Greek Taverna is actually the poolside snack bar converted for the evening, they put tablecloths on the table and play greek music. The food was inedible cold burgers, cold and dry fish and of course salad, curiously warm. No Moussaka, or Stifado or even a slice of baclava. We left and went to Billy's.
Did not have children with us so cannot comment on the kids club, but the pool is very large and very deep although there is a childrens pool saw lots of adults (with no kids) sitting around it. Doreta's right on a sand/pebble beach, you will need beach shoes. There isn't a lot going on around this hotel so you either stay here or hire a car, We hired a jeep from the girl in the hotel for 60 euro's for 2 days. There is bus stop outside hotel which will take you in to Rhodes town, after waiting for over an hour we got the taxi which waits in the grounds of the hotel for 24 euro's. Don't believe timetable posted at bus stop it is pot luck.
Cigarettes are cheaper at airport than local supermarket if you're thinking of taking some back. 42 euros in resort for Benson and Hedges and 40 at airport.
Found towards end of week it was harder to get sunbeds, even though there are loads, usual problem of people reserving beds with a towel. I saw 2 women spread towels on 4 beds so no one could sit next to them. Can only imagine this will get worse as summer goes on.
Would recommend a taxi from airport as it's only 13 euro's and you will miss any queues when checking in.
Beach towels are available from reception and there is a spa which is located downstairs near the lifts, although I did not try anythimg in it.
I can't blame this hotel for it's clientelle, which spoiled it for us, but I can for it's boring and bland food.
I drink vodka and at first thought it to be watered down, it's because the strength is only 30% and after talking to a Russian girl said they would not touch it. Wine and beer is self service, did not try the beer but the wine was more water than wine and the white and rose rasted the same.
This hotel just didn't do it for us, looked lovely but was totally lacking any atmosphere found it totally boring and felt the brits were just there to make up the numbers..

Room Tip: If you decide after reading this to go to the Doreta make sure you ask for a superior room at time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family which includes a 17yr old lad 13yr old boy and 9yr old girl have just got back from doreta beach May 2012.
We had a lovely time we had a family room in the basement which was clean and spacious the only bad point was the bath had been painted and was peeling off. The food was varied but its true that its cold especially breakfast but we enjoyed most of it and if the kids didnt fancy anything on offer they had toasted sandwiches.
The hotel does mainly cater for the russians and french the entertainment was rubbish no one was ever brought in it was just the entertainment staff who were lovely but it was just the same stuff each night.
Hotel itself was lovely and clean we didnt queue hardly at all but it was early season and there were plenty of sunbeds. We hired a car for a few days from lady in the foyer which was well worth it.
My 17yr old was bored there wasnt enough for him to do but my other two had a lovely time and joined in with the activities. The pool was freezing and dont take any notice of the depth writen on the side of the pool it was very deep but we all enjoyed it.
We wouldnt go again there is not enough to do nearby but if you have booked you should have a lovely time and a holiday is what you make it.

Room Tip: Our family room in the basement was very central to everything so we were happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northerntart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just come back after a 7 night holiday at this hotel, i must agree with alot of the reviews, but in saying that we will go back again, dont book your transfers, get a taxi its a lot cheaper and same with a car, there is car hire across the road from hotel, Rhodes town not to far away, its worth a ride to LINDOS but very steep hill down to beach and shops with very little parking for cars, free bus has been stopped so its a walk or taxi down. Breakfast is a buffet, very good but most of the food is on the cool side but there is a microwave you can use, staff great very pleasent and helpful, there is free Wi-Fi only in reception, bus stop outside of hotel to Rhodes, toilets by the fantastic pool are now up and running and lots of sunbeds now,
so all an all will be going back again fantastic time was had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RayPartington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We visited this hotel back in 2004 and 2005, they had a fantastic entertainment team and the food was lovely. sadly the food is not that lovely anymore and the entertainment for the British is limited. The hotel now caters for Mainly Russian and French, you cannot blame the hotel in this current climate as all paying guests are welcome. The dining room is still run by the same restaurant manager only on this visit we found him not to be too helpful when allocating our party of 8 , We travelled with 6 very large men and 2 ladies and where seated on a 8 seater table all cramed in near the window tables for large parties, the lads in my party could not lift their elbows to eat their food and found this arrangement very uncomfortable, so on the following evening we sat at a 10 seater table for the extra room, the restaurant manager was not happy and made this quite clear stating we could be seated on the 10 seater for that evening only then return to the 8 the following evening , it must be said that there was plenty of room and we had waited till late evening around 9pm before we went into the dinning room just so we could have the extra space when the dinnng room had hardly anyone in so was very surprised when the restaurant manager was rude and stated we had to sit in a 8. For the rest of the stay we went to the dining room in 2s so that a table for 4 was allocated so we could eat in comfort. The dinning room is very clean , the food NOT 4 star , at best 2/3 it is not what it use to be so dont expect to find a chop , a slice of beef or a chicken fillet , what you will find is dishes where meats have been chopped up and made into stew like dinners. very school / canteen type dinners. with sliced hard potatoes and veg. Salads and 2 types of cheese, so if you are into salads and cheese this will suit you. Most breakfasts foods where cold, stick to toast/jam/fruit/cereal. The room we was allocated was on the 3rd floor with a jacuzzi which is what we had booked and this was lovely , no complaints. The pool and buildings are very clean. Watch the wasps around the pool, congratulations to Maria the Swedish pool bar attendant our vote goes to you for the hotel employee with excellent customer services skills. Book this hotel just for the drinks/accomodation/ breakfast and the pool, eat out at Dundees , fantastic little place down the road who do excellent steaks and burgers.at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rooms with the jacuzzi are lovely on the 3rd floor, very clean , excellent views of the sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missblowfuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have just come back from staying at the Doretta, we got a bargain for a weeks holiday, me my hubby and 2 children, we had a very basic room, and it did seem to us the the english people were put in the basic rooms, while the arrogant Russians and French were all on the best floors where the hotel has upgraded, another downfall was the toilet situation, if you was in the bar or the pool you had to go to your room to use the loo's, as the toilets were not ready yet, we were advised they will be ready soon.
Swimming pool lovely one of the best i have been in, and the beach has a constant breeze which we loved.
Food not too good to be fair, but as we did'nt pay a lot for the holiday we took plenty of spends to eat and drink out, we found a lovely Bar called Dundee's which is turn right when you leave the Doretta, great friendly english staff, the owner Nick who is so funny is from Austrailia, Kids welcome too and they have colouring books ect for the kids while your eating which certainly kept my kids quiet. They also have a fab singer who was on X Factor, and also do Karaoke, food is exellent they cater for all nationality's, we saw the Lobster they cooked WOW.....We also watch the England match on sky sports which my husband and son was happy about, what a great atmosphere....
We would deffinatley go here again at the same time as was just right for us weather and no hussling and bussling.....Thanks Doretta for a nice holiday, Dundees too thanks......

Room Tip: 5th floor is the best.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

GOOD POINTS: 10 minute transfer from the airport, quick and efficient check in, very impressive first impression of the hotel, towels and bedding changed every day, fantastic clean and spacious pool, plenty of sun loungers, private beach a stones throw from the pool, good selection of lunches, dinners and snack bar food, during the day staff tried to include and entertain the children, lounge bar staff were efficient and fair.

BAD POINTS: Some Loud, Obnoxious and rude Russian guests, We felt the English holiday makers were totally alienated in favour of the Russian and French guests and all of the evening entertainment was aimed at them, breakfast was consistently cold and unappetising, pool bar staff lacking and waiting time unacceptable, second floor rooms dated and very basic.

All in all we got what we paid for as it was heavily discounted with a free child place so we were happy but we could understand the complaints of other guests who had paid considerably more as this is defiantly not a 4 star hotel more a 3. One week was enough as unfortunately the surrounding resort was pretty much a ghost town so escaping the terrible Russian/French entertainment was limited but fortunately we discovered Dundee's bar which was really friendly and welcoming. Although the room we were allocated was basic and dated it was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel and pool. Would we return?.......probably not but it is worth a visit if you get it at a bargain price!

Room Tip: don't accept a room on the first or second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rubypompom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

just come back having spent a week with friends at this hotel.We upgraded when we booked and from what we were told by other british holiday makers we did the best thing as they told us about the dated dark rooms they had.Our rooms were on the 5th floor and were lovely.bright clean and had lovely view of the pool and sea they were cleaned daily.The only down side was our room although big with a huge balcony had an open plan bathroom and wc so it was a good thing we have been married for a number of years if i had gone there with a new partner i would have been horrified to find no privacy when using the wc.The hotel reception and pool area was spotless.The reason i couldn,t rate our holiday more then good was not all facilities advertised were open ie taverna or l la cart resturant.The main restaurant plenty of choice to eat but the food nearly all tasted the same i think this was mainly because it was never hot.We eat omlettes for brakfast as these were freshly made while you waited so were hot.We eat out a couple of times as we wanted to eat hot greek food.Would recommend the taverna in the village up the hill.For what we paid it was a lovely holiday and good value.I must say the reception staff were great especially Katia who went out of her way to sort out some paper work we needed.
Upgrade to 5th floor and don;t expect traditional greek food go out for a few meals.British guests are in the minorty.

Room Tip: upgrade and make sure on 5th floor overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.3 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
161 reviews
9 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
6.5 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
8.9 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doreta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doreta Beach Hotel

Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range: $123 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doreta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doreta Hotel is a modern and comfortable beachfront resort and spa property, located on the west coast of Rhodes Island, near the pretty village of Tholos, at a distance of 17km from the centre of Rhodes town. It's an ideal choice for those who would like to combine the unrivalled views of the blue Aegean with cooling breeze of the west coast. Has a great atmosphere, not only providing an excellent environment for families, but equally suitable for all guests. The spacious lawns leading down to the tree-lined beach is a fun place for children to play carelessly and safely. Hotel is an excellent base for exploring the countless beauties of the island, but it also provides an opportunity for a relaxed walk around taverns, shops and the traditional village of Tholos. It is no wonder that one third of our guests repeat their visit to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doreta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doreta Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece
Doreta Beach Tholos
Doreta Beach Rhodes
Doreta Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing