We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, BUT....”
Review of Yao Yai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yao Yai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, BUT....”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Interesting place that could use a new owner and hire a manager to actually run this piece of paradise. The staff did the best and tried hard to please guests. The WIFI was down most of our stay and the walkway / entrance to the resort was tricky. Our bungalow was clean and small, was told they had "HOT" water showers, not true. Awesome views and very nice beach, next door to a very, very high end resort. We found the locals to be not so nice or friendly.

Room Tip: I am pretty sure that all of the bungalows are the same, rustic Thai originals with some updating. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetuniaandHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    17
    15
    19
See reviews for
25
66
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I could not resist to visit this place again, how could i?, Yao Yai Resort offers beautiful accommodations right on the beach, Good food and relaxed atmosphere. Natural and secluded, its a place to come to your senses and be one with the nature. The newly build restaurant truly extends its panoramic views and right on the beach to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpha-Testers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

If there is any reason for one to come to the resort it should its view as the location,as it's to die for. The resort lacks a manager, the guy that runs it never seems bothered with managing the resort,He is rude to
customers and this to rub on to some of the staff, that said some of the staff are lovely.
The rooms are dated and the shower cold especially in the mornings. The food is overpriced and not the best compared to the nearby local restaurants especially zulfeeh.
The Island quite not yet overcrowded and is simply
gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cissa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed for a week and grew to like the place.
Cold showers are not my thing . The oddities like cling film over the light switch to protect it from the leaks were amusing.
The staff work horribly long days but remain polite and friendly.
The place could do with a bit of tlc, but we liked it . Take mosquito repellent with you .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

They have a new restaurant now, boot shaped, with an roof terrace overlooking the bay, amazing view. good food. Getting better all the time. They are planning to go green and growing their own vegetables now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alpha-Testers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have been living in Thailand for 6 months and this is the first time I have had a rat in my room. We were initially kept awake by the sounds of rats in the walls. When we spoke to the manager he said that it was natural given we were staying near the beach and asked if a rat had surfaced through the bathroom drain. The staff were extremely helpful and combated this problem with fly spray. The location is beautiful and as noted in previous reviews the food was of a high standard and staff friendly. The excursions were expensive. We were told that it would cost us £70 pp to see three island. We were able to do this for £20 pp with the locals. If you are looking for a quiet location and basic standards this is a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Yao Yai hotels

Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

we come here each and every year, and it's getting only better. food and drink prices are 3 times less then their neighbor. Just go to booking.com to see real reviews from people who actually went there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
4.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Baan Taranya Resort
Baan Taranya Resort
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
14.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
10.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yao Yai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yao Yai Resort

Property: Yao Yai Resort
Address: 80/8-12 Moo 7, Ko Yao Yai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yao Yai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yao Yai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yao Yai Hotel Phang Nga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing