We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not perfect”
Review of Alex Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alex Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Just came back from two weeks holiday at Alex Beach. My general opinion the hotel is ok, but not exceptional. Below some more specific remarks:

Location:
The hotel is located in a small village of Theologos (also referred as Tholos). Apart from Alex Beach there are 2-3 more hotels and a few shops in the village, so it is quite calm and quiet. On the other hand, nowhere to go for a walk. There is a very good bus transport to Rhodes Town – it takes about 50 minutes to get there, buses are timely and reliable, but sometimes crowded. Hotel is only 15 minutes by car/bus from the airport, which means planes are close and it may get noisy from time to time (It was not bothersome to me).
The hotel is at the sea, with the direct access to its own beach (not obvious on Rhodes). The beach is about 250 meters from the main building, and it is even closer from the bungalows located in the garden.

Rooms:
Reasonable size and kept clean. No complaints at all.

Food:
Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Sometimes repeatable, but usually there was something tasty to find. Mixture of Greek specialties (e.g. nice mousakas, disappointing gyros), Italian (pizza, pastas) and some international cuisine. It is worth to have one dinner in the grill restaurant at the beach, but mostly because of views and atmosphere, not food.

Swimming Pools:
Two fresh water swimming pools in the garden. Reasonable size of both of them, in the smaller one there are a few small slides for small kids and one bigger slide for older children and adults (photos attached). Definitely pools are strong side of Alex Beach.

Service:
Friendly and helpful staff at the reception as well as in restaurant and bars. The amenities are generally kept clean. The only problem I see is the sunbeds at the pools and on the beach. The crazy “reservation with towels” system, which makes you either get up at 7am in the morning and leave your towel on the sunbed, or you have no sunbed whatsoever.

Animation team:
The weak side (apart from the sunbeds) was for me the animation part. The hotel is advertised as a family friendly resort, so I assume the animation team is part of the package. Since vast majority of guests were German speaking (probably 80-90%), the animation program (including Kids Clubs) was in German only. Theoretically some of the animators were speaking English (one of them even some Polish) but in practice everything was for German speaking guests only. I believe bilingual service (including English) should not be such a big deal. Despite the language I generally believe the animation activities were quite boring and not very attractive.

My final opinion is the hotel is above average but not superb. Since it was not very expensive, I would agree it is value for money, particularly for the German speaking guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jacek_Polska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

Alex Beach is basically a family hotel, but for me proved to be a good option for accomodation near the aerport (I need to be in Rhodes aerport once every month). Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
3  Thank stratos_dousis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The hotel is just magnificent...very nice rooms...well equipped and very clean!!! We got to meet the family that owns the hotel....And I believe that this is the reason why this hotel, being so perfect!!!
Thank you again for a wonderful stay!! We will be seeing you very soon!!!
Regards!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PanosB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Our stay at Alex Beach Hotel was fabulous. Travelling with my boyfriend, Alex Beach was perfect for a romatic getaway. The staff were excellent; very friendly and helpful, they answered all our of questions and gave us some great suggestions too. The views were amazing - just what you need on holiday! And the rooms were great too; very clean and decorated beautifully. But by far the best part about the holiday was trying all the different and amazing greek food! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone, particularly those looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FerrisAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Great for small children. very good pool, slide, kinder garden, sandy beach with stons. A lot of shade in garden around the pool area.

Hotel is all inclusive (greek style). Food whas OK (nothing better than that).

Good animation for children 7 - 14 years. Kids Disco is good solution for evening out (bar for parents is near by).

Room s are small and not to beautiful. Take Bungallows by the Pool. Thats much nicer. Thay all have teraces in the garden in pool area.

Location of the Hotel is good. 10 minutes from airport, and some 30 minutes from Rhodos.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank xbo069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Manfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vorne Strasse, hinten Pool-Landschaft und Abendveranstaltung - lieber nach Vorne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.4 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tholos
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nirvana Beach Hotel
Nirvana Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tholos
212 reviews
9.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Days Hotel
Happy Days Hotel
#6 of 9 in Tholos
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Beach Hotel

Address: Theologos, Tholos 851 06, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range: $107 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alex Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex Beach Hotel enjoys a unique location right in front of Theologos beach and very close to the well known Valley of the Butterflies in Rhodes.The complex features 2 restaurants, including one by the pool, and 3 bars including one on the beach. Children are entertained at the kid’s club offering organized daily activities and sports programme.The modern complex offers sea-view and mountain-view guestrooms and bungalows with furnished terrace surrounded by beautiful gardens. Each unit is well appointed and has daily towel and linen change.Guests can choose to swim in the beautiful waters of Theologos beach offering aqua aerobics, canoe and windsurfing, or in one of the 2 lagoon style swimming pools, offering children’s sections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Alex Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing