We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Relaxing Place”
Review of Yao Yai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yao Yai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Relaxing Place”
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We spent a very relaxing two weeks at the resort and had a wonderful time. The beach is beautiful and very untouched with this being the only resort on it - a real treat if you just want to get away from it all. We stayed in a fan bungalow which was nice and the service and food were excellent.

  • Liked — Proximity to beach
  • Disliked — The neighbours
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    17
    15
    19
See reviews for
25
66
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed here for three fantastic day. This is the place to go if you want to relax. This is the only resort on this beach wich means you can have the whole beach for yourself :-)

Tip of the day: Try the fishing on the pier with the locals.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynameisnilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leon, Texas USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We saw Yao Yai Island from Ao Nang at the Happy Beach Bar and decided to go to the island. We found Yao Yai Resort on the internet, called them and the adventure began the next morning. We intended to stay only two days but ended up staying for 6 days. It was the best Thai food to be found, the coconut soup is to die for, the owner is very friendly, the bungalow was wonderful and the sunsets are not to be missed. The beach is the best because the water never goes away and go to the bakery for some fresh baked bread and coffee. Take scooter rides around the island and meet some of the people and take the longtail boat to islands for snorkeling. If you want peace and quiet this is the place for you. I will always remember my days at the Yao Yai Beach Resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanleonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We had a wonderful stay of 4 days in one of the aircon bungalows just in front of the beach. The bungalows are simple, but clean. The restaurant has a very good cook; Lovely Thai’s food for a very good price. The owner; Han helped us in any way to enjoy our stay. The rest of the staff is also very friendly and helpful. We made two excursions with the long tail boat of the resort to the nearby beautiful islands. There was hardly any tourist. We were afraid to have a lot of rain, but the island seems to have a micro clima and we had good weather every day. The island is Thailand 25 years ago; really beautiful, unspoiled with very friendly habitants. The excursion on a motorbike, through the island is an exceptional, wonderful experience. The resort hires motorbikes for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We have been there Oct 2008 for 3D2N stay. Their Dutch boss is a very nice and cheerful guy. Nice for short stays, friendly staff, resort is quite a remote area travel from jetty and not many inhouse activities. Most of the time during our stay the type of food in their menu are not available 8-(
My friend's room, the tap water was running very slow and not strong as ours. Their air-con seemed not cold enough and sometimes stopped by itself.

But overall is a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alamaklor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed at this "resort" for 2 nights, though we had booked 3, during the end of April. We had very conflicted emotions about this place. Most of all, we wish we had been given some more information before booking. Most of the negative reviews on this site were written in German (which we don't speak), so we didn't get the full story.

When we first arrived we found there was only one other bungalow occupied in the entire "resort". Our bungalow was charming--wood plank floors and hand painted yellow walls. We hoped for the best. The price was decent--not cheap but there was a special offered; pay for 2 nights, get 3. What we soon found out is that unless you bring a motorbike over with you or pay 400 baht/day for one at the resort (2x the price on Phuket) you will be stuck eating and doing everything at and through the "resort".

The room itself was traditional Thai style which was cute. It wasn't sealed off, however, and there was no mosquito net in our bungalow, so despite blasting the A/C to try to discourage creepy crawlies from entering our domain, we were both bitten to death during our 2 nights. There was also no hot water, which wasn't a big deal given the heat, but for 2400 baht per night, you usually get at least a small individual water heater in your shower. It was the insect bites that ultimately led us to leave a day early and go to a hotel in Phuket town where we knew we could get a hot shower before our long journey back to the U.S.

The restaurant food was pretty good to start off. Being small and isolated and having few guests, though, by our last night there the ingredients did not seem very fresh--the prawns were a bit meally and we wondered how long it had been since they had gotten a delivery (we didn't observe any during our stay). Not to mention, we were stuck eating there as there was nothing in reasonable walking distance of the "resort" and we weren't really comfortable riding motorbikes around after dark. In responding to a prior review, I think these are the "extras" complained of. I wouldn't really consider them "extras" except that the circumstances aren't explained to you anywhere before you get to the resort, and then it's too late to change your mind. Also, drinkers should note that it's a Muslim (dry) island, so unless you brought your own (and there are no refrigerators in the rooms) you will have to pay the "resort"'s marked-up prices for alcohol.

The excursions were not cheap and were not any more interesting than those that can be booked directly from any of the tour offices that abound the whole of Phuket. All the beaches we visited on our tour of Phang Nga were infested with tourists who arrived mostly on huge power boats, some with show-off drivers. This was not the natural environment I had hoped to explore during my trip, particularly when I had specifically booked a resort on a scarcely inhabited island as my jumping off point.

If you are looking for solitude on a mostly deserted beach in a rustic setting, this could be the place for you, so long as you book when there are few or no other guests and you are happy dropping lots of cash at the "resort" and doing nothing. The other disconcerting thing about this resort is that there are MANY bungalows and they are close together. Us and the one other inhabited bungalow on our first night was quaint, but when two more filled up on our second night it was outright crowded. The newcomer's screaming children could be heard throughout the resort. There were at least 15 more bungalows positioned right on top of one another that remained empty. I can't begin to imagine how unpleasant this place must be when they are all full.

Also, if you have read other reviews complaining about the beach you should know that during high tide there is about 6 feet of beach. During low tide, however, it is wide and long and there is a great length to explore, though you will have to share it with several thousand ghost crabs. The beach was a bit trashy during our stay--we were told that the wind patterns during this time bring trash on to the beach. I would note that we saw people on the ferry throwing all their trash in the water. With the huge population of the area treating their waters like this, I wouldn't be surprised if the area is irreparably trashed, and it's just another one of those places that you really should have seen at least 15 years ago. We actually asked for a bag so we could pick up broken glass and trash from about the beach and I think this was embarassing to the employees. I'm sorry if we embarassed them, but where I come from we don't leave trash strewn about, particularly if it is potentially dangerous to barefoot beachgoers.

We met the owner who was nice enough, but our impression was that he built the resort so that he could hang out on the beach in a hammock for most of the rest of his life. He didn't seem overly interested in the resort in general, didn't give any helpful advice on exploring the rest of the island, and was generally ambivalent. This is reflected in the fact that there is no staff available until 8:00 a.m. which is inconvenient given the ferry back to Phuket leaves at that time, and then not again until 2:00 p.m. Right before we left we discovered kayaks available that no one had bothered to tell us about. Still don't know if they were included or "extra".

Our neighbors when we arrived enjoyed the resort very much as it was a far cry from the crowded beaches on Phuket. We understood where they were coming from, but felt a bit ripped off by this place, so we can't be as enthusiastic about it. If we expected to be bitten to death by insects, we happily would have camped somewhere even more rustic. But we actually paid the highest nightly rate of any of the places we stayed on our entire vacation for this privilege, and we were forced to pay inflated rates for eating our meals at this place to boot. It was neither our idea of a Robinson Crusoe-type getaway nor anywhere near our idea of a true resort. We went back to Phuket town a day early and got 2 1/2 hour spa treatments for less than the price we paid for one night at this resort.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mullydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Yao Yai hotels

Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

On arriving at this resort we were surprised that the beach was absolutely full of jelly fish and extremely rocky. It is therefore not suitable for swimming or young children. The rooms are extremely small and the bathroom is very poor. The guy who runs the place does not seem very interested, he is more interested in swinging in his hammock all day. The food is ok, but they charge you like a wounded bull. You are better off going just down the road to Heimat Guest House and restaurant, here you will find the majority of yaoyai resorts guests. The resort seems to make their money from the sailing boat tours that stop off here. If you going to rent a bike just rent it down the road, because once again they will charge you like a wounded bull. I feel there is a lot much better places on the island and can honestly say Yaoyai resort needs to have a good look at itself otherwise it will be struggling to attract anyone in the near future.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lightyear40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
4.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Baan Taranya Resort
Baan Taranya Resort
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
14.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
10.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yao Yai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yao Yai Resort

Property: Yao Yai Resort
Address: 80/8-12 Moo 7, Ko Yao Yai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yao Yai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yao Yai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yao Yai Hotel Phang Nga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing