We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time away!”
Review of Doreta Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doreta Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Reviewed August 24, 2011

First of all I'd like to say that a holiday is what you make of it and in most cases you get what you pay for.
Hubby and I cane here and we had a lovely time. It wasn't far from the airport bout 5-10mins. Yes there were planes going overhead but really you take no notice after a day. The rooms were lovely. The staff were OK. Some of the staff couldn't be bothered to smile but just ignore them. Lol.
We payed to go to Rhodes new town for the day and it cost $18 to get there in a taxi. The locals were friendly and it's a beautiful place well worth going to. There is a shop in the hotel and a couple out of the hotel with some bars. We never really went to any of these bars as we had a budget and payed for all inclusive therefore we had already payed for our food and drink. Food was quite repetitive as it's a buffet but it's what you would expect. It didnt taste bad but it's buffet style food.
The hotel was right on the beach although we didn't really go on there we are more pool people. The biggest negative for us was the Germans mainly. They always came down early to put a towel on the sunbeds and wouldn't come back until late afternoon. This used to really wind me up. Hubby used to set his alarm to come and put our towels down at bout 7ish and most of the sunbeds were gone. We had to do this as we wouldn't have one otherwise although we were always one of the first sitting by the pool in the morning. We came for some sun, rest, indulgence, pool and to chill. We got all of that. But the sunbed issue although sounds really petty but it made things difficult considering we just wanted to stay round the pool all week in the sun.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDunkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We booked this hotel as a last minute holiday and although we did enjoy it, we would not return. It's hard not to compare it to other holidays and all I can say is that compared to our other 4* holidays, it was no comparison - particularly the food.
We stayed in a double superior room and yes it was spotless but with two extra beds squashed in, there was barely room to swing a cat. The bed was very uncomfortable with only thin sheets. We must have been lucky because our air con worked so well that we had to turn it off as we were cold! The room was cleaned with bed and towel changes every day - which was fantastic!
The beach bar was lovely but very busy - the only way we managed to get served was by heavily tipping one of the waiters on the first day - I have to say, he did put all the tips we gave him in the tip box. The waiters were so busy that glasses were only ever half filled and before you knew it, you were queuing again. Also only flimsy white plastic cups during the day! Also could be very rude!
Entertainment team worked extremely hard but in the evening all the entertainment was inside, with a huge queue at the bar! No entertainment outside which was disappointing!
The pool area was lovely and they allow large inflatables. There was an English Lifeguard on duty who was very friendly and even lent us his own sunshade a time or two. To guarantee beds around the pool, I was getting up between 6.30 and 7.30 am and by this time all the parasols had gone. The lifeguard however did remove towels off beds that had not been used by 10.30am.
Now for the food! This was the most disappointing of all! During the day you could help yourselves to hot dogs or pizza or wait for a toastie. The hot dogs were left out all day and were often luke warm. At lunchtime, an assortment of food from the restaurant was brought out - usually salad - covered in feta cheese and some sort of unlabelled meat! Or you could eat in the restaurant. Again the food in the restaurant was mainly unlabelled and usually consisted of hot dog sausages in disguise, lamb, veal and feta cheese! Nothing else was labelled but it was easy to see most of it consisted of left overs! Breakfast was ok but no bacon (occasionally cooked ham), hot dog sausages and a variety of eggs - also assortment of continental food. Oh and by the way, ignore the dress code - my husband wore long trousers on the first night and everyone else were in shorts!
If you were hungry after 9pm - forget it!!! No crisps or nuts behind the bar or even international brands of drink to purchase if you fancied a change!
Wide variety of supermarkets nearby open all hours and the bus to Rhodes Town regular and cheap.
We ate out a few times but only choice of about 3 eating places in walking distance with not a very varied menu but nice for a change!
Don't book a transfer to the airport as it only costs 13 euro's in a taxi and takes 5 min.
Children's club was free but not very secure - you did not even leave a room number or mobile phone no. There was however a free bouncy castle and a small games arcade near the beach bar. There were also go-karts but at 2 euro's a throw this became expensive.
Good variety of watersports on immediate beach costing appx 15euro's.
One of the main disgruntles was the lack of toilets in public areas! Only one for each gender in the main hotel block. Also lifts were very small and you could be waiting for ages!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chele86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Just returned from spending two weeks at the Doreta Beach, found this hotel to be very good, like others, l was very concerned about staying here (shouldn't read bad reviews on tripadvisor!!! lol)) had been trying to change hotel right up to the day we were flying out,

On arriving 08/08/11 the receptionist was very pleasant to us (family of four)and spoke very good English, we were given our room keys B23, this room is one of the garden view rooms (Maisonette) facing the main-road and were very surprised of the good standard of these rooms,

On the second night daughter was ill and had been sick all over her bed (too much food!!) wife done her best to clean up, following morning l reported this issue to receptionist within 5 minutes the cleaner was knocking our door to sort out problem (now that's what you call service)

Food was great with plenty of options, food just as great outside, no issues with drinks but hotel should really place extra people on to help around the bar area on night times, entertainment could be better,

Some of the comments being made about sunbeds are not true, people were reporting that some people were leaving towels out overnight so that they could clam their sunbeds for following day, everyday l was placing our towels onto beds at 06.15am and could only see a few people had gone down before me, even after 8am people were still finding beds, some people need to get up early or find a bed before having breakfast, did notice some people were trying to look for beds at 10am (come on guys you are never going to find bed that late!!) fair play to life-guard he did start to remove towels off beds after 10.30am,

just remember guys have a great holiday and don't let things get you down, just keep smiling, over the two weeks all went well, would l stay here again!!!! YES,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trapp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Just spent a great week at the Doreta room on 3rd floor was brilliant was a bit apprehensive having had read reviews only problems we had was sunbeds towels on early and most of the time the guests did not come down to after lunch in the end life guard took all towels off sunbeds if guests were not down by 10.30 good on him, also food a bit repeative would go there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyjue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I dont normally write reviews but I just got back yesterday after having spent 10days at the Doreta and needed to vent my frustration on a couple of points which really naffed me off. Firstly, this is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel, first time being in 2007. The hotel is great and is ideally located within easy reach to Rhodes town and Faliraki etc... and both times we have throughlly enjoyed it. Now to my frustrations -
Pool Bar Manager - Suffering from 'small man syndrome' - Was very arrogant, first night we were there i ordered a couple of beers, and he was pee'ed off when i then asked for a couple of wines and some cokes as I hadnt given him the full order of 8 drinks in one go, he went crazy saying I had him running all over the bar ?!?!?!?!. To cap this and this is what broke the camels back was he was sat at the bar with some lady friends obviously just off his shift, getting drunk on shots, when one of the glasses fell and smashed on the floor. 2 mins later another one smashed. There was glass all over. He did not action any cleaning up of this. We pointed this out to one of the waitresses but nothing was done. We then saw a young girl step on a piece of glass which resulted in her slipping. The bar manager was aware of this but did nothing. He knew we were concerned so we left as as we did, one of our party using his foot, moved all the glass pieces towards the bar away from the the general throughfare. He noticed this and if looks could kill !!!!!!! Im sorry but this guy is a wan*er and needs sacking. He may be able to spin a few spirit bottles and catch ice cubes but he needs a reality check with respect to attitude and housekeeping.

Poolside Lifeguard - What a joke. This guys from the UK and walks around with a chip on his shoulder. He brought my son to tears after my son decided to climb up the central pool steps to jump on his lilo. Admitted, he shouldnt have done it but to have this excuse for a lifeguard to repeat his whistle, arms folded, tapping his foot on the poolside floor, beckoning my lad to get out of the water and walk around to him for his telling off - UNACCEPTABLE. We saw this once to often in our 10day stay. He is unprofessional and cannot communicate to children. As for being a lifeguard, I wouldnt my trust him in. He is no Mitch Buchanan !!! more like the Hoff with an extra 5 stone around his waist !!!!! He spends more time at the snack bar helping him self to food than doing what he is paid to do.......I did hear him in the reception area arguing with the manager as it appeared the doreta beach hasnt paid him for a few weeks....probably because you only get what you pay for - Word to the manager 'Get Shut of this clown'

I know its a bit war and peace above, but I dont normally complain but these aforementioned points really naffed me off to the point I will not stay in this hotel again which is a shame as its a great hotel and Rhodes is lovely.

Craig, Lancashire, Age 40 (2 families, kids aged 8,8,11,14)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We returned to Doreta Beach on 10th August for 10 nights. We previously stayed there 4 years ago. We were a group of 4 adults, a 14 year old, an 11 year old and two 8 year olds.
Reception and Check In was fine, we booked a superior room and were on the 5th Floor. The room was very modern, and clean. The maids came in every day and swept the floor, changed the towels and changed the bed occasionally. The downside to this room was that it was very small for 4 people, one of the beds was a folding camp bed and at times the room felt very claustrophobic! The fifth floor is very very high so we didnt dare let the children out on the balcony as the drop was quite scary were they to fall.
The last time we stayed, we were on the ground floor and the room was split level, so was much bigger, but the decor in this room was tired.
The pool was lovely, there are deep areas but there is a seperate childrens pool which my younger son and his friend loved. There are deep areas in the big pool though so its not suitable for non-swimmers. There is an odd-job man from Manchester at the hotel, and he sometimes acts as a Lifeguard. I found him quite rude, and all he did was complain about his employers to anybody who would listen!
When he was acting as a "Lifeguard", he obviously thought he was very important. My son was doing something trivial, that he didnt want him to do, however, this is fine, rules are there for a reason. What is not fine, is blowing the whistle very loudly at my child and beckoning him over, whilst tapping his foot in a very arrogant and aggressive manner and then telling him off and reducing him to tears. Totally unacceptable!!!
The food was ok, pretty standard for an all inclusive and very repetitive but what do you expect. We could always find something to eat. The restaurant manager was lovely with all the kids, and they used to look forward to seeing him at night.
The restaurant and the entertainment area are not air conditioned and it was extremely hot.
The alcoholic drinks were very, very weak and there was always a long queue at the inside bar but we just ordered three drinks each when we got there so we didnt have to keep queueing up.
The pool bar/cocktail bar is very very busy and the staff dont always serve everybody in order so you could be stood there for ages,. The manager of this bar was just rude!! He never smiled, never had any manners, basically he had a bad attitude. On our last night at the hotel, we went down to this bar and he was off duty and sat propping the bar up with a lady friend, He was very very very drunk and in the space of ten minutes, he dropped 3 glasses on the floor. There was glass everywhere - he made no attempt to clean it up, nor did he ask any of his staff to clean it up. I pointed it out to a member of staff but still nothing was done. A young girl walked round the bar and slipped on the glass, but still nothing was done. As we left the bar, the 14 year old in our group, kicked all the big bits of glass to the side because it was an accident waiting to happen, but we just got a dirty look and still nobody cleaned it up.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Jo_Sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have had our holiday at the hotel during the period 2011-08-07 to 2011-08-14, and we were very unsure of what it would be with all the bad comments that were on this hotel but it has been shown from our side that this is not true, there has been a fantastic week for us, the staff has been fantastic, the food was good and sufficiently varied there was always something you could eat as we were more than satisfied at every meal, at the pool bar was served is also hot sandwiches and hot dogs between 10:00 to 23:00 including lunch from 12:30 to 14:30 I think it was, our kids had breakfast there when they were not as early birds like us. The beach bar was open from 10:00 to 01:00 at night and served free drinks, etc. until 23:00, can encase it was served almost everything you could imagine a lot of different kinds of good drinks and of course beer, it was not never someone who looked wrong and thought you drunk a lot but it was just to drink in this're a family-friendly hotel so it is not advisable to get drunk:) although the beer was very good and really cold.
If you must say something negative thats it is always clear, It would be the number of toilets in the lobby only one there and the staff of the beach bar could not see what order people came in and ordered, so some times you had to wait a good while, and even at main bar inside the hotel, it was every night, long queues for ordering so some ran instead down to the beach bar and ordered to then see the many different performances that were on the big stage,Sure it was hard to get sunbeds but then they got a good reason to get up early around at eight o'clock to put the towels manufactured, and yes the pool was deep but there was a children's pool for younger children as well. It is safe to find more negative things but that's probably because what you are as a person, you are a negative person and do not want to enjoy their holiday as surely they'll find more negative things to say.
For those who want that little extra luxury, yes they may take the throw out the extra money there are hotels in Rhodes, which costs well over twice the price as here at Doreta Beach, on Doreta beach you really get value for money.
We stayed in room 406 Superior room with two girls 11 and 14 years old had read before that you should take a superior room that was a very nice and clean rooms with a good and quiet air-cond in the room cleaning and replacement of towels made every day, it was a double bed and two single beds that were more than I thought so it was a great surprise that the children had opposite bed when it was not clear at all when ordering. The old man at the restaurant who showed us the empty table was a real cool guy and really nice to the kids. Then our flight was very late on Sunday night we took the opportunity to rent a car to explore Rhodes, we asked if we could keep our room so we could later take a shower there was no problem we had to take and borrow another room on evening to take a shower and in addition, we eat and drink for free throughout the day although we had checked out, I do not think many other all-inclusive hotel had offered and was a staff at main desk very nice and helpful.
I almost forgot to say how they even came up with good stuff for us adults with boules and darts a bit more and the guy who managed the boule must be a great tribute to the hugely happy mood he had.
I could probably write an entire novel about our very happy stay at this hotel, but hope this is enough to convince you that there is a clearly very good and very affordable hotel, we will definitely come back.
Sincerely, Richard + Family

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.1 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
9.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#22 of 31 in Ialyssos
841 reviews
6.7 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tholos
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doreta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doreta Beach Hotel

Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range: $86 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doreta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doreta Hotel is a modern and comfortable beachfront resort and spa property, located on the west coast of Rhodes Island, near the pretty village of Tholos, at a distance of 17km from the centre of Rhodes town. It's an ideal choice for those who would like to combine the unrivalled views of the blue Aegean with cooling breeze of the west coast. Has a great atmosphere, not only providing an excellent environment for families, but equally suitable for all guests. The spacious lawns leading down to the tree-lined beach is a fun place for children to play carelessly and safely. Hotel is an excellent base for exploring the countless beauties of the island, but it also provides an opportunity for a relaxed walk around taverns, shops and the traditional village of Tholos. It is no wonder that one third of our guests repeat their visit to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doreta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doreta Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece
Doreta Beach Tholos
Doreta Beach Rhodes
Doreta Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing