We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, affordable and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Private, affordable and beautiful”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We arrived in Phuket almost an hour late because our flight had been delayed and immigration was slow to process us. The airline had actually run out of landing forms and we had to fill ours at the airport.

We took the honeymoon package which included airport transfer and the guy from the hotel was there to pick us up when we arrived. The trip to the pier took less than 20 minutes through the Thai roads.

The pier to the island though took about 45 minutes, and we were in what seemed to be a boat transporting food to Kho Yao Noi. The boat ride wasn't much to shout about but nothing much to complain about either. The people were friendly and nice and we arrived at the pier 45 minutes later thinking we'd be at the resort. However, the resort was about 30+ minutes by van from the pier. The journey through the picturesque Thai Countryside was nice, but I'm from Malaysia so this was like a drive back home. Too far.

However, once we reached the Resort it was excellent. They upgraded us to the hillside pool villa with a big pool and fantastic view and privacy. The beach was better than anything on Phuket island, although it's a bit too rocky to swim in. The Resort had at most 5-8 couples and we shared 250meters of beach front. It was a private as it could get during the peak november period, I loved it.

Food was excellent. We had a great bar-b-que dinner with traditional thai dishes on the first day and fantastic authentic Thai food on the second. The prices in the hotel are a bit pricey, so I recommend you take the package, or be prepared to spend around 600-1000 baht for dinner for 2.

The next day we headed up to Ko Khai, which was excellent. The best part about the resort is that it's just 15 minutes from Ko Khai, so we could go there by a long tail boat, far more romantic than those speedboats you see all around. The boat man, even stop us a bit far off from the island to go snorkeling in Jelly Fish infested waters, fortunately we weren't bitten although I got a little too close for comfort to one Jelly fish. The boat man actually stopped his boat and grab up a jelly fish...with his bare hands. My wife and I were both shocked, but she seemed too busy taking photos of it.

The ride to Ko Khai was so nice, we decided to do it on the second day too. It's a beautiful crystal clear water beach filled with fishes. I really had fun feeding the fish, it felt like a feeding frenzy and I think the fish forgot how to swim , as they were so slow I could actually swim with them.

The beach at sunset was magnificient and dinner (and breakfast) by the beach is fantastic. You get these in Phuket as well, but none these private. I loved it.

Now some cons, because we stayed in the hillside villa the water pressure was a bit low and we never managed to utilize our bathtub, which was beautiful.

The Pool was a bit dirty, but that is because it's an outdoor pool, there's no way around it. That being said the deck chairs and the beautiful tree growing through our villa providing shade...is to die for.

On our way back, we took a short 10 minute ride to the pier and a 1 hour ferry to Phuket. It was a different pier. Ask for this if you're not interested in long rides through the Country side.

Overall, I had a great time in Elixir, and I would recommend it to anyone. It's much more private than the rest of Phuket, for a better price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    150
    40
    12
    7
See reviews for
79
282
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The resort was very nice, extremely quiet. Staff did not speak English at all and it was hard at times. Rooms were very nice, lovely bathroom. Nice beach although very small. There is nothing to do on the island so you are stuck in the resort, unless you go on a tour to a different island. Very romantic though. Food was very boring and not so special

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steraimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Very nice and quiet resort , wonderful beach. Stayed in beachpool villa, witch was great, nice view over the ocean. Felt like we were the only tourists on the island. Very serviceminded staff. The hotelmanager gave us a very exciting trip around the island, for free!
Cheap and good restaurant. If you want an unspoilt quiet place, you must choose this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2010

1. Don't get the Ferry it vey old and I'd rate unsafe (I'm in shipping so I should know) but speed boat is at the other end of the Island
2. Pics on website are outdated and resort not made out to what it should be
3. Over priced for what you are actually getting compared with other resorts we stayed at...this was the most expensive and we would rate the worst
4.Arrived and found Fire Ants on our deck and took the pool boy being attacked the next morning for anything to be done even though we had complanined to management pervious day
5.The beach was discusting and covered in rubbish couldn't even swim because of all the rubbish floating in the sea
6.Main swimming pool was in need of overhaul with very small metal umbrella's that were rusty and broken plus a deck that needed attention with planks lifting.

In conclusion we both agreed that the Resort needs a makeover and to be honest in what you were getting for your dollar as they advertise themselves as a luxury resort.

We only stayed 2 nights when we had booked for 4 and went back to the 1st resort we stayed at which was THB4370 compared to THB5750 and far better

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazzas1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We had a fantastic time at Elixir. Beautiful place, very quite, on a beautiful beach. It is true that the sea isn't swimmeable at low tide, but it didn't matter as the swimming pool is absolutly beautiful and right on the beach front.
The staff was really nice and helpful, and everything was made so that our 10 months old baby would feel confortable (and her parents all the same).
There was great discount available through internet booking (on their website) when we were there, and we were delighted with what we got for the amount we paid.
I highly recommend this place, only 30 minutes away from busy Phuket, but so lovely and peaceful...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilipilinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Living in a huge city, need to escape from work this was the perfect place. the rooms are on the beach facing the west, so you got the sunset facing you! the rooms are really nice and cozy. the shower outside makes it even nicer. room service is good. people are nice. a tip: rent a motorcycle, its about 250Bhat for a half day, and you can drive all arround the island and visit the village...
i recommend this place for sure!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joncruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The Elixir Resort is breathtaking in it's natural beauty and setting. It is both majestic and not overdone. The all-bungalow setup makes the property feel really exclusive and unlike many larger big-resort style hotels. The remoteness of the resort added a sense of adventure and found-paradise. And the Island of Koh Yao Yai is exceptional because it has not been overrun with tourism.

Our beachfront, private-pool bungalow/villa was jaw-droppingly beautiful and luxurious. It felt tastefully opulent. Well appointed, but not needlessly excessive, The outdoor shower made every early evening getting-ready session a treat. And skinny dipping in your pool under the stars was too good to be true.

We stayed for 4 nights and each day was filled with a new adventure. The Sports Center staff were all genuinely friendly and professional. We sea-kayaked to a private beach, visited a floating village, did an open water dive (amazing!!), and visited islands that had secret hollow centers.

Other things: We did a 2 hour couples massage in our rooms (splendid), had fruit smoothies to our heart's content (it get's hot laying by the pool), and enjoyed each and every Thai dish they prepared (yum). The resort also arranged our transfers to and from Phuket airport which made it all the more relaxing.


The resort manager (Mr. Utai) is knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, and professional. The other staff were all professional and courteous. If we had trouble speaking in English with them, they would find someone who could help. There are other reviews where people have expressed dfrustration that hotel staff (waiters, etc.) don't speak English -- we never found it to be a problem and actually enjoyed the fact that this place seems authentic and not another disney/faux foreign encounter. Perhaps Phuket or Cancuun should be recommended if you're so inclined.

We have stayed in dozens of beachfront pensions, hotels, and resorts -- for us the Elixir has the perfect balance of luxury and genuine in-touchness with the setting and people and we wholeheartedly recommend it to all of our friends.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
7.6 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
653 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
607 reviews
13.9 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,777 reviews
13.6 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

Property: GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
Address: 99 Moo 3 | Prunai, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand (Formerly Elixir Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai is an ideal island resort situated on a peaceful and private beach on KohYao Yai in Phang Nga. The 35 midscale all-villa property sits on a 300-meter stretch of beach just steps away from the glistening Andaman Sea.GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai is the first GLOW by Zinc resort worldwide and the third property in Thailand.The resort features 35 private suites/villas in contemporary tropical design with a rustic island style set amongst lush tropical gardens. The unique island layout provides each of the villas with a stunning sea view and direct access to the enticing beach of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elixir Hotel Koh Yao Yai
Elixir Resort Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing