We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, relaxing, rejuvenating holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serene, relaxing, rejuvenating holiday”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

During our 7 days trip to Thailand in Feb 2013, my husband and I decided to spend 2 days in the beautiful Koh Yao Yai island. During planning, Santhiya caught my eye and seemed to be the perfect place. Even though it hadn't opened yet at the time we were planning and had no reviews to form any opinion from, my darling husband booked it for me :) And my expectations were not just met, they were surpassed by all means! The resort is luxurious and very well designed. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful vacation in a serene and beautiful 5 star place and is ready to spend a bit more for that ;)

Getting there - We took a ferry from Phuket (Ban Rong Pier) to Klong Hia Pier and were there in half an hour, easy and enjoyed that ride as well :) From the pier we hired a taxi to reach the resort. It is a small island so not many taxi options but you can try to negotiate on the rates if you have good skills.
For our return journey we hired the taxi through Heimat Gardens (which is near Santhiya). You can also rent bikes for a day from here.

Resort - We stayed in an ocean view pool villa. Outside - a private pool and a deck next to it to relax and enjoy the ocean view. The interiors - very tastefully done, everything is made of teak wood. The view from the comfortable and cozy bedroom bed was stunning- you see the pool and beyond that the ocean - it was breathtaking!! After two days, I was left wanting for more!
The villas are uphill and carts are always available. I noticed that we could see a very small area of another villa's backyard, not too much of a concern for me though, if it is then one can opt for villas at a higher level to avoid this.

Coming to the service - excellent. Everything was in order and if anything needed, it was just a call away. Our basket of fruits was there everyday.
I experienced Thai hospitality in it's true sense here. Everyone was very polite and ready to help if needed. During the ride from the restaurant/reception to the villa, we could see that people working to maintain the garden would stop their work to greet us!

Food - Breakfast was standard with decent options. We had dinner at the resort restaurant on both nights and it was good. It is a bit expensive as expected. The restaurant is on the beach so you get an amazing view. We had lunch at the nearby Heimat Gardens (walking distance via the beach route or the road as well) which was also good and not expensive. There are some other options also available nearby so you are not stuck with what the resort has to offer.

We did all the activities and adventure in Phuket and came here for relaxation. We left happy and rejuvenated! Overall a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view pool villa if u can and at a higher level to get utmost privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anshika03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydMaravilla, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Anshika03,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa!

" Serene, relaxing, rejuvenating holiday"

It's a wonderful feedback and comment that we have received and satisfaction was been meet above standard.

This gave us another prestigious appreciation of our devoted time and effort from the daily responsibilities.

Reassured that we will preserve this and see to it that everybody have being serve as expected.


Hopefully there will be time for you to visit us again.


Yours truly,

Mr. Lloyd B. Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    427
    177
    88
    78
See reviews for
336
1,414
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at Phuket Airport and was greeted by the driver who took us to the pier. There was a staff who was there waiting for us and provided some refreshments at the cafe and free wifi services was available as we waited for the speed boat.
Arrived at the resort with a every staff smiling and greeting
us as we walk in to the reception. There, we were treated with a delicious welcome drink as we waited for our room to be ready. There was a very friendly Korean receptionist on attachment and also a Thai lady which gave us good information on the vicinity.

The room was amazing with a spectacular view facing the sea, a private pool, jacuzzi and a large toilet space. The resort provides daily complimentary fruits and water and have a driver to pick you up each time u decide to go for a meal / gym / Main pool/ rent a DVD or some complimentary activities which the hotel provides for their guest. ( eg. cooking class , Muay Thai lessons or snorkeling lessons ).
Tours were available and pricing depends on whether you prefer a private or joint tour.
We went on a private long tail boat trip to Hong Krabi and the experience was amazing. Our guide Hod was friendly yet professional and made sure safety was out first priority.
There was only one Menu ( Thai/ Western cuisine) but the Food was above average and the bisque is a must try. I would also reccomend the mojito or the virgin mojito.
The GM Lloyd and Manager Dean was really helpful for helping me set up a birthday surprise cake( complimentary ) and got the band and staff to sing for my fiancé as well.

Was given a late check out at 1pm upon request.
The hotel provided a minimum rate upon request to other resort location at Phuket which We was residing for one more night . The driver , Mann and a fellow staff stationed in Phuket was also providing information and advising me where the places of interest on my way to
other resort .He even went the extra mile to drop me to get some tickets for a Muay Thai match , waited for me and send me back to my original location.

My overall experience was amazing .Not just the detailed architecture, location , F and B or tours but the people/ service was above expectations and most importantly genuine.

Would very much like to keep this place a secret but it's only fair to give them recognition .

Thank you once again for the amazing experience and will come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewQ1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydMaravilla, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear MatthewQ1987,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa!

"A Perfect Getaway"

Thank you for your most thoughtful review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always wonderful to hear when a guest is pleased with the product and service, and it is through such support and feedback like yours that our Team Member continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours truly,

Mr. Lloyd B. Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

There is always a danger that delivery does not meet expectation, in fact the hotel industry is simply all about these two things, The 'Promise' and the 'Delivery'. Guest expectations are based on the promise, and their experience is based off the delivery.

Santhiya's promise is - in their own words - 'Resort and Spa' and a 'World Class restaurant' priced very reasonably in my opinion. When your looking for villa only hotels with uninterupted sea views, private pools and only 1 hr or so from Phukets airport you could easily compare Santhiya with the Six Senses or Trisara, or Four Seasons in Lankawi, and you would be amazed at how much cheaper Santhiya is compared to the branded 5* resorts, which in turn offer less in the way of provate space that Santhiya for 4 or 5 times the price. There you pay for the brand, and the service and when its not right, guests hav ethe right to complain. Yet at Santhiya, a Grand Pool Villa will set you back $300 a night or so, over 300sq m of space, private pool, Sea View and lots of charm. However, depending on where your expectations lie or your luxury sensitivity barometer sits, Santhiya could well be a huge dissappointment.

This 5* luxury resort and Spa is 1 year old. It has been beautifully crafted but terribly designed, almost entirely of wood. many different woods, all weathering at different paces.

The Spa - IS NOT A SPA, it is two spa beds in a spare bedroom. How is it a hotel company can design a resort hotel in 2012 and not build in a spa? The spa, is basically room 1, two beds in a room, with no door (so you can simply hear everyone in the lobby). Welcome drink was cold apple juice from the bottle and the Air Conditioner was directly above the bed, with NO towels available in the spa to cover up with and no place to shower after? Mis representation....

The 'World Class' restaurant, is limited. Staff do not speak english - ie, Please could I have some milk? No idea... or Do you sell Hamburgers? No.... but they do.. Ceasar Salad had tomato ketchup on it?

On the plus side - Thai food was good - then again it should be. Cocktails were average, and everything from cutlery to wine glasses has the Santhiya logo on it? Why? (Sorry, bit fussy).

With an onshore breeze and bad weather, the restaurant and bar area is redundant, Guests are forced inside, begging the question, why come here in off season??

Rooms - vast for what you pay for... comfy bed, good AC, good TV's, lots of effort, but a;ready dated and some DESIGN issues such as Leaking roof (if this had been over our bed, we would have left), Mice running around the rafters, Water coming through windows in heavy rain, then being soaked up by curtains and creating a damp environment, bathroom at the back, dark and not great for ladies.

Given how badly this pace has been designed and made I expect each villa will need to undergo re-sanding and varnishing every year. Hence on our first morning i was woken by construction noise from the villa next door. At 7am....

The overall construction of the place is odd... large concrete roads connecting all the villas, mudslides coming off the hills, additional construction going on behind the main pool and above the villas, gives the sense that they are undergoing at least another year of work.

We arrived by boat from Ao Po (which is a construction site as well) and were driven in the back, through a construction site and under the pool, through a manky tunnel. All very weird and not great first impression.

Ok - with all that off my chest, Ill finish with - we stayed and enjoyed ourselves, mostly in bed with a movie and enjoying the view. If you want elevated sea view this place has it, at a fraction of the price of Conrad Samui or Six Senses. Clearly many people have loved this place, and with the right expectations, why not, propel are lovely and service is 'we make an effort'.

My advice to Santhiya would be to keep trying, get the staff trained up and speaking english and build a proper spa, for a hotel that is remote with nothing to do, you should not be selling this hotel as a spa. if the weather is bad, it is the only service you offer, and therefore most likely to not meet expectations.

I have left a review simply because I used TA to help guide mt to Santhiya. You have a formula that leaves most guests happy, and we are happy, however there are some Standard Operating Procedures that need attention such as :
Your welcome letter says you will Turndown the room - in 4 days this was never done.
No new Towels were ever put in our bathroom.
Noise travels in this resort, hence you need to manage construction noise.
Breakfast could do with an upgrade (Still a little bit 3*, ie my poached aggs were brought to me in a bowl) - Coffee was good though.

Good luck Santhiya - huge undertaking and great that a small brand hotel company are doing good things in this space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asiaflavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydMaravilla, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear asiaflovour,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa!

"Struck in the middle"

I received your feedback it sad to say that your not happy on the way it should be or expectation.
Yes! we newly resort just 10 months at this moment and lot of adjustment should be done.
Actually we have the Spa which still under construction and what we have option villa for this service as temporary.
But if you can see a lot of good comment that being written from the previous guests that stayed with us.
It's not an excuse just want to say that we have proven ourself that we can achieved the standard of service that guests looking for their satisfaction.

I hope there will a chance to serve in the near future..........

Yours truly,

Mr. Lloyd B. Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The facilities were excellent. The staff were attentive and friendly. There was every opportunity for us to have a relaxing holiday in a scenic location. The villa (Grand Pool Villa Suite) was spacious and clean, with a great view over the ocean. We enjoyed the day trip to Phi Phi Island and snorkeling, the guides were very informative and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the Thai cooking class presented by the chef which has inspired us to try some more Thai cooking at home. The meals at the restaurant, both Thai and Western, were delicious, well presented and reasonably priced. We particularly enjoyed the cocktails at happy hour! The spa centre had some excellent options and we found the staff there were professional and the treatments very relaxing. Overall it was the perfect holiday to relax and unwind. This is not really a destination we would recommend for children - it is more of an adult retreat. We would recommend this as a holiday destination for anyone wanting a relaxing break away, and we would love to return!

Room Tip: The Grand Pool Villa Suite has room for 4 adults (1 double bed, 2 single beds), on 2 levels, with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydMaravilla, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear EW,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa!

"The perfect relaxing holiday"

Thank you for such complimentary remarks. We are elated to hear that you had terrific stay with us! Our staff is truly our greatest asset and we are so happy that you felt well taken care off during that time.

As you said, this can be ideal for the traveller who simply wishes to avoid the crowds during the high season. And of course, it is always refreshing to get away to the beach, to the privacy and to the seclusion during a short escape from our every day’s hectic life.

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.


Yours truly,

Mr. Lloyd B. Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our experience at Santhiya was really brilliant, the service was excellent, place was clean and so pleasant to stay in, and our private pool villa was out of this world. We were treated like royalty throughout the whole trip. If you're looking to do activities this might not be the place for you as the island is not very developed, unless you take one of the resort's day trips to another island.
We wanted a peaceful relaxing holiday and thats exactly what we got.
The food at the restaurant was amazing, we tried a different dish each day and everything was brilliant. Bit pricey, but not extortionate.
Would definitely recommend this place to any honeymooners or couples wanting a quiet holiday.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better, (1203) because then nobody else from other villas can see you and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydMaravilla, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Zahra D,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa!

"Amazing holiday!!!"

Your feedback was highly appreciated for the experience that you have felt during your stay with us.

I hope you can come back in the future to visit this secluded Island.


Yours truly,

Mr. Lloyd B. Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

No matter how well I try to explain, it just won't be good enough.

This place is amazing!!

Stayed here for 5 days with my partner in August and we didn't want to leave.
From the pick up at our Phuket Hotel to the drop off at the marina on our last day everything was perfect.
5 star service everywhere at the resort.
Being vegetarian I was worried what i would be able to eat so I contacted the hotel before we arrived, I was emailed a vegetarian menu and advised if I needed anything else the chef could speak with me and make any changes for me. All the food was amazing!
The rooms are perfect! Outdoor bath and shower, lovely decked area, beautiful rooms inside and the pool!!! Wow!! The views from our rooms were amazing!
All the staff are friendly and will go out of there way to help you. Especially the manager Mr Lloyd. He is a lovely man and ensured we had an perfect holiday, down to checking the menus were ok for me and going out of his way to arrange a trip for us to Phi Phi Island. He ensures everything runs smoothly for you and makes a huge effort to know all the guests.
Other members of staff that deserve a HUGE thank you are Viren, Boy and Dean.

I realise I have used the word amazing a lot in this review but it truly is! You need to see it with your own eyes.

Would we go back...... In a heartbeat! In fact we are already looking at next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydMaravilla, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear maz05,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa!

"There no words!!!"

Thank you to the lovely feedback that we have received from you and for those names that you have mentioned.

I hope there will a time for you to visit us once again...............


Yours truly,

Mr. Lloyd B. Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our stay at Santhiya was like a great escapade where the setting was just right for us to just relax, rejuvenate, & enjoy a private romantic time together. Just a short 20 minutes speedboat ride, the resort is located on Koh Yao Yai which is very much untouched & somewhat isolated, plus the resort's environment which features the traditional Thai architecture and beautiful landscaping, all our troubles at work / home just went away. The staffs were amazing, very helpful & they have foreign staffs to cater for guests who speak English (of course), Mandarin, Korean, etc. Thai hospitality simply at its best. My wife & I stayed at their ocean pool villa and it was really spacious, nicely decorated, full of features, and the best of all is their private pool. We literally dipped & swam in it all the time while enjoying the breathtaking ocean view. All in all, the resort really amazes us from the start till the end and we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RidCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydMaravilla, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear RidzuanCooper,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa!

"For great escapade to relax, rejuvenate & romantic getaway"

Thank you for the complements that we have received from you and and satisfaction during your stay with us.


Yours truly,

Mr. Lloyd B, Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
4.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
653 reviews
22.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,777 reviews
4.0 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
446 reviews
14.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa

Property: Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Address: 88 Moo 7 | Prunai Subdistrict, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing