We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
Nearby Hotels
$50
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$81
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Thiw Son Beach Resort(Ko Yao Yai)(Great Value!)
$32
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$45
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Activities Resort(Ko Yao Yai)(Great Value!)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Yao Yai Resort(Ko Yao Yai)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heimat Gardens(Ko Yao Yai)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
291
170
49
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
170
49
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerbeachfront villapool barroyal phuket marinalow tidebeautiful private beachsea urchinscloset spacediving centercleaned dailyother end of the islandfree upgradestayed here for four nightsthe resort managermuslim islandperfect place to relaxno pork
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 530 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hello, we spent 6 nights there with my husband and these were 7 so relaxing days! The island Koh Yao Yai is not so touristic, so there are not so many hotels and tourists. Glow Elixir is on the south of Koh Yao Yai on the West part. This is very good position because you can see the beautiful Sunset every day from the beach or from your cottage. The place is very calm and relaxing. No terrible noise, no people on the beach offering some service. Of course you pay more for hotel service. The price is realy high. I can say that some cottages would need paint and the swimmingpool bar was closed all the time although there were lot of people near to the beach and swimmingpool.
The staff was very friendly, smilling all the time.
And the restaurant.....excellent, delicious, I am loosing my words :-) There was a Michelin cook during Decemeber 2013 and the Thai cookers had learned a lot, realy. We loved Teryaki chicken the most :-) The prices are higher than you are used to in Thailand, but for us still cheap while comparing with Czech Republic.
The only dissapointment we had were Elixir divers, but may be it depends on people. They were friendly but were not able to give us any information what to do on Koh Yao Yai or what trips could be done and could be nice, even they were Czech people.
You can rent a motorbike 20 m from the hotel for 250THB/day. The longtail boat will take you with the motorbike to Koh Yao Noi for 100 THB/person. If you would like to have more trips, there is a travel agency on the main road, 40 m from the hotel. I think they could have better prices than hotel.
If you are looking for a different restaurant or some another meal, there are some local people cooking, but 3 - 4km far away from the hotel.
Fitness centre is small, but enough for our needs.
If you need to have a rest and looking for a romantic place with delicious meals, I can fully recommend. But only for 5 - 7 nights max., then you would be boring :-) You can go for a trip to oposite island - Koh Kha Nai.

Room Tip: Cottage n. 125 - 5 m from the swimming pool and 20 m from the beach, excellent :-)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renata V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a great hotel for relaxing and lying on the Beach. The hotel area is clean and the staff helpful and smiling. A nice Beach but be aware that it's only usable when there is high tide. The pool area is nice but not huge if the hotel is full, which it wasnt when we were there.

There are some thing around the grounds that could use a Little bit of maintanence but I wouldn't say that it is run Down.

The foodprices are a Little bit higher than other Places but it's not too bad.

The best thing is that there are no hotels close by so it's calm and quiet when you are at the Beach. We had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigge-2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We extended our stay from the original 3 nights planned to 6 as we absolutely loved this resort. Bungalows were immaculate. Beach was beautiful, private and very child friendly, swimming at high tide and beachcombing at low tide. Nice pool and good food. Staff was very friendly en extremely helpful. Special thanks to May for being our friend and showing us the local delicatesses. Also special thanks to Poh for al your efforts in helping us organise our further travels. Much appreciated. I hope we can come back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matje74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here six nights in January 2014 in one of the beach front villas. The island is calm and still authentic with only a few tourists. It is the optimal location for those, who want to relax in peace and do not feel the need to go out of the resort much.

The resort is beautiful and not too large, so that it was never too crowded and there was always a familial atmosphere during our stay. The location is simply like paradise, with a small little beach facing west and therefore with beautiful sunsets over Phuket. The infrastructure is luxurious and very well maintained.

The villa was fantastic with only a small lawn separating it from the beach. The lawn and beach are accessible for everyone but that does not compromise the privacy feeling in the villa and on the veranda. The furniture was comfortable, in very good shape and there was a nice outdoor shower to the back. The only small drawback was that the AC was a bit noisy, which can be a problem during the night for those who are noise sensitive.

General infrastructure of the hotel was also nice and adequate for a four star resort. The gym is basic but in a good condition with two treadmills and facing a beatiful little pond. The only restaurant serves a tasty variety of Thai and international cuisine during the entire day. The staff is very friendly and caring, however the English skills of some were insufficient. Especially in the restaurant and in the reception that was a problem sometimes. The manager is very friendly and made a very professional impression.

Room Tip: Take one of the beach-front villas they are worth every penn. However avoid the first one from the front (no. 111), because it is too close to the open restaurant. The fourth one (no. 114) has some noise emission from the swimming pool pumping station, which is directly adjacent to it. The most peaceful one is probably the one all the way in the back (no. 116).
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obwaldner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were a couple - stayed for four nights. Booked via discount on Expedia.

We had a lovely stay. Enjoyed the clean and well maintained bungalows with outdoor shower. Restaurant and breakfast were great. Staff was friendly (May/Mei was especially fantastic!).

The only con was the beach - it was rocky with washed glass from the tide (from Phuket). The water is still swimmable, but we found the beach at Lo Pared Bay (also on Koh Yao Yai) to be much better.

Koh Yao Yai is a truly untouched, authentic island. Get out of the resort - the island has one main road which is paved and easy to get around. You can rent a scooter right outside the gate of Elixir for 250 bhat (rather than 500 bhat in the resort). With a scooter you can access some great restaurants near Lo Pared Bay (one overlooking the water with great noodles, the other within the Heimat Gardens guesthouse). We also booked a Mangrove kayaking excursion through one of the tour operators on the island (one third of the price of the hotel).

Loved our stay. Would come back to the island? Absolutely. Would come back to the resort? Probably. The debris on the beach would be our only hesitation.

Room Tip: We were fine with the standard bungalow. That was more than magical!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saguptas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews