We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, wonderful bungalow room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thiw Son Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Ko Yao Yai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly service, wonderful bungalow room”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Travel arrangements to get TO the island were not that straightforward for us. But when we finally arrived, the hotel staff - specifically Dom - were very welcoming and accommodating. Throughout our entire 4-day stay, Dom was amazing - kind and helpful. We must say that when we first arrived to Thiw Son Resort, we were very disappointed because the beach-front ocean was not there...instead, there were 200 yards of mud and sand. It was not the picturesque Thai island view we envisioned. Upon closer look, however, we realized that this stretch of sand and mud had some of the most amazing low-tide wildlife! Crabs, sand dollars, fish, etc. - and many local people "fishing" in the mudflats. And during high-tide, the swimming was great. The ocean is not as crystal-clear as in other parts of the island, but being removed from the big resorts (with crystal clear water) was more important to us than having clear water outside our doorstep. As aforementioned, the swimming was great, and when we wanted clear water, we rented Thiw Son's scooters to tour the island and go to different empty beaches. The food was great, the coffee was great, and the view of the surrounding islands was beautiful. Our bungalow had a private outdoor shower, A/C, fast WiFi, and a mosquito net over the bed (which we ended up needing!). The island itself is not for people who want a nightlife scene - it is laidback, slow, and has a more authentic Thai fisher-people feel. The island is 99% Muslim, and so it would be good for women travelers to respect the custom of modesty (no tank tops, exposed knees, or risqué clothing). Apparently locals who do swim, which is rare, go in the ocean with clothes on...but we didn't see any travelers following this custom (and we didn't follow it either - but we chose not to swim on the beaches where locals were). It was affordable and we plan to return! The only other thing is that they were doing construction when we were there. They were working on building their swimming pool, which we imagine will be finished soon.

Room Tip: The front row of bungalows has an unobstructed view of the ocean and a larger deck, but is twice the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caitlin-Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    61
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
31
108
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked the deluxe beach front bungalow for several nights and really enjoyed the islands slower pace of life. Had some great experiences and would recommend it to anyone. The resort was everything we anticipated and truly beautiful, however we could never get past how we felt the family was not happy with us staying at their home and there was a shadowing uncomfortableness. Hard to explain, but very noticeable. From the minute we checked in and they asked to double check a printed version of our confirmation, through the end of our stay. There is an advertised bar, however after getting a look ordering a beer at the restaurant with dinner, would feel very uncomfortable ordering a drink. I never saw one person at the bar in over a week so guessing I'm not the only one that got the vibe. We walked next door and had several meals (and drinks) at the Better View Resort and the Koh Yah Yai Resort and felt very at home. If I did it all over again would look to stay at the Better View Resort or at Koh Yah Yai Village but wish the family the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chango3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and are so glad we did. The resort is on Yao Yai, which we got to by speedboat from the Bang Rong pier.

The resort is family run, and the service was great. During high tide, the swimming is good, in very warm waters. During low tide, swimming becomes a chore. The rooms were clean, were made of beautiful wood, and very charming.

We had tons of fun relaxing on Yao Tai, toured the island by motorbike, found random empty beaches, did an island tour by long tail boat, and finally checked our the Yao Noi island, which is much more commercialized.

Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing stay away from the crazyness of Phuket.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirage2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading about it in the Lonely Planet guide to Thailand. It was off the beaten track as far as tourists go and there was a real feel of authenticity to the island. Getting to the island was slightly more challenging than we had hoped for but well worth it in the end.
We arrived at Phuket bus station and then took a local bus to Phuket town. It was very hard to understand where the ferries were departing from to be able to work out if we could get there by bus, taxi or walk. I wish I could now write and tell you where we actually departure from but still don’t know! When we arrived at Phuket town we then decided to get a taxi for 300 baht to the pier for the island. We then bought our speed boat tickets as the last ferry for the day had already departed. The Speed boat was 200 baht each 1 way and took 30 minutes , the last one of the day departures at 5pm. When we arrive at Koh Yao Yai we then needed to get a taxi to the hotel which was 400 baht (supposed to be 500). The taxi driver -Bangsit was very very friendly and gave us some excellent history about the island and also stopped off to take some photos of us. We didn’t feel under pressure to give a tip as we had done on almost every other occasion when someone had given such a kind turn.
We arrived at the Hotel and the views from our room were amazing just like we had dreamt. The room was spacious and had a nice sofa to chill out on. The resort was very quiet which made a lovely change to our otherwise very fast paced holiday. Other hotels and restaurants are only really accessible by scooter or taxi. We made the journey one night to Koh Yao Yai Village resort for an evening meal which was expensive but excellent.

Only thing of note is to beware of the crabs on the main beach when the tide goes out. The main beach is a mud flat but you don’t really need to go onto this as you have a small bit of beach next to the resort which has chairs and lounges on it to use free of charge. Free Wifi.
Bangsit picked us up on the last day, as we were leaving early to head on to our next destination h stopped off and his lovely wife made us some banana pancakes for breakfast for no charge. It goes without saying that we tipped well t cover the cost of these.
He also organised for when we were arriving near the pier to get dropped off at the other pier for boars heading to Phi Phi Don which was great.
This was our most expensive accommodation whilst in Thailand but if you want somewhere away from the main tourists, excellent view from your room, beach front accommodation then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in A2 which is a beach front bunglow with AC. Excellent and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHJ_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms with a choice of budget fan rooms, airon/TV, or villa. We took budget fan room. Nice outdoor loo and shower. Cabin nice with dimmer lights and curtains.

Booked island boat tour with hotel boatman. Walked along mudflat at low tide. Walked to village for fruit but its a bit too far.

Happy with our stay here.

Only quibble is i wish they'd sell large bottles of water (1.5L) as small ones are not eco friendly. Also swimmers beware that one cannot swim at low tides but we dd not mind.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenM31415926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This review is about the restaurant as I have not stayed at the hotel. The food is pretty good and although not very efficient service, the family that is serving is extremely friendly. Unfotunately we found out this place in our last day at the island. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GPizzato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful remote place. The owners are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic. The bungalows are very clean, well equipped and with outdoor bathrooms. Go for one of the beachfront bungalows to enjoy an early morning sunrise and amazing views of the Adaman limestone formations.

Though you can only swim at high tide you can opt for a beautiful walk on the beach when tides are low or simply take a stroll or rent a motorbike to discover the island.

Room Tip: The beachfront bungalows are definitely worth the extra penny, but garden bungalows are great value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norah_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Yao Yai hotels
1.6 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
637 reviews
5.4 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Yai
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Esmeralda View Resort
Esmeralda View Resort
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Yai
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thiw Son Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thiw Son Beach Resort

Property: Thiw Son Beach Resort
Address: 58/2 Moo 4 | Koh Yao, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thiw Son Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thiw Son Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing