We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely high level retreat in Koh Yao Yai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Yao Yai Village
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely high level retreat in Koh Yao Yai”
Reviewed March 3, 2010

There aren't good category resort on this island,and the Koh Yao Yai Village was a great surpriese, bringing high standards but respecting the environment.
If yoy are looking for a few days in peace and tranquillity, this is the resort destination.
All villas are the same size and layout, no discriminations. attention to details are lovely, a mix of modern style with naturla material. A big patio with sofa and sun beds offer a great space for relaxation. The pool is really big with a snake shape and looks over the stunning view of the Phang Nga bay. Don't expect a swimming in the sea it depends on the tide. If you want to swimming you should go on the beach on the other side of the island, the one looking over Phuket. But anyway, the view and the pool are great enough!
They are still missing a few things, but the manager told me they are working on it, as they have just open: the mini-bar has only water, it should be filled with beer, wine, juices, drinks... as there is no other place around to buy them, specially if you would like to relax at night with a glass of wine while reading a book.
They have at the moment an out-call spa service, but they are planning to build their own massage service. After mini-bar and spa will be settled, it will be a true 4 star service resort on a wonderful island. Tip: rent a motorbike or arrange a tour by long tail boat around the island, there are beautiful spots to discover.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaClassyfrontiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    227
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
138
363
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Koh Yao Yai Village is lovely. My husband and I stayed 4 nights early Feb. They had some great opening specials. There was only a handful of people staying at the time. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Not all could speak English but that's because they hire locals to work there. And it isn't a very touristy island (which is why we went there).

The resort was very good value. Beautiful bungalows (huge) in a rainforest setting. Very well equipped - they seem to have thought of everything, even a bowl of fruit and mosquito zapper. A team of maids came by daily to clean the room and restock the tea/coffee and bottles of water. Extra services are very expensive, such as laundry.

The pool was amazing. Curved around the restaurant area and overlooked the beach/distant islands. There is a swim up bar, which wasn't manned as there were very few guests, but there was always a nearby waiter on the look out if anyone wanted to be served.

Restaurant was a nice setting but the food was very expensive and we didn't like some of the meals. The complimentary breakfast was great though - buffet including cereal, toast/croissants, tropical fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, as well as someone standing there to cook eggs to your liking.

The beach was a dud but we were expecting that. Too rocky to go swimming in, and there was a bit of rubbish too. There was a row of deck chairs set a distance away from the resort. Was nice sitting there in the afternoons watching beautiful view and the locals knee-deep in the water catching fish and crabs.

We hired mountain bikes and rode to another part of the island, Lo Paret Beach, for a swim. Lovely swimming beach, the resort there looked a bit ordinary. Passed through a few little villages. Got lots of Hello's shouted out by children along the way :)
The next day we hired a motorbike (automatic scooter) which turned out to be a lot cheaper than the mountain bikes - 300 baht for the day. Koh Yao Yai is a nice island to explore, covered in farmland, forest, mountains and villages.

Overall it was an absolutely beautiful resort, not much to do other than relax. I would recommend staying here and I hope the resort takes off in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chavenay, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed for 8 nigths a Koh Yao Yai Village for New year 2010.

Bungalows (10/10)
Bungalows are really great, with their huge patios where you can spend the evening relaxing, reading ... They are the best part of the hotel.

Swimming pool (8/10)
The swimming pool area is nice. The view of the bay is breathtaking. It can get a little bit crowded though, so people "book their seats" when they go for breakfast. I wonder what it will be like when the resort is completed with 70 bungalows. Maybe they will build a second swimming pool.

Beach (2/10)
Beach was a big disappointment. It is not especially clean, and you actually cannot swimm because of rocks in the sea.

Restaurant (6/10)
Restaurant is OK, although quite expensive. We have seen better food in Thailand ! Service can be slow, but I guess it will improve with time. Some people had dinner at Thiw Son beach resort instead (apparently that restaurant can arrange transport for Koh Yao Yai Village clients). It's about 10 min by car.

Transfer service (3/10)
On the way to Koh Yao Yai, we took the speed boat from Ao Nang and everything went smoothly. Going back was another story. The morning boat back to the Krabi area is a local boat, not a speed boat. Normal price 150 THB. The hotel charges the same rate as for the speed boat : 500 THB. A rip off. We had asked for transfer from the harbourg to Ao Nang but no one was waiting for us there. I would not trust them again. 1st they overcharge, 2nd they are not reliable.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay. Staff is nice and helpful. I don't think I would stay there 8 nights again though as the hotel is a bit too isolated to my taste.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Beautiful hotel, excellent bungalows and great hotel facilities. The beach is not the best, but the pool is nice. The activity center has a lot of choice of different types of day trips you can take, they are all very nice and well worth doing. The staff are friendly, but they don't understand much English just yet!
The restaurant is maybe the weakest, the food takes forever to come and the waiters seem lost and confused. When we went the hotel had just opened so maybe they just need some time.
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel. Amazing value for money!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This brand new resort is ideal for couples seeking a romantic retreat in a beautiful setting. The island itself is very quiet and there is virtually no tourist activities beyond the trips organised by the hotel. We borrowed good quality mountain bikes from the hotel to explore the island and found a few village shops and local food stalls, but there are no tourist bars or restaurants. About the resort - The bungalows are set back from the beach amongst jungle-like foliage. They are creatively furnished with beautiful cushions, outdoor day bed with mosquito net - all under an authentic thatched roof! The room is furnished with high quality bed linen on an oversize kingsize with very comfy pillows and has several nice touches such as his and hers sarongs, dressing gowns and slippers - all to encouraged lounging around and doing very little! The view from the pool area (and the pool itself) is a stunning scene of the neighbouring islands, although the beach area has yet to be developed and at present has no sun loungers or other amenities. Also, I was looking forward to swimming in the sea, but as the tide went out around 800m from the shore, this was not really safe to do as I would have been invisible to anyone on the shore. Although beautiful, the area around the pool is quite small and the tranquility and romance of the setting was spoilt for us by a number of very noisy small children! If you are looking for a very quiet romantic retreat in a unique and peaceful setting (and don't mind creepy-crawlies!) this is the place for you but if you are seeking nightlife, activities outside the hotel or are travelling with children then it's probably best for you to look again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piptothepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
5.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
566 reviews
6.3 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
1,726 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Yao Yai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Yai Village

Property: Koh Yao Yai Village
Address: 78 Moo 4, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koh Yao Yai Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Yao Yai Island is a yet-to-be-discovered tropical haven utterly untouched, offering guests a rare opportunity to step back in time and join in traditional Thai island life. Far removed from the hustle and bustle of holiday destinations such as Krabi and Phuket, Koh Yao is a charming area of outstanding natural beauty consisting of a cluster of small islands nearby Phuket in scenic Phang Nga Bay. Ko Yao Yai Village is perfectly situated in a sheltered spot offering accessibility all year round with the resort carefully created to echo rural island life whilst ensuring guests are comfortable and well-taken care of with plenty of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Yao Yai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Yao Yai Village Hotel Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing