We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go now before the prices rise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Mitch1978
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Go now before the prices rise”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a week at Santhiya in December and came away with a highly favourable impression. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, luxurious and low-key time in Thailand, but if you're after a party then go elsewhere.

Firstly, I find some of the other reviews here a little odd - you genuinely cannot complain about a resort because you got three mosquito bites and the private speedboat only runs twice a day so you had to get a ferry, it's ridiculous. We actually found the mozzie level to be very, very low vs the rest of Thailand, and used both the public ferry from Ao Nang (fun, Santhiya picked us up from the pier on Ko Yao and we saw some of he island on the way to he hotel) and the private hotel speedboat to Phuket (v James Bond, especially as we were the only guests). But anyway, ridiculous.

The resort itself is stunning; picture-perfect beach; a beautiful pool area which was mainly empty and fantastic pool-villa rooms, very luxurious with astonishing views. We were travelling with our one-year old daughter and Santhiya was the best place we stayed for her - she loved the villa pool, there was loads of room inside and out to crawl around, in the day she could snooze in the villa whilst we sunbathed, and at night the separate living area meant she could sleep soundly whilst we could read or whatever. The staff were all amazing - taking a baby to Thailand is huge fun anyway but the guys at Santhiya were especially friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they even upgraded us to one of the biggest villas. Our baby left having been utterly spoiled. to be clear though, this is not a kids place - there was the odd other child but it's mainly a quiet adults resort. The food was fantastic, a wide mix of western and Thai options, the latter of which were a bit too westernised for my taste but they happily spiced up to Thai levels on request so was no problem, I still think about the spicy prawn and lemongrass salad!

Is there anything negative to say? The resort is not yet finished, with the non pool villa rooms due to complete in early 2014. The spa is also not yet built (they use a villa currently). In our view these were no bad thing though, as there was zero construction noise and the resort will no doubt be busier when the other rooms complete. I also think prices will rise when the hotel is finished - current rates for a pool villa room in such easy reach of Phuket are great value and can only rise. I guess some parts of the service were a little slow for a five star hotel, water and wine sometimes took a while to arrive for example, but this was very minor. As above, we found the service in general to be fantastic.

Overall we loved both Santhiya and Ko Yao Yai, the hotel is beautiful and great value and the island is an as-yet undeveloped rural slice of old Thailand. Given the location this is unlikely to last long, so I'd recommend getting to Santhiya as soon as possible

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukomol, Deputy Managing Director at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Mitch1978,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa - Traditional Thai Style luxury beach resort on tropical Island!

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we’re very glad to learn that you have had a great holidays staying with us. We normally keep managing fumigation twice a week to ensure the minimal number of mosquitoes in the hotel where is set a midst the tropical environment.

We offer various optional mode of transportation, land and sea, with flexible private speed boat to meet guests requirement.

Our property is actually idol or a couple but same time we welcome a family with young kid and a few activities to do on the local Island with echo atmosphere.

The hotel is just 1 year old and happy to share you that our Spa will be completed in service by this coming April 2014, so please welcome and try our Ayurvana Spa on your next time re-visiting us.

We are expanding to provide more service to our guests same time we keep our service of standard and make sure it not bother to any in house guest.

Once again thank you very much and kind understanding with full of support.

Truly Yours,

Danny K Sukomol
Deputy Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    405
    175
    85
    73
See reviews for
318
1,330
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa-shi, Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I were looking to spend a relaxing time at the Santhiya, unfortunately it just didnt happen. I have taken many forms of transportation during my travels but when a "resort/spa" cant make more than 2 trips a day except to one pier and back and I have to get ride on a slow shipping boat (1 hr) crammed with 40+ people and all of their purchases from the mainland its not a good start. As if this wasnt bad enough I then had to take a taxi from the this "pier" which was another 40 minutes to the "resort/spa". By the time we arrived it was 1400 (check-in time) and we were told that they needed to check and make sure our room was ready. We hadnt eaten lunch yet, so we said we would eat while we waited. They told us that they would let us know when our room was ready (it never happened). The food drinks were decent for the price, nothing to rave about. We decided that it was time to get to our room and try and enjoy the rest of the afternoon and evening. I will say that I was thoroughly impressed with the villa we stayed in. The view was amazing and so was the private pool. Unfortunately that was the extent of the good. After watching the sunset we had discussed getting into the outdoor hottub...until we discovered the mouse. So we went inside and watched tv for awhile. Then instead of getting dressed up to eat we dedcided to order room service...bad idea. The menu in the room says to allow 30-45 minutes for the food (no problem)..but there was. They messed up the order and called 30-45 minutes after the order and said it would be a little longer. After an hour our food arrived, probably would've been better if it was actually warm. Decided it was time to go to bed and hopefully wake-up to a better day. Half way through the night (even utilizing the mosquito netting) I was awoken by being bit 3 times by a mosquito, at least thats what I think it was there were ants in the bed too. Breakfast was decent, again nothing to rave about. Checkout was uneventful...will not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukomol, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Joshua W,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa on tropical Island!

"_Just "Ok" for the price per night_"

We truly appreciate your feedback that we received from you and we are really very sorry this time we could not make your holidays memorable as you were looking for unfortunately.

Where to start from.., first impression, we try to provide to our guest first perfection is our Own Private Speed Boat that we operate 4 times a day, everyday, 2 times from Phuket to resort, and 2 times from resort to Phuket, expect that we do offer a private Speed Boat that you can book any time before 22:00 hours and after 05:00 am,depending on your flight schedule and the private speed boat will be leaving pier as soon as you're on board.

about service, after 1 year opening, we 're making an effort to ensure with our all service to make sure guest will get top class service standard which ever more convenient for guest, we are flexible in that unfortunately this time we couldn't prove our-self but we are pretty sure that we are just on right track and your feedback we will take as a study case and next time we make sure that we fulfill your all requests to make sure you will enjoy your future holidays with us.

Once again thank you very much for your time and feedback that's really help us to improve.

Yours truly,

Danny K. Sukomol.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have chosen this hotel for 2-week-holiday. One week would be enough - there is not much to do beside relaxing at or in the private pool. The water quality of the ocean was unfortunately not very good at this time (probably because of the weather in the first week) Our Pool-Villa was just perfect and also the cleaning-staff which were making our room every morning when we went for breakfast. The restaurant/bar-staff was always very friendly & helpful. The food was very nice, too (breakfast & dinner) and also the variety of drinks. We would recommend this hotel after a 2-weeks trip in Thailand or so or when you just need one week of relaxing.

Room Tip: Pool-Villas have a wonderful view over the ocean and other islands. The only thing which is disturbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukomol, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Elisabeth G,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa on tropical Island!

"1 Week is enough"

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to say thank you very much to spend your holidays with us and same time thank you very much for your trust on us and gave us very positive feedback, about local island, it's only famous for its natural beauty and its still unspoiled, we are very lucky that we are on this island and its famous for people who looking for relaxing holidays and same time coming soon we are going to add some more water sports activities and restaurant that will be help to keep yourself busy on holidays.

Once again thank you very much for your trust and very positive feedback that we received from you and we are looking forward to warm welcome you to our gracious hospitality.

Yours truly,

Danny K. Sukomol.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights in one of the pool villas - and it was just amazing!

The villa and especially the pool were just perfect! It was almost impossible to stop smiling! I will never forget this feeling, to sit on the sun-deck next to our private pool and the only thing u can see is nature!

The restaurant next to the beach is a wonderfull place to relax with a drink or to enjoy the really good kitchen!

Thanks a lot to the entire team - we will never forget this piece of heaven!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephan_Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukomol, Deputy Managing Director at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Stephan_Ger,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa - Traditional Thai Style luxury beach resort on tropical Island!

We truly appreciate your feedback that we received from you, it is a nature of the island and beauty of our resort with wooden concept and Private Pool villas that makes your holidays fabulous with great experience. Your good compliments would be a very good reward for our team members and look forward to warm welcoming you once again in the near future as – Our SMILE is right here waiting for.

I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere thanks.



Truly Yours,

Danny K Sukomol
Deputy Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Staff were amazingly friendly and attentive. You felt special and extremely appreciated. Location just fabulous and still unspoilt from tourism. The villas are just breathtaking! You literally do not need to leave your hotel room. The guest room pool was amazing and very clean. Did not feel over looked by anyone else and all other villas hidden from view. The hotel is still expanding however you were not aware of this as there was absolutely no noise pollution. Food amazing and room service fabulous. The architecture is beautiful!! Not much to do there which is why it is perfect for honeymooners, couples who wish to experience romance, luxury and isolation. Don't think it is fit for young families though for this same reason. Hospitality, cleanliness, maintenance, location, villas,beach... everything 5*!!! I want to go back asap! I will most definitely be returning.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ngozi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We booked 7 days at Santhiya and the first 2 hours had us wondering whether we did the right thing. It was a big departure from the frenetic NE USA that we were used too. Our thoughts were "How do you cope for 7 days in a luscious, tropical paradise of palms, mango and banyon trees, monkeys flitting from tree to tree in your backyard, food fit for a king, a pool outside your huge, beautiful teak mountainside villa overlooking the Andaman Sea, and staff so nice it is almost criminal?" Our Santhiya guide, a lifelong resident, gave us the most wonderful of numerous tours. We never knew monkeys harvested coconuts until his cousin, a monkey trainer, showed us first hand, we processed latex on his mother's rubber plantation, harvested jasmine rice in a local paddy, fished to our heart's content, scootered the island, piloted a long-tail boat, was the recipient of many first rate massages (try the Thai...over the top). Snorkling is some of the best in the world, The scenery from Santhiya breathtaking. Cannot say enough about how spoiled we became at Santhiya. The staff cannot do enough for you. Wish we booked 14 days. Next time we just might.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I am writing this review to thank the staff at Santhiya, especially Jessy, Jane and Viren for making our dream wedding come true! They all did an outstanding job in terms
of both preparation, and the day itself! No request went unanswered, and it was a magical day that we will never forget! The beach set-up, floral archway, and dinner all exceeded our expectations!

Santhyia is a beautiful hotel and the Ocean View Deluxe villa is spectacular. It's decorated in traditional Thai style and has everything that you need! We, and our wedding guests (who were all upgraded to pool villas for free :-)) loved our stay!
Thank you again and we hope to be back for our anniversary :)

All the best

Savina and Ted

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savi6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukomol, Deputy Managing Director at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Savina and Ted,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yai Resort & Spa - Traditional Thai Style luxury beach resort on tropical Island!

First of all thank you very much for choosing Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa to be the venue of your memorable Wedding Romance Ceremony and gave us a chance being a part of a very especial day of your life. additionally sounds very satisfied to us that all of your's families and friends did enjoy your wedding and stayed with us as a witness of your Love Romance
Hide message history

looking forward to see you again in you future trip on your anniversary.Once again thank you very much to celebrate the most important day of your life with us.

Truly yours,

Danny K Sukomol
Deputy Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
4.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
637 reviews
22.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
846 reviews
10.3 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
1,726 reviews
4.0 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa

Property: Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Address: 88 Moo 7 | Prunai Subdistrict, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing