We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenon Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

meet a friendly staff at the speed boat pier, he willing to helpful all guest. First impression when arrived at the resort, great landscape, pure shore and feeling fresh with a view. delicious food at the main restaurant : ))

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yongyuth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,701 - 1,707 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hideaway Heaven..

30 min taxi ride, 20 min boat ride and a 2 min walk along the pier... and there we were, hideaway heaven! The resort is as close to nature as you will ever get, with majority of the resort being built with teak wood, down to the tiny details of lampshades, shampoo labels etc, At the same time you are surrounded by the ocean, trees and beautiful sunset. The unique traditional thai design of Santhiya is a refreshing addition to hotels/villas around Thailand, with so many of them opting for modern/sleek/contemporary design. This was something new and something different... and I am so glad I had a chance to experience it!

We stayed in a pool villa, only a short 'tuktuk' style buggy ride away. Up and down, along the windy road the friendly driver would take us. You could call reception when you needed a ride and they would send someone in less than 5 mins. Ive read some reviews below about how people disliked the ride, but for me it was all part of the experience, and I loved it!

The service at the hotel was exceptional, with friendly staff that spoke very good english. Especially the young lady that showed us to the room and explained everything to us. We also enjoyed their spa, and indulged in 2 massages in one day! On the second day we did nothing but laid by the beach and swam in our pool. It was the most relaxing 2 days ever and we wished we had saved this for the last leg of our holiday!

The room had a breathtaking view that looked out to the ocean so you could lie on your bed and watch the sunset. Beside from that, the villa was spacious and came with a separate living area and our own private pool and an outdoor shower and bathtub! Housekeeping was done everyday and not touched when we wanted our privacy

The overall resort is very calm during the day and evenings and we loved every bit of our experience here! Perfect for relaxing and just escaping the hustle and bustle of city living. We will be back to Santhiya!!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms with an ocean view! You don't want to miss the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful time at the resort. But the resort is far away Patong Puuket. We didn't book the resort pick up speedboat (1500THB/person). We have to take the Taxi to the Pier -- change the boat to Kao Yao Yai Pier -- taxi to the resort. The Wooden Design Style is wonderful all of the resort. Room is very big and beautiful. All the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: the sea view room is better than the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afromeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had an fantastic stay in a beautiful villa, and the resort had great views, nice beach, friendly staff and good amenities. The only issues we had were with service...particularly in the dining setting. We understand this is largely due to locals being employed who are not necessarily trained to a higher standard....although we did like that they provide work for the locals. However there were a few inefficiencies that started to become a little frustrating.
All around it was a fantastic stay and we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucymnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This place is terrible. It looks wonderful in pictures, but in real life it's another story.

According to a local newspaper article, the resort was built for Chinese tour groups. We had a view of a muddy swamp and there was sawdust and construction debris in the room and balcony. Many areas were still construction sites during our stay. The whole place has rough finishes, and it all seems to have been thrown together very quickly.

The resort is built on steep hills and anything you do outside your room involves being picked up and returned by pickup trucks with benches in the back, which endlessly groan and grind up the hills. The trucks are painted faux wood and the ride is very bumpy.

But the worst part is that the staff is inexperienced and untrained for a luxury level service, although the hotel is happy to charge for it. Most of the staff doesn't speak an iota of English, and even many of the staff working the front desk or answering the phones will not understand you.

I finally asked if it was possible to leave 2 days early without penalty, which the front desk assured me was no problem. On checkout they changed their story and insisted on charging me for the two days - after I had booked flights and made other hotel arrangements.

Stay far away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mono-octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukomol, Deputy Managing Director at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Mr. Mono,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa – Traditional Thai-style luxury beach resort on tropical island.

First of all thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays recently.

We have been told that you were sick during your holidays and now are very pleased to hear from you and hope that you well recover from your sickness.

Please allow me to correct the local article News, according to local newspaper article NOT Santhiya Resort & Spa built for chinese tour groups, the other property where is 700 meter away from our hotel , is built for Chinese tour groups while Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa’s main market comes from European & US market 90% with 10% is couple & honeymooners from Asia such as Korea, Japanese.

According to your booking conditions which are not able to refund because you booked under NON REFUNDABLE plan which is was almost half of real price and we did well inform you about it before your departure with us, according to front office, the question was - can you leave before your original departure and our team reply you yes without any talk about refund and this question you asked us upon your arrival without any complaint according to your flight plan which means no complaints about any issue of construction or any other issue, you can book with us under easy cancellation on your next future trip so if there is any issue about flight and any other reason we be happy to support you valued guests.

Mr. Mono, we are very pleased to inform you on coming April 2014, we going to complete our deluxe rooms and Spa village and when you will come next time in near future, you will fully enjoy our all facilities.

Once again thank you very much to select Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa on your recent holidays and looking forward to see you again to warm welcome you to our gracious hospitality.

Truly yours,

Danny K Sukomol
Deputy Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

What an amazing hotel. Went there on honeymoon and this did not fail to impress. The pick up boat from Phuket was excellent, they provide free beverages and staff are courteous. There is a free pick up/drop off service from your room to reception area. The chefs catered very well for vegetarians and allergy requirements. All the staff are very friendly, though some are not well versed in English. The spa is also really nice if you are looking to use that. We had a private pool and this was overlooking the sea, a fantastic view to wake up to in the morning. Villas are excellent and clean. The bathroom is half open (without a roof, so mosquitos and flies can be a nuisance, but they are impossible to get rid off). We had a lovely stay there for 2 nights. Would definitely recommend this quiet place. Beaches are clean and quiet too. They provide free cycle hire which you can use to go around the island aswell.

Room Tip: Get the room with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kartikshah456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

After having spent a couple of days in the Santhiya Resort on Koh Phangan 3 years ago, we decided to spend our vacation this year in the new Santhiya Resort on Koh Yao Yai. We enjoyed a wonderful time at the resort. At the end of our 14-day stay it was hard to leave this great place. We stayed in a Superior Deluxe Room at the top of the mountain with a nice view on the sea. Everything in the room is made of teak wood with great attention to details. The people working in the resort are so friendly and always have a smile for you. They really make you feel welcome. Food is delicious and the fact that sometimes it takes some time until you get what you ordered is easily compensated by the overwhelming friendliness of the waiters. I´m sure they will learn and improve over the coming months. We can recommend this resort in every aspect and we are sure we will return soon. Thanks to Danny and his whole team!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
4.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
872 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel
Cape Kudu Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
220 reviews
10.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#1 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
393 reviews
4 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
506 reviews
10.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa

Address: 88 Moo 7 | Prunai Subdistrict, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range: $108 - $841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing