We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bungalows and stunning location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thiw Son Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Ko Yao Yai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed in the fan bungalow here which was brilliant value, 600Baht a night in the low season. The bungalow was really clean and there was a big bed with a good mosquito net. There was a two deck chairs outside our hut too!
We rang the resort from the pier and they picked us up for free. All the staff were really nice and very attentive.
The beach it's located on is incredible, and there are hammocks and deckchairs to lie on. They also have free snorkelling gear to use. They also have kayaks for rent.
It is located about 10minute drive from the pier. You can walk to some local shops and restaurants, but it takes about 40 mins. They have motorbikes for rent too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

The moment we arrived we were struck by the breathtaking views of the islands. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic - amongst the best we had in Thailand, the bungalows were lovely, clean and well laid out.
We had one of the air-conditioned bungalows one row back with glimpses of the sea - this suited us fine as we spent most of our time soaking in the scenery from the open air beach-front restaurant, or exploring the island. The open air shower is beautifully built, and mossies weren't a problem when we were there.
The beach is swimmable at high tide, but don't expect clear turquoise water. You can hire a motorbike from the resort, which is a great way to experience the unspoiled countryside.
Our only regret was that we stayed only one night!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ren_n_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

What i usually like about small bungalow accomodations like Thiwson is the feeling of being in a friendly/homely place. That is exactly what i am missing here. The staff is not very friendly, not really unfriendly either. They simple do not care. They do what you ask, but never try to make any conversation or offer anything if not asked. They make long hours and their English is not really good. That does not help, but most of all: they are not one bit interested in their guests.

What is good: the view from the "beach" on the Phang Nga bay is stunning. The lay out of the place is good with very nice looking wooden bungalows with a private balcony. It is a small place, so it is never crowded. The gardens are very nice and well maintained. The food and the prices in the restaurant are good.
The transfer we had was very well organised from Phuket apt. They were very helpfull carrying our luggage. There is free WiFi in the restaurant and some of the front bungalows. 
And the island is a great place, quit and friendly and easy accessibele from Phuket or Krabi.

What is not so good : the lack of a proper beach. There is a stone wall seperating a strip of sand from the sea. That strip of sand is where the sunbeds are, the sand is not very clean. Lots of leaves from the trees and sigarette buts. They clean the gardens every day, but do not clean the "beach". To get into the water you have to go down some steps. During the morning the water goes all the way to the wall and you are up to your waist in water. Not very suitable for (small) children, but not a huge problem for adults. The water dissapeares in the afternoon leaving a muddy place  hundreds of meters out of the coast where you can have a walk looking for crab, but swimming is no longer possible. 
The last row of (fan) bungalows are very close to the road, where they have build a wall. Due to this wall there is hardly any refreshing breeze coming through, you feel like you are in a sauna on this row of bungalows and partly the row in front of it. 
There is no information available on the area or tours. 
The beds are like a rock, but that is a Thai thing. 

The rent out motorbikes for 350 bath. A longtail boottrip costs 2500 bath (incl. lunch), laundry is 40 bath per kilo. Soft drinks are 30-40 bath, American breakfast is 150 bath, most main dishes are 100-150 bath and a big Chang is 90 bath.
Their is 1 ATM on the island, not to far from Thiwson. In the same area are also some basic mini markets. You have to rent a motorbike to get there. 

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mknl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

If you want to see the sea you have to book (and to be sure to have booked!) a front bungalow! Otherwise the "seaview bungalows" are second raw and you can't see anything instead of the back of the other bungalows...
It is impossible to swim in the sea and it is not adequate for children.
The food is really nice and the people also (but not the one saying the "seaview bungalows" have seaview!!)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marioche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I was at Kho Yao Yai second times. It's a great and quiet island with almost no tourism. The resort is in the north east of the island not much far away from the piers. It has the best bungalows I saw in the south of Thailand. The bathroom is open air, so there's no humidity in the room. The bungalows are really clean!
The beach is fixed with a wall, so that it's possible to lay in the sand and to swim at flood tide. At ebb tide the bay is a mudflat...but it's beautiful, we even saw Bald Eagles!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piciha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank christophe3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Rinie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Yao Yai hotels
1.6 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
784 reviews
5.4 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow
0.4 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
#2 of 9 in Ko Yao Yai
55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Esmeralda View Resort
Esmeralda View Resort
#3 of 9 in Ko Yao Yai
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thiw Son Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thiw Son Beach Resort

Address: 58/2 Moo 4, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range: $45 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thiw Son Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Thiw Son Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing