We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Alex Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alex Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We went there in the beginning of october. The weather was still very good but a little windy. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The food was also very good for an all inclusive hotel. The AirPort is near so you van hear the planes landing and taking off. I would say this hotel was very good value for money!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Roel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 160 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

The price is competitively low so nothing to expect. We would say that is 3 star hotel, no more..
Close to the beach, but the beach is not nice. This place is good for kiters but not for to relax on. The choice of food was very poor. Rooms were cleaned. The staff was helpful but unfortunately not smiling, not very friendly, did their job as a robots.. The area around the hotel was just a mess.
Cocktails was good. They could change the furniture to a more modern for a 4 star hotel, two single beds instead of double one, and very hard for sleeping. The Internet connection was only at the reception. To have wifi at the room you have to pay extra.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knolpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A very decent hotel, with beautiful grounds. The usual struggles over reserving lounge chairs in the morning. The best part of the hotel is its staff, though -- they are pleasant and conscientious and make everyone feel welcome. They turn a good experience into a very good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just had a very nice holiday week in Rhodos.
The weather was perfect, an inimmaginabile blue sky and sea!
Alex Beach Hotel is 10min. drive south from the airport.
It is a very correct hotel for the money, and if you book early you can have
very good prices, and than this hotel is more than enough.
You can book rooms in the hotel or nice bungalows / family room, close to the beach.
The garden in nice, part of an olive garden. The pools / slide ar just right for the kids
I had a Kite surfing club at 200m to the right of the hotel, with storage!
The boys could windsurf on the beach of the hotel.
The food and kitchen was more than ok! You can ask Emanuel for greek speciality's.
Even at noon there is choice of warm meals, and a nice buffet at the pool.
We saw less in 5* hotels!!!
We also saw regular customers! Thats a good sign!
rent a car, mini market in front of the hotel.
late arrivals with bottle of wine + welcome plate: nice!

Room Tip: kite surf take bungalow, close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lunel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are looking for a quite place, which is located aside from the city's noise. Place which has a peaceful beach and a clean pool, This hotel might be perfectly suitable your needs. The hotel has simple and very comfort design, the rooms are just fine for 3 people. We took "All inclusive" package, and it was very convenient, the drinks and snacks are always there (at the beach / pool area) so you are ever not being hungry. The food is just fine, not a Micheline restaurant, but more than enough for a good breakfast/lunch/dinner. The hotel's staff is very welcomed and always willing to help, as it was already mentioned, the pool is very clean (both of them) and due to it's size, it seems that it always empty. There is an internet at the lobby (only).

The Shampoo and Body lotion/soap are not provided - bring your own cause the prices in outside store are much more expensive than in regular super market. The beach towels are distributed only 30min a day (1p.m to 1:30 p.m) so if you arrive after this time (like we did) no towels for you until the next day...

Room Tip: Take the Bungalow. and not the one with the pool access but the one which is on the second floor (mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank igalep132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We just finished a two week stay at the Alex Beach and we can not even imagine a better experience. We traveled as a family of two adults and two children ages 7 and 3.

Location: The hotel is located in the small village of Theologos. It is about a 10-15 minute cab ride from the airport soutwest of Rhodes Town. Since the hotel is so close the airport, you do get some noise from aircraft taking off and landing. However, the noise did not bother me or my family. As for nightlife in Theologos, I didn't really notice anything going on. There are a couple of stores next to the hotel that sell the assorted things that tourists tend to buy while on vacation (post cards, memorabilia, etc.) along with some grocery type items. We bought several bottles of water for day trips at the store next door (40 Euro cents for a 1/2 litre).

Chech-In: We arrived at 11 in the morning and went straight to our room. We did arrive just before the high season started (Kids last day of school was 13 June) and the hotel was not yet at capicity.

Room: We had read that there are several types of rooms ranging from a standard double room and family room with a seperate sleeping room in the main hotel to bungalows. We stayed in a small bungalow with one bed and one fold out couch that could sleep two. Our room was very clean and meet all of our needs. Our Bungalow was midway between the main hotel and the beach in a great location next to the kids pool.

Food: Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Always something good to find and the staff was incredibly polite and hard working. Mr. Takis, the head waiter, was always helpful and went out of his way everyday to be helpful. Also, eat at least one dinner at the beach. The food is good and you can't beat the view. Finally, my kids thought that the availability of ice cream all day was a pretty sweet deal.

Bar: A good selection of drinks included in the all inclusive plan. The beer is pretty good and the wine wasn't too bad either.

Pools: A great big plus for the hotel. The main pool area has a large and a smaller kids area. There is also a kids pool and a larger pool with small water slides and one large water slide. We spent hours at the pools and since the area is so large it never seems crowded.

Beach: The beach is fairly small. The beach starts out as sand for about 30 meters and then turns to small stones as you get nearer the water. You most definatly need shoes for the Sea. The sand was ok, however, we had problems trying to build sandcastles due to the dryness of the sand. There were 25-30 umbrellas and probably twice as many chairs.

Animation: The animation team was active and a lot of fun. They spoke several languages (German, English and Polish). The team members were always activly recruiting kids to participate in the club. Both of our kids spent several with the kids club. Sporting activities were basically water polo, soccer, and beach volleyballl. There is a basketball court and a ball available, but noone plays. There also a fairly nice tennis court.

Summary: This is a GREAT family hotel! We don't recommend this hotel for couples as it is set up 100% for families. We had a great time and would go back in a heart beat! The staff was very accomodating even when we requested a late check out due to a late flight (2030). For 25 Euro they gave us another room to spend the day in.

Room Tip: Get a Bungalow next to the pool or go with the rooms with the upstairs loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Militaryfamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Just came back from two weeks holiday at Alex Beach. My general opinion the hotel is ok, but not exceptional. Below some more specific remarks:

Location:
The hotel is located in a small village of Theologos (also referred as Tholos). Apart from Alex Beach there are 2-3 more hotels and a few shops in the village, so it is quite calm and quiet. On the other hand, nowhere to go for a walk. There is a very good bus transport to Rhodes Town – it takes about 50 minutes to get there, buses are timely and reliable, but sometimes crowded. Hotel is only 15 minutes by car/bus from the airport, which means planes are close and it may get noisy from time to time (It was not bothersome to me).
The hotel is at the sea, with the direct access to its own beach (not obvious on Rhodes). The beach is about 250 meters from the main building, and it is even closer from the bungalows located in the garden.

Rooms:
Reasonable size and kept clean. No complaints at all.

Food:
Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Sometimes repeatable, but usually there was something tasty to find. Mixture of Greek specialties (e.g. nice mousakas, disappointing gyros), Italian (pizza, pastas) and some international cuisine. It is worth to have one dinner in the grill restaurant at the beach, but mostly because of views and atmosphere, not food.

Swimming Pools:
Two fresh water swimming pools in the garden. Reasonable size of both of them, in the smaller one there are a few small slides for small kids and one bigger slide for older children and adults (photos attached). Definitely pools are strong side of Alex Beach.

Service:
Friendly and helpful staff at the reception as well as in restaurant and bars. The amenities are generally kept clean. The only problem I see is the sunbeds at the pools and on the beach. The crazy “reservation with towels” system, which makes you either get up at 7am in the morning and leave your towel on the sunbed, or you have no sunbed whatsoever.

Animation team:
The weak side (apart from the sunbeds) was for me the animation part. The hotel is advertised as a family friendly resort, so I assume the animation team is part of the package. Since vast majority of guests were German speaking (probably 80-90%), the animation program (including Kids Clubs) was in German only. Theoretically some of the animators were speaking English (one of them even some Polish) but in practice everything was for German speaking guests only. I believe bilingual service (including English) should not be such a big deal. Despite the language I generally believe the animation activities were quite boring and not very attractive.

My final opinion is the hotel is above average but not superb. Since it was not very expensive, I would agree it is value for money, particularly for the German speaking guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jacek_Polska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.4 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tholos
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nirvana Beach Hotel
Nirvana Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tholos
212 reviews
9.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Days Hotel
Happy Days Hotel
#6 of 9 in Tholos
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Beach Hotel

Address: Theologos, Tholos 851 06, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range: $107 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alex Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex Beach Hotel enjoys a unique location right in front of Theologos beach and very close to the well known Valley of the Butterflies in Rhodes.The complex features 2 restaurants, including one by the pool, and 3 bars including one on the beach. Children are entertained at the kid’s club offering organized daily activities and sports programme.The modern complex offers sea-view and mountain-view guestrooms and bungalows with furnished terrace surrounded by beautiful gardens. Each unit is well appointed and has daily towel and linen change.Guests can choose to swim in the beautiful waters of Theologos beach offering aqua aerobics, canoe and windsurfing, or in one of the 2 lagoon style swimming pools, offering children’s sections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alex Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing