We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Yao Yai Village
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I keep coming back to Koh Yao Yai Village and most recently in Mar'11, it just keeps getting better n better. The people I bring is the ones closest to me and here we can find peace and privacy surrounded by nature, kind helping people and wonderful views of Phang Nga Bay. I think the Resort suits both families with young and old children and couples in all ages. There is a clean beach by the Resorts pool and restaurant area, this one is best for building sand castles and lifting rocks to find all sorts of animals (mostly crabs). It is not a beach suitable for swimming but there is a shuttle bus to nearby ones. The infinity pool overlooking the nearby island is really nice and make up for the non existing swimming conditions at the beach. They have a really nice breakfast buffé and the restaurant offers magnificent views. I recommend to rent a scooter and explore the island yourself and there is also a wide variety to choose from at the activity center if you do not wish to explore it on your own. There are daily excursions to nearby islands with that white sand and see through turquoise water that Koh Yao Yai fortunately don't have. If they did, everything would be different and it is great to find a unspoiled island with local feeling and atmosphere, so close from busy Phuket.

If you would like to be around a lot of people, have restaurants and bars within walking distance, party or if you get easily bored and like everything within close reach then it is not the place for you.

If you would like to go somewhere where you can really charge your batteries, enjoy beautiful scenery in a quiet location, spend quality time with loved ones, adventure and exploring off the beaten tourist track then it is the place for you.

A minus is the restaurant that is lacking options when it comes to food, at least during the busy high season there should be more to choose from and in a wider price range.

A huge plus are all the details... It is nature friendly in many ways and they have really made use of nature and the local peoples wonderful work, most of it is built by the locals on the island.

The local people are Muslim and there is only alcohol to buy from the Resort. From Chien Wanit Pier in Phuket Town (close to Rassada Pier) there are daily speed and ferry boats starting early in the morning and last boat leaves at 5 PM for Yao Yai. Ferry ticket is 140 THB per way and person, you can also bring your bike or car.

Go, go, go!!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 721 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

We tried earlier to get a room in Phi Phi Island Village. Since was full, tried their sister's hotel: Koh Yao Yai Village. Good time we made it !!!
When we arrived the resort, we were stunned, completely astonished ! Just cancelled all other hotel reservations we had in Phi Phi and Koh Lanta and extended our stay here.

The resort is really a luxury resort, away from the crowds from Phuket and Phi Phi.
The bungalows are in the middle of the jungle, very clean and beautiful.
The staff is incredible (greetings for TAR and YOP) and the pool is amazing.
The meals are not expensive (normal thai prices).

We rent a moto directly from reception, very good to travel around the island and see some beaches. The island is 95% muslim, all people very nice, warm and helpful.
The hotel beach is not suitable for swim, too rocky. Just drive 20 min and get to Khlong Son Beach.
The pool is amazing, really incredible views to Phang Nga Bay.
Dinner has live music singer, very quiet and nice, very romantic and charming!
Instead sleeping in Phi Phi, just did one-day trip, which was enough.

Go here if you want to rest, relax and stay in a quiet and incredible place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GFLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We loved Koh Yao Yai Village. We booked 3 nights on the internet as a stop off place between Phuket and Ton Sai bay. We didn't know what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised.

The bungalows were luxurious with varnished cement floors, outdoor shower and very large terrace with lounge chairs and outdoor couch covered in mosquito netting. The room was beautiful. The only downside was that is was only air conditioned...there was no fan or screens on the windows....so if you don't like the AC, and you want a little air at night...you don't have many options.

One thing that was a little annoying but you get over it is that there were a few bugs/animals that you didn't see but made noise..one was high pitched and we thought it was the neighbor's fan, another was the geikos. But after traveling around Thailand....we understood that they are all over :)

The resort is very calm and quiet and good if you're looking for a relaxing retreat. The view from the pool is amazing! However, you wouldn't go there just for the beach....most of the day it's low tide and the beach isn't great for lazing. We did rent a canoe and went off exploring the surrounding beaches....it was beautiful. However, they (on the entire island) need to get someone to clean up the beaches as there is a bit of trash that apparently gets washed up onto the shores and is unfortunate. But you can totally see past it and appreciate the beauty of this place!

Highlight of our trip here - We rented a scooter for the day and explored the island. It was a lot of fun. There are hardly any tourists on the island so you see a lot of locals. We ate at a shack in the middle of "town" with the locals and it was awesome!!! For about 1 euro a person, you eat a big plate of rice with as many sauces as you want to try (beware of the chili peppers) and it was delicious!

Highlight 2 - yoga class outside at 5 o'clock ....was a delight

Lowlight - no beer on the island. There's nothing like cracking open a fresh beer in the summer heat. However, this island is entirely Muslim and you won't find one...apart from at the resort. It was a bummer but certainly didn't ruin our trip. But if it's a must for you, bring your own...each bungalow has a fridge.

If you're looking to get away from all the people and spend some time doing not much of anything (you can however book excursions and the like at the hotel), this is a great hideaway for a very reasonable price. We moved around a lot on our two week trip and three nights here was a perfect break in a luxurious, but natural and cozy, environment.

Warning - ferries from Phuket stop at 5pm....we were misinformed and ended up paying 2500 baht (about 50 euros) for 2 for a long tail instead of 400 baht (10 euros) for two for the ferry. Otherwise, I think the hotel also provides transfer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ChezCharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My family loved Koh Yao Yai Village. Everything here is special, and beautifully done from the moment you walk in. The rooms are beautifully designed, and thoughtful details are everywhere. The staff were lovely and friendly and treated our kids (6 and 9) very well. The infinity pool is stunning. Not the greatest swimming beach, but fun to beach comb, and the resort offers free shuttle to a beautiful beach nearby that is good for swimming, so it was really no problem. The resort offers many tours, we took an island tour and loved it. Again, the tour guide and driver were very friendly and wonderful.
We enjoyed the restaurant - good food, and really nice live music with dinner each night.
Loved, LOVED, LOVED the place. Only drawback is that there are no other restaurants nearby, so really no choice of where to eat. Otherwise, this place is really top notch and and my idea of perfection. Loved the island. NO CROWDS ANYWHERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyrsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you're reading this review wondering 'should I book / shouldn't I' - well don't waste any more time thinking - BOOK! The rooms are stunning - not on the beach but hidden in the forest area about 500m from the beach. The room design is very impressive and the outside shower with the forest trees above was spectacular! There is also a stunning lounge with a day bed covered with a mosquito net for those lazy afternoons with a book.

The sea isnt the crystal blue that you'll find in Samui or Phi Phi but the view from the huge rim flow hotel pool on the waters edge is out of this world! The service was top notch and although the staff didnt understand English too well they were most helpful and eager to please.

The island is very unassuming and there are no resorts or bars within walking distance. There are actually no real 'bars' on the island. There are a handful of other resorts but nothing like this one. Take the Island Tour and learn more about the local culture and industry...very interesting.

Don't think any longer - book here! We loved it!!

Thank you Koh Yao Yai for a fabulous, relaxing 4 nights at the end of our 3 week trip.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotraveldotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in January and the Koh Yao Yai Village didn't disappoint. Transfers to and from Phuket Airport were smooth. The room was very well appointed and there was really nothing we could criticise. We had the family villa and although it is spacious, one thing it lacks is a covered open area, which is a feature of the standard bungalows.

The pool is the best feature of the resort, and we also enjoyed the restaurant. The food was well prepared and we never found the offerings boring. There were several theme nights during our stay, with a buffet dinner and live entertainment. We found the food good value for money.

We took advantage of several excursions organised by the activities desk and would recommend any of these, especially the sunset bike tour and the islands tour. There is less to see on the Koh Yao Noi tour, though.

Don't go here for the beach. Like many of these resorts, the tide is out for most of the day and the beach is there only for the pleasant outlook. Also, if you want shops and nightclubs, stick with Phuket; Koh Yao Yai is an island with a very limited range of facilities. But that's the attraction of it, right?

The only small thing is that the staff mostly have a very rudimentary grasp of English. If you don't speak English, I guess you're pretty much on your own.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I simply loved this place! The bungalow was new and extremely tidy, same as the bathroom. There was an outdoor shower but high walls around, therefore private :)

Everywhere were nice decoration, I felt great and like home
immediately. The bungalows are absolutely not dark or in a dark
forest, there are just some trees and
plants..

The pool area was beautiful and it was very quiet when we were there. The restaurant was ok, but we decided to rent a motorbike from the resort and eat somewhere else and explored the island.

The staff was very friendly.

What I especially liked that there was a Big fridge Outside the bungalow, two sunbeds and a huge sofa with mosquito net outside.

Nothing to complain at all, a great place to relax!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daemonchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
5.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.2 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
361 reviews
4.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
463 reviews
10.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
659 reviews
6.1 mi away
Germing Frey, Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Yao Yai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Yai Village

Address: 78 Moo 4 | Talad Yai Sub-district, Muang District, Phuket, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range: $70 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koh Yao Yai Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Yao Yai Island is a yet-to-be-discovered tropical haven utterly untouched, offering guests a rare opportunity to step back in time and join in traditional Thai island life. Far removed from the hustle and bustle of holiday destinations such as Krabi and Phuket, Koh Yao is a charming area of outstanding natural beauty consisting of a cluster of small islands nearby Phuket in scenic Phang Nga Bay. Ko Yao Yai Village is perfectly situated in a sheltered spot offering accessibility all year round with the resort carefully created to echo rural island life whilst ensuring guests are comfortable and well-taken care of with plenty of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koh Yao Yai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Yao Yai Village Hotel Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing