We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pruneta di Sopra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pruneta di Sopra
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“Wonderfull place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Perfect for families (we were 4 adults + 7 children) with amazing garden! We had space for football and baseball games, garden aerobics lots of swimming etc. After the space, the next best thing was the pizza oven! We lid it almost every night and had most amazing pizzas. Great hosts, beautiful house, great running terrain, no complaints!

Weather was nice: light breeze, sometimes clouds and therefore not too hot (especially for children).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamillaTuominen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Gorgeous, secluded Tuscan villa with all the ingredients needed for a wonderful holiday: beautiful mountain views; huge garden; swimming pool; open fire; wood burning pizza oven and barbecue. Go with friends or family and you'll hard pushed not to have a fabulous time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at this villa in May 2013 to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary and we were not disappointed. From the moment we met Alessandro and Fabrizio who greeted us after a long days driving, we felt very at home. The villa and grounds are stunning and the website is a true reflection. It was so peaceful and relaxing. When you arrive back at the villa after visiting local attractions, it is a haven. We loved talking to our hosts about the history of Pruneta and the area. We used every facility within the villa especially the pizza oven. Every aspect of Pruneta has been well designed and planned. We felt that we dreamed for the week that this was actually our house! The views of the mountains and all areas were outstanding. We are already planning our next visit and feel very pleased that Pruneta shared our special anniversary with lots of lovely memories and pictures to cherish forever. Alessandro and Fabrizio were perfect hosts ensuring we had the best stay possible. Every aspect of the villa and the grounds oozes quality and was a complete dream house for us.

Room Tip: Use the local supermarket at the bottom of the hill, reasonable prices and supporting the local econ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banners_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This could be a very short review – Pruneta di Sopra is exactly as it appears and far more. It is the place you want to rent. It is beautiful. It is tranquil. It is comfortable. The scenery is stunning.
The location is perfect. The days in Northern Tuscany are hot, but being a little way up in the mountains means the nights are just right.

The property is reached up a twisting track, you are not overlooked by any neighbours – at night you can see the lights of the village but hear nothing – utter peace. The distance between the two parts of the property ensure privacy whilst being close enough to shout hello. Good for getting away from the noisy element of the family!

The entertaining areas have superb views over the mountains, and the Milky Way makes an appearance most evenings. Citronella candles are a must on an evening to keep away buzzy things. Buy a load locally in the town.

The pool is cool enough to refresh when you jump in, but warm enough to spend all day in.

The pizza oven is brilliant – easy to use and a fun night to cook pizzas at home, but keep an eye on them as they cook in a flash (burnt foccacia second time around – too much Chianti perhaps?).

No air-conditioning? No problem - the house is cool during the day (and the days were 38 degrees for the week we spent there). The fans in the rooms are enough.

Do get Marco to come cook for you – genuinely a very nice chap, a great cook and good, fun company. Responds well to Barolo. A memorable night to be had.

For those with young children:

The distance from the house meant our two year old and three year old were not near the pool when not with an adult. The entertaining areas face away from the pool, so temptation isn’t there for them when not in the pool. The distance gives you enough time to catch potential escapees. You will love the sheer space they have to run around in while remaining in sight.

Recommend taking a baby gate for the top of the stairs if you can. Take plastic plates / cups / bowls. The highchair is good quality.

For Cooks:

Everything you need is there to get by, but you may like a good kitchen knife.

ENSURE EVERYONE PRESSES SHUT FIRMLY THE FRIDGE DOOR – we didn’t first day and couldn’t work out why it wasn’t chilling food. Our bad... but easy to do.

The big supermarket in Gallicano on the Lucca road has everything for everyone, from scratch cooking, butchers, bakery, food and non-food. It’s around 10 minutes drive to the south.

Things to do:

Go spend a few hours is Castelnuovo – an unpretentious, untouristy Tuscan town. Stop in the centre and eat with the locals. Charming, cheap and very good food. Not much up at the Fortezza, but worth a drive up to see the views.

Lucca is about 50 mins south. Stunning and worth a day out. Florence takes 1.45mins on the train from Lucca – the best way to get there apparently, but the train is hot and the aircon didn’t really make a difference. Molto caldo. Might explain the atomic tantrum our three year old threw on the Pointe Vecchio...

For history lovers, read up on this area during World War Two. The Gothic Line of fortifications pass through Borgo a Mozzano on the road to Lucca. Worth a look at the remaining tank obstacles and the museum.

Alessandro and Fabrizio are welcoming, helpful, charming and genuinely interested in you being comfortable and happy, though remain unobtrusive. Spend an hour talking to Fabrizio – he grew up in Castelnuovo and is passionate about the area and its history. Fascinating, warm and a real gentlemen.

I said at the start this could be a short review – however in writing these words for Pruneta it is easy to become expansive, the place really, really did deliver a quality experience for the six of us. Four chilled out, relaxed adults and two very happy, tired kids.

Go – it will deliver what you hope it might.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stelladave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in the villa at the end of July 2012. We were warmly welcomed with cake and Proseco. Alessandro and his father explained how appliances worked. We had a party of 6 adults. The grounds are very impressive. The villa is a great size, clean, well stocked kitchen. Pleanty of hot water for showers. The real wow factor are the grounds, views and infinity pool . Make sure you take clear inflatables for the pool as colour inflatables mark the pool for the next guests. We had some fantastic evenings using the BBQ and pizza overn, allow at least 2 hours for the pizza overn to heat up. The tools for cooking the pizzas are supplied. My Son and his partner stayed in the Dependance and loved it. There is a fridge and kettle within this smaller villa.

We travelled to Lucca and Castelnuovo, and visited some very high villages in the mountains. It was hard to pull ourselves away from Pruneta.

Take your own dishwasher tablets so you dont have to buy a large pack when you are out there. There are plenty of supermarkets on the way to the villa, and a large Conad in the main Castelnuovo area. The Conad can supply you with all you will need for your cooking needs. Get a few citronella candles for outside. We took mosquitoe spray and got very few bites.

We really loved our stay, and were very sorry to leave. We will definitely go back. Thank you Alessandro and your father for a wonderful time.

Lynne B,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a great week at Pruneta di Sopra (with 4 adults and two small children)! It was a beautiful and tranquil setting for a relaxing holiday. The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful. The house was very comfortable with a well-equipped kitchen.

Castelnuovo di Garfagnana is a very pretty town with an excellent selection of ice-cream shops (we sampled most of them).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Pruneta di Sopra was the perfect setting for a family reunion as we came together from New Zealand, Germany and England. The house and dependence gave us plenty of space for 6 adults and a toddler. The wood fired pizza oven inspired us to have a pizza making competition which was lots of fun. Marco, from Slow Food, cooked us the most delicious meal at the house one evening and I would recommend that you try his cuisine. The scenery is majestic and there are quite a few walks that start from the grounds and take you further up into the hills. We walked into Castelnouvo di Garfagnana along the footpath marked with the red and white sign on market day. The owners are very attentive. This is a wonderful place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelnuovo di Garfagnana hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Bertagni
Villa Bertagni
#1 of 7 in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.5 mi away
Agriturismo Pra' di Reto
Agriturismo Pra' di Reto
#2 of 9 in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Lanterna
La Lanterna
#2 of 7 in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Barchetta
La Barchetta
#6 of 7 in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Marquee Hotel
The Marquee Hotel
#3 of 7 in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Venturo
Agriturismo Venturo
#4 of 7 in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pruneta di Sopra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pruneta di Sopra

Property: Pruneta di Sopra
Address: Torrite, Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Pruneta Di Sopra Italy/Castelnuovo Di Garfagnana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing