We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$71
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
41
54
21
17
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
41
54
21
17
27
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 160 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This resort is amazing!!! but only if you like to sleep or rest, enjoy the sun and eat. When i was backpacking with a friend, we found this resort on the internet. It is difficult to reach via the mainland..the harbour is not easy to be found, especially not by the tuk tuk driver..it takes some time..

The view and the beach are amazing, also the resort itself is very cozy. It is not a 5 star resort, but definetely 3 stars. The food in the restaurant is excellent, a lot of choices, despite the fact that this resort is quite far away from 'civilization'.
The rooms were nice, spacious. But you don't need much if you are there...you are most of the time outdoors! It is a beautifull island.

We booked a tour, from the reception of the hotel, which was arranged very well! We saw beautifull islands and also visited a village at Koh Yao Yai. I recommend this.
Another recommendation would be to hire a scooter for a day or two, to explore the island.

Don't expect bars,restaurants jewelry or clothing shops/markets like in phuket f.e... It is a island without mass tourism! So it is not the place to be for young people who like to party, but a place to rest, relax and sleep and enjoy the sun.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MargitvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

One week into our fantastic Thai voyage, we were looking forward to kicking back on an Island paradise, and being treated like royalty for a change. We'd been through Bangkok, and slept on a bamboo raft in Khao Sok, and in the forests of the National park, so looked forward to a bit of pampering.
The transfers were brilliant from Arts Lodge to AoNang to Koh Yao, and we arrived smoothly, and were met by a fantastic meet and greet local. (great guy).
We arrived at Yaoyai Resort, and our two young girls said "wow, this gets better and better".
The rooms are great.
They weren't so keen on the liquidized Watermelon as a welcome drink, but they can be fussy.
(Turns out that if you arrive at the same time as the Khiri Travel Assessor is there you get an Ice-cream cocktail upon arrival!!)

The rooms are lovely, and we opted for the A/C option, having cooked in the jungle they were well received. It was so hot, we fancied a little beer. 100Baht, from the mini-bar!? for a small can, we opted to go to the bar for one instead. Same price. (£2.30 for a 33cl tin) Might not sound like much, but the most we had paid for a Chang was 40Baht tin, 50Baht small bottle, 90Baht for a huge bottle. they told us it was because of the floods in Bangkok!
Top tip for those of you who like a beer; if you have to stay here then fill your rucksacks, or go to Heimat resort up the road and get them for 50Baht a tin!

Looking forward to dinner! Typical Thai chaos with the ordering and timelines of food arrival. To be honest, we didn't really care by now, we expected it. It had become a running joke that my 7year olds food was always last, and sure enough it was to be once more. Opting for the Pad Thai, at 190Baht (110 Baht in all other restaurants, 30 Baht on the street) it was bound to be good. It arrived as we were cleaning our plates, and was awful. gloopy and sickly.
The food here was at best average, but the prices were the highest we paid over our two week trip. Average Main 220Baht before rice, and with a beer or two, you are looking at around £10 a head (vs £5 elsewhere)

Onto breakfast. this makes me laugh every time I think about it.
On their leaflets they state "Big Breakfast included".
Turns out you can have EITHER Eggs on toast with Coffee or Juice; OR fruit plate OR Porridge with chicken OR Cereal.
We all went for the Eggs on Toast and Orange juice, and I had the cheek to ask for a coffee as well.
I didn't realise I was being cheeky until 3 full glasses of orange juice arrived, and one half one; accompanied by a half a cup of coffee! I genuinely couldn't believe it. I thought it might be a one off, but no.
We bumped into some friends we had made from earlier excursions here, and we had a get together on our last night. we all had dinner (10 of us) and a few beers, but they cut this short at 10.15pm, as the staff wanted to go home, and they switched the lights off.

The beach here is gorgeous at first glance, but as some of the earlier reviewers have mentioned, it is littered with glass - be careful.
also, if you are taking out one of the complimentary kayaks, don't go more than 20metres; they sink!
To the right there is an 80 bedroom luxury resort being built, and the owner is in constant legal wrangles with them, and he feels this will be a massive threat to his business.
The biggest threat to the Yaoyai Resort is within it's core, and easy to fix if they can be bothered.
Make your guests feel welcome, cook a good meal, and don't take advantage of them with prices. You have the rooms here that are of a lovely standard, but the service is a big "AVOID" from me. Particularly having spent 6000Baht on food and drink over three nights, and then being charged an additional 3% for using my visa debit card to pay for it!

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peely22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in May with great weather and only one very short thunderstorm (May starts the "low season".) We ended up in the air-con. bungalow (free upgrade) as these are located farther away from the construction taking place on the north end of the property. The fan only bungalows are closest to the construction (a high-end resort from Koh Phangnga). This place has about 20 bungalows in all, run by Han, a very nice man. The interior of the air-con. bungalow was well-appointed, comfortable, newish, clean, with refrig. and electric hot water heater for tea/coffee. The bathroom was nice, but no hot water for shower. Frankly, you don't need hot water, and we did not mind at all. There was space on the floor for an extra mattress which we needed traveling with 2 small children. The beach itself is about 700 meters long, with the water at high tide about 2-3 meters from the property cement wall. Low tide gives you about 10 meters more beach. Other reviews give you the impression there is "nothing else" on this island which is not true. There are 9,000 local people living on Koh Yao Yai, in 7 villages, mostly fishermen and rubber plantation workers. While we found the room and location excellent (for this price range), we found the food just o.k. to bad. However, there are at least 3 other restaurants/shops right in the connecting village to eat at, so you are not "stuck" eating here if you do not want to. This island has a very nice feel to it - a world apart from Phuket or Railay Beach in Krabi. This island is mostly local people who are very friendly. We rented a long tail boat for the day from a local man from the village for 1500 baht (round trip) to go to Koh Khai, about a 30-min. boat ride away. All in all, we had a good experience, liked the room, loved the beach and this island, but would recommend eating elsewhere for at least some of your meals.

Room tip: Ask for bungalow closest to the beach
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights during the slow season. First off, we had the exact same problem with the cost of getting to the motel. I say motel because this is not a Resort. We were told that if we paid extra for a speed boat, we would get a discount when we arrived at the resort for arranging our own boat. Not true! As soon as we showed up, they lied and said that they never promised us anything. The worst part was that we had a friend with us that is fluent in Thai and English. They blatantly told her one thing and didn't deliver. The manager was, exactly as described in the other review - uninterested in service or our happiness. The rest of the staff was similarly stand-off-ish and at times plain rude and uninterested in helping us out.

The bed was like an afterthought. There was a huge hole in the middle, right where you try to sleep, that you fall into. There were many insects and geckos crawling around everywhere.

This island has problems with the power grid - the power went out every single day we were there - think NO AIR CONDITIONING in Thailand while the power is out.

There are two other resorts on this island that are cheaper and WAY nicer. If you're looking for no frills, there is a cheaper place across the island. If you're looking for a resort, there is one for slightly more (like a few of dollars a night, or about 200 bat a night!) on the other side of the island.

The beach at this resort has broken glass everywhere! Every single day, I would pick up shards of glass and broken bottles from the beach and bring it to the staff as a sort of HINT that they should clean up the beach. They were ambivalent and looked at me like I was crazy for trying to save other people's feet (I cut mine on the first day).

I could go into more detail, but I will leave it alone.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We just left Yao Yai resort yesterday and we are already missing its sunsets, food, tranquility, views, etc.....
I found this hotel on the internet and didn't get much information about the island so we weren't sure if we were right when choosing it because it seemed that there was not much to do around. It was our honeymoon and didn't want to fail, but all we can say is that our stay was simply perfect. On the other hand we saw some comments here saying that service is horrible, rooms are old, and food too but this is not true at all. There must be someone who wants to jeopardize this business because otherwise there is not another logical explanation.
Han(the owner) and Mac(a friend of Han) were really helpful and the local people that work at this small hotel were really nice. Food was just perfect and the tours organised by Yao Yai resort were great.
We also rented a motorbike at the hotel and rode it around the island. It is a paradise almost still not too developped. Hopefully it will continue this way as the local people are very friendly and cannot describe how beautiful is nature there:there are monkeys, lizzards, vats,....and we went also snorkeling around with plenty of fishes.

As a a summary we could say that we wish we could have more money to come back again from Spain in the future. We felt like in paradise

Thanks Han and all your staff for making our honeymoon unforgetable!!!

Miguel and Itziar

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank macos1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews