We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Yao Yai Village
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Just returned yesterday from a very relaxing and peaceful week at Koh Yao Yai village resort. It was an exceptionally quiet time with only about 20% of rooms taken which was bonus for us and added to our enjoyment. We stayed in one of the bungalows which was delightful, clean, spacious and beautifully furnished. They are basic but this adds to their charm. We had everything we needed in the room, fridge, tea making facilities, loads of towels, and lovely sarongs. We loved showering looking up at the sun glimmering down through the trees. It is hard to explain just how much we enjoyed the stunning infinity pool and the amazing views from it of the numerous limestone islands rising out from the ocean, the local fisherman standing up to their waists in the sea, the long tail boats coming and going and the variety of birds, especially the sea eagle & herons.mWhoever designed it got it just right. We also enjoyed the other pool in an equally lovely setting that most visitors appeared to be unaware of.
Yes the sea does go out a long way leaving an enormous expanse of exposed sand, but this in itself is fascinating teeming with wildlife, huge crabs and herons, both the grey & smaller brown heron. It is well worth walking on the beach when tide is out especially early in the morning and watching the sunrise. It is possible to swim in the sea at high tide which we also enjoyed.
Previous reviews had criticised the restaurant as being expensive but we did not find this to be the case and our meals there were generally very good. I think it is a pity that the chef does not offer a different " chef's special" dish every day. I also feel it is a shame that the little cafe bar at the smaller pool is not promoted and used more especially for lunch. It has great views and a lovely atmosphere. We found all the staff everywhere to be friendly and eager to please.
The spa and activities are on the expensive side and like other reviewers we booked a scooter for two days from the guy just up the road to the right of the resort. The roads are quiet and the island well worth seeing. Sadly there is a lot of roadside rubbish which spoils the beauty and will only get worse if the islanders do not take some action now.
We definitely think that the Koh Yao Yai village resort is the best place to stay on the island and if you are looking for rest and relaxation in a beautiful location and not a lot more then it is absolutely ideal. We are aware that our experience may have been very different had the resort been at full occupancy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2111Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    230
    63
    27
    12
See reviews for
140
371
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was our first visit to Koh Yao Yai. Stayed there with my wife and daughter and we loved the island - what a contrast to busy Phuket.
We stayed at the Koh Yao Yai village. I initially booked the deluxe villas but when we arrived I upgraded to the sea view villas. Not much of a view from our villa, though. Trees and greenery blocked out most of it but that didn't bother us at all. Villas are very nice and tastefully furnished
and very comfortable. The staff is there when you need them but not intrusive. Food at the restaurant is good with attentive and very friendly service. The check-in was a bit lengthy since our details, all submitted when booking online with the Phuket office, were apparently not transferred to the resort. No big deal, though. I am sure we will stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikephuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed with our three children aged 10,8,& 4 in July 2013. What a beautiful resort! We originally booked for 3 nights and ended up staying almost a week. We stayed in a seaview bungalow which offered stunning views across the ocean. The bungalow was huge with an understated but very stylish interior. The balcony was like another living space. The resort grounds were simply beautiful...like being on the edge of the jungle. The rooms were very clean, the staff warm and friendly. The pools were amazing! We stayed near the smaller pool, which was deserted most of the time so the kids were free to frolic. The larger pool with the swim up bar was incredible and oft frequented by us! The beach in front of the resort was very well tended and kept free of the rubbish that seemed commonplace on the rest of the island. The only disappointing thing about the resort was that the food was just ok and there were very few other options on the island. We did find one little gem of a place on the main road that did a fantastic curry. That being said, we did arrive at the start of Ramadan so I'm not sure how this may have affected day time dining options. There are many more restaurants on Yao noi, which is an easy and inexpensive long boat ride away, although being low season, many resorts and restaurants were closed. There is very little do on the island, a bus trip around the whole island takes a couple of hours, you can also book trips from the resort desk...we did a day trip to the islands which was pretty sad as evidence of the reefs' destruction was everywhere. Relaxing was our plan for the start of our holidays and the resort with it's beautiful surrounds, was the perfect place to do this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolew31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at Ko Yao Yai a week ago and enjoyed every minute of it! Ko Yao Yai is a quiet island, only about an hour's boat trip from the tacky madness that is Phuket. The island itself hasn't been overdeveloped or too affected by tourism - and let's hope it never will be. We made our own way to the island as the hotel charges a ridiculous amount for a transfer from Phuket - our local ferry trip only cost us 140 Baht each. The location of the hotel is superb, the enormous infinity pool overlooks the stunning Phang Nga Bay and is very impressive. Even though you are not able to swim on the beach, the amazing pool area makes up for it, and is definitely a highlight of the resort. The rooms at the hotel are peaceful and beautiful, you have an enormous balcony, large bed, television, outdoor bathroom and lots of amenities. I could not fault the room at all! We had a very affectionate and obviously pregnant cat who we befriended during our stay, even though some people may find this unattractive our cat companion only added to our great experience! If you see the lovely grey cat, please give her a cuddle or feed her for me, as I am unsure if the hotel takes care of the cats on the property. The food at the hotel was quite average to be honest, i found the buffet breakfast better than the restaurant food at the lunch and dinner. The main issue with the restaurant is that it's extremely overpriced, on principle we only ate at the restaurant 2 times. On one occasion my green curry was so spicy it was practically inedible, even though i do like spicy foods this was ridiculous! I did complain and was not charged for that meal which i thought was very good of the staff. We decided to venture out to buy food, however all over the island prices are higher compared to Phuket. After reading many reviews we decided to head to 'Rimlay Seafood' a lovely restaurant down the road from the resort. First of all i was shocked by the prices, as many reviews said the restaurant was very cheap....for Thailand this restaurant could not be classed as cheap! It was only about 20 Baht or so cheaper than the resorts restaurant. Even though the waitress got out order completely wrong, the food was delicious and we were very impressed. As you are in a remote location, the best way to explore Ko Yao Yai is to hire a motorbike, however the hotel charges 500 Baht for 24 hours - which is insane. We have been traveling around Thailand for 2 months and have never been charged this much! As this was our of our price range we walked down the road and found a local renting motorbikes out for 300 Baht a day, which was far more reasonable. It was fantastic to explore the island on the motorbike and i would highly suggest it. However if you have not ridden a motorbike before beware, may roads on Ko Yao Yao are rocky and dangerous. The customer service at the resort is wonderful and i hope they are rewarded for their outstanding efforts!

We had a great stay at Ko Yao Yai village and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a peaceful and remote island getaway! It is far more beautiful than Phuket and if you are tossing up between the two i would definitely choose Ko Yao Yai!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montegrotto Terme, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice bungalows in a very unique setting, the island is great if you want something very, very remote and relaxed. The bungalows have a great outside area, very nice palace to chill with a cool beer and a nice book. The beach is not made for swimming, but you do have a great infinity pool with an awesome view. The breakfast is good but the Thai food and the fish in the two different restaurants could be better. The service is great the staff helpful and friendly, but the food has to be improved.., because you do not have many other choices on the island. If you want a nice to place for a couple of days during a island hopping tour on the Andaman sea, well then its for you. But for a longer stay it would not do for me.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manuelitto2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Disapointed at the begining found out that this is Muslim Island and no pork is allowed without being informed before booking. Also the view that claim to be the best one yet to be far from the beach and oh..there is no beach for you here to go swim..and that's all. Apart from that everything is great!! We had a lovely time there and enjoy every moment being there. Food is great! Staff are nice and helpful! Real nature and not touristy. Excellent service!!! Friendly tour guide. We didn't want to leave this place and will sure consider going back there again! :)

Room Tip: Cicada and geckos are making noise and even at night, just make sure you got your wine to make you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangnark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for five nights. We got a ferry across to the island from Ao Nang, and were picked up by the hotel shuttle. Our bungalow was really great, especially enjoyed the comfortable outside day bed, the open air shower and our king-sized bed. The main restaurant served a delicious buffet breakfast, light lunches and great evening meals (including the king-sized buffet!). The resort's main infinity pool was amazing, and I spent many hours cooling off and contemplating the amazing view accross the sea to the island. We found all of the resort's staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The resort has pretty decent wireless internet throughout. The resort arranges a variety of activities everyday, e.g. Boat trips, snorkeling, diving, etc., although we spent most of our time relaxing in the sun by the pool. A very relaxing and wonderful resort, would highly recommend visiting this incredible unspoilt island.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
5.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
607 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
749 reviews
6.3 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Yao Yai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Yai Village

Property: Koh Yao Yai Village
Address: 78 Moo 4 | Talad Yai Sub-district, Muang District, Phuket, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koh Yao Yai Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Yao Yai Island is a yet-to-be-discovered tropical haven utterly untouched, offering guests a rare opportunity to step back in time and join in traditional Thai island life. Far removed from the hustle and bustle of holiday destinations such as Krabi and Phuket, Koh Yao is a charming area of outstanding natural beauty consisting of a cluster of small islands nearby Phuket in scenic Phang Nga Bay. Ko Yao Yai Village is perfectly situated in a sheltered spot offering accessibility all year round with the resort carefully created to echo rural island life whilst ensuring guests are comfortable and well-taken care of with plenty of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Yao Yai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Yao Yai Village Hotel Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing