We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island with nice property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Yao Yai Village
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful island with nice property.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were spent 3 nights in Koh Yao Yai Village. The island itself is very beautiful and Koh Yao Yai Village is one of a beautiful resort on this island. Our bungalow is at the back roll. Very quite and comfortable bed, clean with full amenity their provided. Nice pool overlooking the ocean. Beautiful view.!! Spa here is excellent. By the way, I would like to thank the reservation team. they are excellent service and very helpful. I would recommended this place to our friends..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayEkkathattanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    227
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
138
363
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I am on my last evening in this resort as I write this. We paid for transfers to this island resort from out hotel in Patong, Phuket. The transfer process was wonderful..airconditioned minibus from out hotel to the pier in Phuket. We were then seated in a comfortable terminus with coffee, cold water and toilets to await our boat. The boat was luxurious and we felt that our holiday had already started once we were onboard. At the other end we were transported by tuk tuk bus to the resort. On arrival we we greeted with an ice cold face flannel and a wonderful juice smoothie while we were seated comfortably and all the check in paperwork was brought to us.
We had a garden deluxe bungalow which has a king bed and we had requested an extra single bed for my niece. The bungalow is lovely with a spacious room, large covered terrace with a day bed and loungers. The bathroom is huge with , best of all, an outside shower. On the terrace is a large refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities, which we made good use of. Flat screen wall mounted TV has 2 English movie channels, a Discovery channel and some sport and news channels. The main infinity swimming pool is amazing , with plenty of sun lounges, although a few more sun umbrellas are necessary. The Seaview infinity pool is smaller and the wooden decking around it is looking tired, with some broken areas. I went for one swim there and walked past it daily and never saw anyone using it, possibly because the other pool is so great. The beach is ok when the tide is in, but there are prettier beaches around the island. The website shows a swim up bar in the main infinity pool and also a bar close to the beach, but neither of these were open in the week we have been here. I think those things should not be shown on the website if they have closed them down. Breakfast is good, with enough choices please most folk, unfortunately the same cannot be said of the other restaurant meals. We had a meal there the first night for convenience and wished we had not bothered. If you walk up the driveway, turn right at the entrance and go along the road about 500 metres, you will find a local restaurant on the left side of the road that has delicious and well priced food..eat there or any other restaurant rather than at the resort which is expensive by local standards with mediocre food. A bit further up the road on your right side is a place that rents out motorscooters and sells the fuel for them. We paid 250 baht per day for ours..the resort charges 500.
Tips for you: hire a scooter and explore this lovely island.
Bring your own wine and beer..you have a big fridge to keep it inland It is expensive at the resort and hard to find on this mainly Muslim island.
Bring your own snack food and sunblock as these are expensive.
Check out the Gallery Shop at the resort..It has lovely souvenirs and other things you might need at fairly reasonable prices compared PhuKet.
I would recommend this resort and would come again ..but heed my tips.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank UmJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice place to get away from BKK. Seaview bungalow was very good. Nice size. Outdoor shower is very good. Only thing about the room was the concrete floors were slippery.

Restaurant was good. Menu for a resort was varied.Service as a little slow.

Spa was excellent.

Our only issue was we asked for the shuttle service from Phuket to the resort. Mis-communication resulted in the taxi not being there. We found our way to the public pier, then the ferry, then to the Resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were picked up at the Koh Yao Yai jetty by a rust bucket transport and immediately thought "Oh No" but on arrival was pleasantly supprised by the beautiful resort. The lobby staff were very friendly and helpful, the delux bungallow is fantastic and has all you could hope for in the moderate price range. A short stroll to the pool further impressed me as a stunning infinity pool overlooking the ocean and surrounding islands made the holiday feel sink in. Unfortunately the view is slightly spoiled by the location as the thin strip of beach overlooks several hundred meters of mud flats which would be covered by shallow water on a big spring tide a few days out of a month. The massage package for couples is well worth doing with competent, friendly staff on hand and makes for a beautiful experience.
The restaurant is the biggest let down for what could be a great resort. Although beautifully appointed and presented the restaurant has a great view of pool and ocean. The breakfast buffet is very good although lacking bacon :( BUT the service is some of the worst I have come across!. The staff are pleasant enough but will go out of their way not to work. In four days I was never offered a drink, checked on or served without having to wave frantically or stand up to leave. Groups of 5 staff would stand around talking, oblivious to the fact guests require serving. The food is not much better. The seafood is so pungent smelling I dare not eat it. A plate of seafood salad i tried and spat out which was served at my room sat uncollected for 24 hours and was at least enjoyed by the wildlife.
Dinner dining is very pleasant on the eye as the restaurant is beautifully lit with views and gardens but unfortunately spoiled by the cheap tacky musician fumbling with a guitar over cheap keyboard tunes and singing reminiscent of drunken karaoke bars.
Such a shame! I would love to return post changes.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gelds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seixal, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The 5 days we stayed here were simply perfect.
The employees were extremely nice, from the transfer when we arrived till the farewell. We felt really like king and queen. The bungalows were fantastic and the open air shower was magnificent. We really recommend some days here. The island is very quiet, mostly local people, all extremely friendly.
The pool was fabulous and we always felt alone. All the guests we very quiet, even the 2 or 3 babies we saw there were always quiet.
The less good this is the beach, the water is not as blue as we saw in other places, but with a pool as great as that who wants the beach :)
We usually do not return to the places where we have been, but we really want to comeback to Koh Yao Yai Village.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoaoNunoSoares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic location in a preserved environment, amazing rooms, friendly staff, many activities organized by the resort.
Though the restaurant room is amazing, the quality of the service is poor, just because of a total disorganisation, what à pitty !
Olivier

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Touze O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of this resort is idyllic and all the Basics to make it a Great Resort are here!! The staff, for the most part, are courteous, friendly and helpful but some more training is needed with the restaurant staff.
Our Seaview Bungalow was clean and comfortable and the room was well serviced. The main pool was great but would have been nice if they had opened the Pool Bar in the 6 days we were there. The second pool was ok and even a bit better after I had put my foot through a floor board on the pool surrounds. Fortunately I had only a graze but it could have been serious! The Pool closure and total floor maintenance, should have happened before the accident not after.

There is obviously a total lack of communication between different sections. Our confirmed booking for 8 people for a tailor made tour was overbooked because, as advised by the manager, there had been a miscommunication between reception and the tour desk, which are only a few metres apart. It is time the Manager started to do his job properly!!

Also need to do some proper maintenace on the tour boat it broke down on the way to Phi Phi Island and we had to wait nearly 2 hours for a changeover boat !! Apparently this is a common occurrence.

The biggest disappointment was the food with the quality being very inconsistant!! Rain caused the closure of the BBQ area on several nights we had a meal here on the first night and it was first class but unfortunately subsequent meals fell well short of good!!

The Restaurant is poorly managed and greatly in need of a Quality Head Chef and a lot of Staff training. The setting for this Restaurant is absolutely brilliant it is time that Owners and Management realised what they have and the potential it has!!

The massages we had were great despite a booking malfunction! This is a resort for adults, there are no facilities for young children apart from the pool but must be watched by parents as no lifeguard and pool security is non existant.

Despite the criticsm we loved the place , a great place to "chill out" great location, lovely staff!! Would like to go back in 12 months and see if Owners and Management have listened to Guests and taken on board the criticisms , not just mine but also other reviewers!

Everything is Fixable at Minimal Cost!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpgoodship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
5.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
566 reviews
6.3 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
1,726 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Yao Yai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Yai Village

Property: Koh Yao Yai Village
Address: 78 Moo 4, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koh Yao Yai Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Yao Yai Island is a yet-to-be-discovered tropical haven utterly untouched, offering guests a rare opportunity to step back in time and join in traditional Thai island life. Far removed from the hustle and bustle of holiday destinations such as Krabi and Phuket, Koh Yao is a charming area of outstanding natural beauty consisting of a cluster of small islands nearby Phuket in scenic Phang Nga Bay. Ko Yao Yai Village is perfectly situated in a sheltered spot offering accessibility all year round with the resort carefully created to echo rural island life whilst ensuring guests are comfortable and well-taken care of with plenty of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Yao Yai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Yao Yai Village Hotel Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing