We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise in earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Yao Yai Village
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The 5 days we stayed here were simply perfect.
The employees were extremely nice, from the transfer when we arrived till the farewell. We felt really like king and queen. The bungalows were fantastic and the open air shower was magnificent. We really recommend some days here. The island is very quiet, mostly local people, all extremely friendly.
The pool was fabulous and we always felt alone. All the guests we very quiet, even the 2 or 3 babies we saw there were always quiet.
The less good this is the beach, the water is not as blue as we saw in other places, but with a pool as great as that who wants the beach :)
We usually do not return to the places where we have been, but we really want to comeback to Koh Yao Yai Village.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoaoNunoSoares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 781 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic location in a preserved environment, amazing rooms, friendly staff, many activities organized by the resort.
Though the restaurant room is amazing, the quality of the service is poor, just because of a total disorganisation, what à pitty !
Olivier

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Touze O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of this resort is idyllic and all the Basics to make it a Great Resort are here!! The staff, for the most part, are courteous, friendly and helpful but some more training is needed with the restaurant staff.
Our Seaview Bungalow was clean and comfortable and the room was well serviced. The main pool was great but would have been nice if they had opened the Pool Bar in the 6 days we were there. The second pool was ok and even a bit better after I had put my foot through a floor board on the pool surrounds. Fortunately I had only a graze but it could have been serious! The Pool closure and total floor maintenance, should have happened before the accident not after.

There is obviously a total lack of communication between different sections. Our confirmed booking for 8 people for a tailor made tour was overbooked because, as advised by the manager, there had been a miscommunication between reception and the tour desk, which are only a few metres apart. It is time the Manager started to do his job properly!!

Also need to do some proper maintenace on the tour boat it broke down on the way to Phi Phi Island and we had to wait nearly 2 hours for a changeover boat !! Apparently this is a common occurrence.

The biggest disappointment was the food with the quality being very inconsistant!! Rain caused the closure of the BBQ area on several nights we had a meal here on the first night and it was first class but unfortunately subsequent meals fell well short of good!!

The Restaurant is poorly managed and greatly in need of a Quality Head Chef and a lot of Staff training. The setting for this Restaurant is absolutely brilliant it is time that Owners and Management realised what they have and the potential it has!!

The massages we had were great despite a booking malfunction! This is a resort for adults, there are no facilities for young children apart from the pool but must be watched by parents as no lifeguard and pool security is non existant.

Despite the criticsm we loved the place , a great place to "chill out" great location, lovely staff!! Would like to go back in 12 months and see if Owners and Management have listened to Guests and taken on board the criticisms , not just mine but also other reviewers!

Everything is Fixable at Minimal Cost!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jpgoodship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days over the Holiday Break. After coming from Chiang Mai and Bangkok it was a nice reprieve. Amazing location, the villas are super nice, outside shower is cool. A few insects can creep in and get trapped in your room so theres that. We swore there was a mouse hanging out in our room as we saw little droppings in a couple places. But never bothered us. If you stay here be prepared to only eat there for the most part. Besides a couple super local restaurants a few miles away there isn't anything else. And it pains me to say that the food isn't that great. They have no idea how to cook seafood which is a pity. Stick to the Cheeseburgers and Thai dishes which they do know how to make. Service is pretty slow, drinks take forever to make.(we found it helpful if we just brought in our own beers from the on property gift shop.) We got stuck at the Christmas Gala which was something out of the twilight zone with a gangnam style santa clause and cross dressing elves. Breakfast there is pretty decent. The trip we took to Ko Phi Phi was dope and our tour guides were the bomb. Probably the best part of this stay. The spa was awesome, a little pricey but super relaxing. All and all it was a cool place to stay. Better food would make me stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Location is great, koh yao yai is still a genuine island, not too much touched by tourism. The resort when you first arrive seems amazing, staff is kind, rooms are amazing and well furnished. Spa staff is really well trained, best massages we had in thailand. Swimming pool is wonderful and well located.

But when you stay here 5 days you realize that:

- no one of the restaurant staff speaks english and most of them are not trained at all! So it happens you have to take by yourself menus, forks, tissues everything you need cause they don t care AT ALL! And anyway they don t understand you when you explain what you need!

- some people at the reception don t speak english, which is incredibile! They made 2 times a wrong booking for us at the SPA (ok my english is not perfect but I can still be perfectly clear when I say 2 hours and not 1)

- restaurant is too expensive but at least food is good


I know these are small things but after 5 days of misunderstandings you really get frustrated! And I think for what you pay you should get a better service!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laetitia_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

All in all we loved Koh Yao Yai Village. The rooms are truly beautiful, the service is super friendly, the pools rock, the spa is awesome with nice staff, and breakfast was included and pretty good. The big downside is that you are pretty much trapped in the hotel unless you do one of their paid activities. The food is too expensive compared to the quality, which was frustrating as it is the only option. Bikes can only be rented for 4 hours, and with such a secluded location they should be free to use as most other hotels around the Thailand islands do. The experience in general was a great one.

Tip: We did the Koh Phi Phi discover tour, and it was amazing. The guides were funny, helpful, and über friendly, and the locations were incredible. You get to visit Koh Phi Phi, Maya Bay (from The Beach movie), Pulang Bay, and monkey island (we got to hand a drink to a monkey and then watch him go "monkey boom boom"). Included great lunch, snorkeling gear, and as much water as you want. Perfect day!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in a small island without city-life (am from Los Angeles and needed this peace). The hotel sent transportation to pick us up. We drove for about 30 minutes from Phuket airport to a small harbor and then were transported to the island on a private boat. Upon our arrival to the hotel we were greeted by warm staff and assigned to our room. Rooms are individual bungalows made of natural raw materials and have an amazing private outdoor shower. The weather is warm and humid and there can be lots of rain. There is a restaurant on the premises, free wifi, and a spa. Because the bungalows are scattered on the property , you can have staff pick you up (they have golf carts) and drop you off if needed or desired (may not want to walk around when there's rain). The restaurant and pool have an amazing view of the ocean and it is a great place for honeymooners to bond. Overall, it was nice to get away from the city and enjoy the beautiful beauty of the island.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
5.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
686 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
782 reviews
6.3 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Yao Yai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Yai Village

Address: 78 Moo 4 | Talad Yai Sub-district, Muang District, Phuket, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range: $95 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koh Yao Yai Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Yao Yai Island is a yet-to-be-discovered tropical haven utterly untouched, offering guests a rare opportunity to step back in time and join in traditional Thai island life. Far removed from the hustle and bustle of holiday destinations such as Krabi and Phuket, Koh Yao is a charming area of outstanding natural beauty consisting of a cluster of small islands nearby Phuket in scenic Phang Nga Bay. Ko Yao Yai Village is perfectly situated in a sheltered spot offering accessibility all year round with the resort carefully created to echo rural island life whilst ensuring guests are comfortable and well-taken care of with plenty of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Yao Yai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Yao Yai Village Hotel Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing