We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will go again if i can”
Review of Doreta Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doreta Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was there on august 2011 . I sleep to other hotel but there i have all inclusive
There is good foood and entertaiment was nice. We were invited to dance. It is a nice 4 star hotel. Good place for kids too. Was near airport so u can see plains all time

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aurora02000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
There are newer reviews for Doreta Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

The hotel is right on the beach, only 10 minutes drive from the airport. A bus from the airport stops right outside! The grounds are well kept and spacious. We went at the beginning of October and the weather was still very good. Although not crowded the hotels guests were made up of a number of families with children. Fortunately there is a good and cheap bus service so one can leave the hotel easily and go into town. The rooms were spacious and clean. Food was OK for those who are not looking for fine dining. There is no shortage of food and drink, but don't expect a full English breakfast or freshly squeezed juice. Mainly self-service. Cats and dogs hovered near the restaurant but the guests were encouraging them. A little off putting. The staff were polite and helpful. We found a nice taverna nearby called 'Mikes' where we could escape to without travelling. If you are in a room at the front of the hotel and you are a light sleeper take some ear plugs as across the road is a noisy bar and the dust cart calls early in the morning. We took an elderly relative with us and she felt safe and could enjoy being independent, especially at meal times. We are going back on our own for a week at the start of the season because the value is good. We intend to spend more time on the beach and try the on-site taverna which you have to book in advance for dinner. Might even pop over to Turkey for the day on one of the ferries!

Room Tip: rooms with seaview and higher floors
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank vron o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have been in doreta beach hotel in summer 2010 with group of friends. We had rooms at first and second floor were time stopped in 80'. Rooms were dirty and especially the bathroom. The biggest problem about rooms were the air-condition ...well it was hard to call it air-condition. It was really noisy and we have to turn down in night because it was hard to sleep when it was on. And even when it was on it was still hot in room. Because of it we have all night windows open and some of us get ill. What is interesting about hotel is that above 3 floor rooms looks like 4 start and they are modern and clean and air-condition is working. well ... we haven't this luck.
About the restaurant. It is first time that I have to wait in queue to get into restaurant. The old Greek guy is standing there and telling if you can go into or no. So when we were group of 8 people it take a while when we get permission to get in. Food is ok. It is tasty and you will always find something for you.
About the pool. I am just not sure if it is cleaning in proper way. Beach is ok. But buy special shoes because there are stones when you enter to sea.
The biggest problem of the hotel are sunbeds. We were form 10 agust till 24 and in first week you need to wake up about 6 in morning to get place near the pool or in the beach with a bit of shadow. If you will go later like 8 or 9 you can forget about sunbeds. The you have to lay on towel somewhere in grass. In second week even at 6 in morning it was hard to find empty sunbed. People put towels in nigh ... stupidity.
Another thing thinking through is the place where hotel is. It is more then 10 km to the center. Around hotel there is only one bar. And if you want to spent time out of the hotel you have to go by taxi or by bus. But you have to remember that waiting for but is means sometimes 20 min in sun because they are newer on time :) getting to center is by taxi is about 20 euro each way.
If I went to rhodes one more time I would choose another hotel and city/village. No for doreta beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank temida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We came here in August 2011, although its late to write a review would like to give our experience.

When we arrived they actually tried to rip some of our party off by making them pay full adult price yet only allow them to have a child's all-inclusive wrist band (as two of the members were 17 and half years old.) Staff at reception really didnt care about you or your feelings, they were very arrogant and rushed everything.
We actually stayed on the second floor which looked terrible compared to the 3rd,4th and 5th.
The room was average, plain and dated. NO storage space, me and my boyfriend lived out of our suitcases and had 5 hangers between us! Balcony was a lovely size with a brilliant view of the sea! Bed was comfortable, nice size with plenty pillows. Obviously from other reviews the hotel was on a plain route. They never stopped especially between 7 in the morning and 12 at night were the busiest times with them flying over every 8-12 mins!! Iv never heard planes so loud in my life, often they was that loud that they woke you up frightening you! although they were nice to look at when you was sunbathing. Air-con was ridiculous!!! the room was constantly stuffy and hot which made it very difficult to sleep. Most nights it wasnt working properly, one night in particular me and my boyfriend had to drag a mattress outside and spray insect repellent around us! however then got no sleep because of the planes!!
We finally give up as soon as breakfast opened and slept most of the day away. we complained about the air-con to reception and to the hotel manager and three days later nothing was done about it.
The restaurant was very large, plenty of variety, serving new things on each day. Salad was delicious! the snack bar also served very tasty food, loved being able to get as much food and drink as i wanted.There was no wait more or less every day to get a table in the restaurant. There was no desert left after meals so make sure you get that before your starters and main courses. Some of the bar staff was lovely and others weren't. Most of the time there was a small Q for drinks, but what do you expect in 40degree heat! Very generous with alcohol! there cocktails were brilliant!! they had good entertainment whilst making them too.
The animation team were faultless and such amazing people. Lots of activities throughout the day for everyone to get involved in. The public toilets in the hotel were not very nice at all... urine and toilet paper all over the floor. No soap or paper towels to wipe hands. Lots of cats randomly walking around. The crickets were so loud! The pool was lovely and massive!! good temperature but very deep, which is good for jumping in ect. life guide on duty most days to keep order. A child cut open his leg and foot due to glass in the pool and broken tiles. He remained in a wheel chair for the rest of his holiday. Be careful when walking around the pool as it was often slippy. SUNBEDS... (or lack of)! you HAD to be up for 7am to get 1 ! people went down reserving them and not even showing up the whole day. However we did go in peak season so again what can you expect.
There was loud music played all day, which was fun but always repeated.
our room was cleaned every couple of days and became very dusty towards the end of the two weeks. i didnt feel like my stuff was secure and safe in the hands of the maids and every day would make sure my stuff was still there like my money, watch, jewelry. We often had to ask for more toilet role and fresh towels most of the time because the room hadn't been clean that day. the hotel has lots of shops, bars and restaurants right next door. The sea was very nice, a little hard to walk on and to get in and out of as so many rocks. Met lots of nice people there including the animation team who made the holiday more enjoyable. Lots of kids entertainment, nice to see them having so much fun with discos and shows. They had a different theme for each night, one night they had bingo, another disco, fire tricks and dancing on a bed of nails, sing competitions, and men versus women night. Really had you looking forward to what was going to happen each night.
overall was a really nice holiday, i wouldnt of paid so much for it because it did have some bad point (but dont they all) that i would like to warn other customers before they try it out for themselves.
I would return to Rhodes but not really to this hotel just in case the animation team weren't the same people as they made our time there 100% more better!

Room Tip: Go higher than 2nd floor and Make sure you room has working air-con!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel in june 2010 and had a lovely time. We were lucky enough to get a superior room. When we first arrived we had a standard room, which was awful. We complained and since it was our wedding anniversary they allowed us to upgrade. The staff were lovely and very helpfull. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pool area is very good, plenty of room to sunbath. The pool itself is good too with a separate childrens pool and play area. We never had a problem getting a sun bed. There is food served all day long at the pool bar, along with drinks and ice cream. The breakfast, lunch and evening meals were repeated on the second week so we ate out a few times at billy's. Billys do a lovely steak. There isn't much to do outside the hotel so we hired a car from across the road. We went into Rhodes and visited other places near by, we even had a day in turkey. All in all a lovely holiday and we would definately go back.

Room Tip: Definately go for a high floor or superior room
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

great hotel with lovely friendly staff,the food was very good with every nationality catered for ,the room was cleaned every day , fresh sheets and towels, entertainment was good with fire eaters and greek dancing ,bingo ,belly dancing and several other things for the children the swimming pool was very clean and plenty of deck chairs and they had entertainment outside near the pool as well, i was worried before we went as there was a lot of bad reveiws ,im glad i went and i difo would stay there again,i travelled october 12 till 19th, the weather was warm as well.bonus for october!!!

Room Tip: the first and second floor has not been up dated yet as the other floors was updated and then the re...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jendrew06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I was here for a weeks holiday in September 2011 with my wife and son and my mother and father in law. I would point out at this stage that i am a massive fan of Rhodes and have visited the island many times.

On arrival we went to our room which was like something from the 1970's (3rd floor) my in laws went to the 5th floor (our rooms were supposed to be next door to each other). My in laws had an 8 foot by 10 foot glass panel leaning up against their wall in the bedroom that was supposed to be a dividing wall between the bathroom and bedroom. If this fell on you it would kill you!!! They got a room change to what was to be fair a resonably comfortable room. We on the other hand still had to make do with the 1970's room with no aircon, 2 small drawers and 8 hangers in a wordrobe for a family of 3!!!

The pool looked lovely and huge. Huge it was.....2 meter's deep throughout apart from a couple of corners which were always stupidly busy, as was the kids pool. The hotel is on the flight path from the airport but you were never able to hear the planes above the noise of the Music that was on full blast from dusk to dawn at the bar and it was that euro beat rubbish too. Entertainment was again 1970's which to be fair the mass amount of eastern europeans lapped up!!

Food was next to dreadful with no variety on a daily basis. The drink at the pool bar was good when you could get served and on an evening at the lounge bar you had to Q for at least 10 minutes. The lounge bar which had no air con and one gents toilet!! The entertainment in the hotel was not entertainment in any format, the best it became was bingo with lame prizes (a bottle of wine in an all inclusive hotel) and one night we got Karaoke, which was as good as it got.

On the whole I never wish to step within 100 miles of this place again and I would plead to you not to do so either. The only saving grace out of all of this was that I discovered a beautiful little taverna walking distance from the hotel with 2 swimming pools, good food, relaxing surroundings and what looked like lovely appartments, crazy golf, swings etc. The only down side was that I could occasionally still hear the music from our hotel and the entertainment staff shouting on the mic!!!

If your idea of a good holiday is paying over £3,400 for a family of 5 to revisit rooms like spain in the 70's, entertainment like butlins in the 60's and surrounded by rude eastern europeans who dont care what their kids are getting up to or where they are in a hotel with no aircon in tempratures in the 40's then this is the hotel for you!!!!! Good Luck

Seriously this was my idea of hell.........I hated it and the horrible people I had the displeasure to spending the week with!!!

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Jonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.1 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
156 reviews
9.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,818 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#22 of 31 in Ialyssos
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aegean Breeze Resort
0.3 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
6.7 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doreta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doreta Beach Hotel

Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range: $87 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doreta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doreta Hotel is a modern and comfortable beachfront resort and spa property, located on the west coast of Rhodes Island, near the pretty village of Tholos, at a distance of 17km from the centre of Rhodes town. It's an ideal choice for those who would like to combine the unrivalled views of the blue Aegean with cooling breeze of the west coast. Has a great atmosphere, not only providing an excellent environment for families, but equally suitable for all guests. The spacious lawns leading down to the tree-lined beach is a fun place for children to play carelessly and safely. Hotel is an excellent base for exploring the countless beauties of the island, but it also provides an opportunity for a relaxed walk around taverns, shops and the traditional village of Tholos. It is no wonder that one third of our guests repeat their visit to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doreta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doreta Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece
Doreta Beach Tholos
Doreta Beach Rhodes
Doreta Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing