We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Paradise on Yao Yai island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koh Yao Yai Village
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Truly Paradise on Yao Yai island”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booking procedure: Got a special price from Thai Tiew Thai travel exhibition in early Feb'14, booking procedure went smoothly, Reservation officer helped arranging hotel transfer and useful information.

Hotel transfer: Great service for Round Trip; The van's drivers to/ from airport - hotel were so friendly and so nice. The speed boat arranged by hotel was cool and the best was the hotel's classy boat we got on, on the way back to the mainland, the captain and another gentleman were real nice, treated us like a VIP when we paid normal price and helped us taking lots of photos on the boat. When we reached the mainland, one gentleman looked like he was higher than a GM, came to greet us at the boat and guided us to the van. (The hotel's classy boat stopped at Ao Po Grand Marina which is the Yacht parking place) The hotel truck driver to/ from pier - hotel was a very nice guy and polite.

Check-in/ Check-out: Waited for a while but no big deal as they served nice herbal drink which was Smootie roselle drink in the classic Thai metal bowl. Check-out did not take long, all went well. Receptions were nice, as well as the bellboys.

Room/ amenities/ facilities: Room was spacious and got everything you would need. Sexy bathroom area and the amenities were superb. After we had a walk around, came back and found a plate fulled of fruit in our fridge. Swimming Pool is what we loved the most, stunning view, nice and clean.

Restaurant: Reasonable price, not so many choices but acceptable. Tasted good. Nice local staffs.

Others: To get around the island, better rent the motorbike or the bike from resort, a bit expensive for Thais but understandable.

Overall: Terrific place for anyone who wants to getaway from a busy lifestyle, peaceful, quiet, great service.

To improve: 98% of our experience with Koh Yao Yai Village is excellent but there are 2 points could be improved a bit. One is the cleanliness of the room, found lot of dust and some spider webs in the bedroom and the living room area. Another point is, it would be better if the staff in the souvenir shop could be more attentive, in the evening, we were waiting there for a while to buy the shower gel and shampoo, no greeting, no eye-contact, only concentrate on the phone, We just had to walk out and forgot to buy them before we check-out.

We would definitely go back to the hotel again and of course would recommend this to anyone we know.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoKunlananS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYY M, Manager at Koh Yao Yai Village, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for letting us know what made your Koh Yao Yai Village experience a comfortable and memorable one. We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and especially the resorts transport.

Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. Please note that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    233
    63
    27
    12
See reviews for
146
377
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We went to this resort for a 3-day weekend and were absolutely charmed! The staff is so nice, the bungalows charming with an awesome totally open-air bathroom! I loved the decoration of the bungalow, the fabric used, and they even provided beautiful sarongs to wear at the pool or around. The bungalow is air-coned and they have mosquito nets at the windows, so comfortable! My only comment would probably be that because of the thick foliage and high trees, the bungalow was dark and sunlight could't really pass through.

The first morning we woke up at 10am, when breakfast was supposed to be over but when I asked if it was still possible to get it, the staff nicely informed me that there was no problem, and even took us to the restaurant by buggy :)
And the breakfast.... so many items to choose from, from the eggs/omelette to cereals, pancakes, congee to fruits, everything was delicious!
One thing is that probably because of the low season, only the main restaurant was open, they have another grill & bar one which was closed. But having had lunch and dinner at the main one, I can tell you everything was so good, especially the lobster salad!

They have a nice infinity swimming pool overlooking the beach but unfortunately we can't really swim there because there are so many rocks, plus the tide gets so low during the day...

One thing to precise though, the area is really quiet, this place is for 100% relaxation, you can easily spend your whole day lounging and sunbathing at the pool area but there isn't much to do around, except perhaps rent a scooter and visit the island as we did...

Nevertheless, amazing stay, nice staff! Thanks and will definitely recommend this amazing resort

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arashicchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort on the larger, less developed island, just 25 mins boat ride away from Phuket but a world away from the noise and hubbub of the mainland. Peaceful, comfortable bungalows near the pools and/or the sea. Great pools, various extra services, excursions and activities on offer if you manage to tear yourself away from the pool-side loungers and the views of the karst scenery in the surrounding national park. Wonderfully kind and friendly staff and very very good food - both Thai, local and western cuisine. A fantastic spot; heavenly but not ostentatious or too fancy; and great wildlife all around. A great place to dream away a few days.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sjcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYY M, Manager at Koh Yao Yai Village, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

a big thank you for your fantastic review of Koh Yao Yai Village.
It was great to hear that you enjoyed our resort and all the unique touches included.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back soon to our small Village family.

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Villa
The villa was lovely, very spacious. The aircon was perfectly serviceable, and not too noisy (although not silent), and the furnishings were modern. The window seat was very comfortable and made a nice place to escape the heat and humidity or for a little siesta. Huge bed. Bathroom was very large, with an outdoor shower - though really it was just missing the flat roof the rest of the villa had, as it was still covered by the thatch from the main roof. All felt very tropical, with the right combination of rustic, local and clean/functional.

Although it says 73 square metres, only about half of that is in indoors, the rest is on the rather lovely decking, including two sunloungers (and for most of our stay, a cat - but more on that later), along with a day bed, covered by a (generally necessary) mosquito net.

Restaurant
We did not try any of the western food - I really can't stand when people go to an exotic place like this and just stick to burger & chips, but that's personal preference. So the local food - excellent, really very nice, with a single curry (for example) filling both of us up for lunch. Steamed rice portions were free. Most main dishes that weren't fresh seafood - chicken and beef, usually - were priced around £5. Not expensive by western standards, but if you venture around the island you can find cheaper.

For dinner you have the same menu, as well as the option of whichever buffet was being served that night, although those generally seemed quite expensive. Varieties included pasta, wok and fisherman's buffets. We tried the fisherman's buffet which was excellent - a variety of locally sourced seafood, cooked on a grill in front of you. I'd never tried barracuda before, for example.

Breakfast is fairly wide ranging, with the usual bread/cheese/ham selection, along with fresh tropical fruits, yoghurt, juice and a rather lovely egg station that will provide you with omelettes, scrambled, fried, poached or boiled eggs, with a variety of fillings.

The resort as a whole is very nice, set on the beach and going back in to the hillside. Our villa was one of the highest up - if you're averse to a bit of an uphill walk, you can probably request one closer to the beach, but we found the privacy and quiet of being further away from the main part much preferable (and after stuffing ourselves on the food at the restaurant it was probably necessary).

The beach is not great - a concrete barrier has been erected to retain some semblance of a sandy beach, but while the beach is nice, the barrier is a bit of an eye-sore. Beyond the barrier is what can probably best be described as a mud-flat. With the tide in, it's very picturesque (especially looking from the infinity pool) apart from the barrier. With the tide out, you can walk quite some distance out, which was quite pleasant to do at sunrise (beautiful), but I would recommend not doing so with flip-flops, as they will just always get stuck in the mud. I'd suggest the most rugged footwear you have.

There are quite a lot of semi-wild cats roaming around the paths in the jungle. Some of these are friendly, some less so. One followed us around, rubbing up against our legs and trying to get in to our villa and on the daybed, but others will run away at any hint of noise or movement. On top of that, we also saw some kind of local monitor lizard looking ominous, and then saw its mother - and quickly changed direction.

The staff were all very friendly with us, and very responsive to any comments. On arrival, there were quite a lot of insects in our room, so we called in at the reception on the way to dinner, and by the time we got back, the room had been sprayed, and two cans of insect spray left in the room. Applying this spray before leaving the room ensured that there were basically no unwanted visitors in our room.

Our arrival was slightly apprehensive as we had had some issues with booking our transfer through the hotel - I think language issues as much as anything else - but upon arrival at the airport we were greeted by a driver and ushered in to a 7-seater along with another couple and plenty of bottles of fresh, ice cold water. We were then dropped at the port to board a speedboat with another group of visitors, and took a rather lovely trip across the water to Koh Yao Yai. Subsequently we boarded a slightly more rustic looking van and driven across the island to the hotel. All told, hassle free, although you probably could find it cheaper if you do it yourself, as we paid 1500 THB each for a return transfer to Phuket airport.

On the topic of organised transportation, we also found the snorkelling trip to be somewhat overpriced, and slightly underwhelming. Although the first of the three spots was lovely, in the middle of the water and just dropping off the side of the boat, the second two were hugely crowded with other tourists. I would have been quite happy staying in the first place, really.

Overall, an extremely satisfying experience, I would certainly go back and have already recommended it to freinds

Room Tip: Higher number rooms (numbering up to the 901-920 rooms) are up in the forest, so be prepared for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisSmith86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I and our two children (8 and 11) have just spent two nights here. It is a stunningly beautiful place and it was lovely to spend some time at a quieter location away from the mainland. We stayed in a family villa and were a little disappointed that there were no views from the villa but the views from the pool and restaurant certainly made up for it. We found the service at the restaurant a little frustrating particularly as we were often the only guests dining. This was highlighted on our last day when we just wanted to grab a hamburger for lunch prior to leaving and had to wait nearly an hour for it and then having to rush to make our connections. We had a fantastic day snorkelling, we were the only people on the long boat and 'Job' the activities co-ordinator was great, spending heaps of time snorkelling with my son showing him many underwater creatures he may of otherwise missed. We didn't feel rushed on the tour and on the way back we even stopped at the local Ramadan market and had a look around. All in all a great place to see a more traditional part of Thailand and we would certainly recommend a visit. Our only tip would be to organise your own transfers, it's easy to do it yourself and we saved about $100 each way.
Marree and Wayne

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you want quiet, relaxing and a real change from the development and chaos of places like Phuket this is it. We stayed in one of the sea view villas with our 2 young daughters for 4 nights and loved this place. Beautiful design which fits in with the landscape the place is perfectly serene. When we visited the resort during low season there were very few guests but this didn't stop us for enjoying our stay hugely - plus it was a bit of a bonus to virtually have one of the pools right next to our villa all to ourselves.

We also enjoyed the village and Yao Noi tour for the day - really interesting to see how life is on these two sleepy islands.

Probably my only criticisms would be a bit of 'drip pricing' - when we booked we made it clear there were four of us coming along and were quoted a price for that. when we arrived we were surprised to find there was only one single bed made (despite having 2 children) and had to settle for a mattress put on the floor for our second little one. Further to that we were a little dismayed to discover "extra bed" charges when we were settling our bills which added up to an additional 1200 baht a night on top of what we were expecting to pay.

Also breakfast was a bit of a pain - you have to tick off what you want and then wait for the waiters to bring it out, not always quickly or in a logical order - not great with impatient small children. Would be far better to have a buffet arrangement. But having said that the restaurant staff were so lovely and very nice to our kids.

|Overall - we loved it and would like to go back.

Room Tip: Sea view villas are worth the extra money - they are spacious, private and just gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I booked a trip to this unknown island as an add on to my Bangkok break and I was super impressed with the hotel, staff and commitment to providing an excellent experience for guests. We arrived on a super rainy day in Phuket and were picked up promptly by KYY shuttle who transferred us to Ao Po Grand Marina. The resort has its own luxury speed boat which took us over the small stretch of sea on Phang Na Bay to Koh Yao Yai. The village is about 30 mins in a car from the Pier, and you immediately get a sense of how quiet and unspoilt the island is. We were taken care of right away and our bags transferred to Deluxe Bungalow 405. Not sure why we couldn't have one of the bungalows a bit closer to the lobby but a minor quibble. The bungalows and villas are very cute and rustic, with a veranda and open roof shower. Housekeeping was excellent with a commitment to being environmentally friendly, guests were gently advised to consider re-using bed linens and towels.

The Infinity Pool next to the Khayee Restaurant was incredible with views of the limestone islands in the sea and the pier on the south side. Aside from the Khayee Restaurant, the Krachang Bar & Grill was also open and the food at this hotel was sublime. Meals may have been a tad bit pricey but well worth it - the attention to detail in presentation of the dishes to the delicate flavours was 5 star.

The village itself is on the North side of the island and there, there are plenty of small shops and a few currency exchanges and at least one ATM. The pier on this side takes you out to Khai Island, Koh Yao Noi and Koh Khup islands for snorkelling.

If you want to have a really really relaxing time away from the usual hectic partying on some of the other Thai islands, then KYY is for you. If you still want to party however, then Samui and Phi Phi may be better options, but for complete relaxation and being treated like a rockstar then KYY is for you. Also have to say that the Spa and the Spa Manager (also the PT for the staff) were incredible, I joined in a Body Combat class and had a great time. My sister took part in one of the Thai Massage/Yoga Basics classes and also have a great time.

Room Tip: If you don't fancy a long walk back to your bungalow, then request one of the bungalows closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farzana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYY M, Manager at Koh Yao Yai Village, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the lovely comments following your stay at Koh Yao Yai Village. We particularly enjoyed reading about how the restaurants and your experience. Service is all about detail and we always want our guests to feel relaxed and comfortable. We are glad you noticed all the little details that make us unique.

We are looking for welcome you back one day

Warm regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
5.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
623 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
752 reviews
6.3 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Yao Yai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Yai Village

Property: Koh Yao Yai Village
Address: 78 Moo 4 | Talad Yai Sub-district, Muang District, Phuket, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koh Yao Yai Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Yao Yai Island is a yet-to-be-discovered tropical haven utterly untouched, offering guests a rare opportunity to step back in time and join in traditional Thai island life. Far removed from the hustle and bustle of holiday destinations such as Krabi and Phuket, Koh Yao is a charming area of outstanding natural beauty consisting of a cluster of small islands nearby Phuket in scenic Phang Nga Bay. Ko Yao Yai Village is perfectly situated in a sheltered spot offering accessibility all year round with the resort carefully created to echo rural island life whilst ensuring guests are comfortable and well-taken care of with plenty of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Yao Yai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Yao Yai Village Hotel Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing