We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am sorry Glow Elixir but we are very let down. Dirty Dirty Beach” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Aussie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I am sorry Glow Elixir but we are very let down. Dirty Dirty Beach”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I did my research, it looked great. The staff are lovely, the rooms are nice.BUT the beach is so so dirty and polluted. When the tide is out you can see all the broken bottles and rubbish. There is no way you could safely swim in this beach. The food selection is very poor, seafood a big letdown.. The chef Scott was so lovely though so I feel really mean. GIno is adorable and he did everything he could for us as our arrival was a disaster day from hell as we got dropped off to the pier and the boat had a hole in it. Waited hours to find it wasn't coming anyway. My error for not arranging better with the hotel to get there. They really looked after us when we left. Thank you. We did leave 3 days early. The bed is ROCK hard. The massage is either in your room on around the pool with no privacy. She was not top quality that's for sure. I am honestly not wanting to be a winger, I just don't want you to be disappointed. Most of the staff have NO English, just be warned is all. It is so sad that the beach is so dirty. I understand the resort do all they can, its still sad though. On a good note, the pool is lovely, we had a pool villa up the top that they very very kindly gave us due to our horrid first day. Thank you very much. Unfortunately it was not cleaned unless I asked so got full of leaves. Even leaving a scooper would have been fine, don't mind doing that at all! Be warned, take what you need as it is very remote, no shops. Thank you Gino for your mosturiser and Scott for the razors.

Room Tip: If you get a pool villa, get one down the bottom at the beach.They are easily accessable for the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Gail,

Thank you kindly for your candid feedback of your recent stay at our resort, which is very much appreciated.

With regard to the dirty beach, it is quite challenging to keep the sand clear of debris every year in the monsoon season (June to October) as strong wind and powerful currents send waves of garbage from the ocean onto the beach, we are doing our best to keep the beach as clean as possible as you may have noticed during your stay that our gardeners have been working diligently to collect tons of trash strewn along the beach (more than two to three times) during the day depend on the tide. I am sorry that this may be beyond our control in certain moment of the day because garbage gets re-washed ashore every high tide.

Apart from the above, I do regret that the food selection, the bed, the massage service and the staff’s level of English communication did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very much appreciated and are being reviewed. Please be assured that we are continually seeking ways to improve our products and service to guarantee the best experience for our future guests. Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention.

Despite your unpleasant experiences above, I am glad that Chef Scott, my staff and I were able to give you some extra comfort with the villa upgrade upon your arrival and provide some little touches to delight your stay. And we wish that we could have done better to make up to your dissatisfaction.

Again, I’m sorry to hear that your overall experience was not a positive one and thank you for providing us a gift of opportunity to improve. Gail, I very much treasure your review and take all to heart. We look forward to having a pleasure of welcoming you back and to be of service to you again.

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“Yet, taught by time, my heart has learned to GLOW for other's good, and melt at other's woe.” – Homer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    146
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
73
271
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just got back from 3 nights here to end our week trip to Thailand. After 4 nights on the Yao Yai's sister island, Koh Yao Noi, we didn't want to travel to the more touristy areas and found this resort through Tripadvisor. It turned out to be just as advertised! A great place away from the mass tourism of Phuket, Phi-Phi, and Ao Nang. We were one of a half-dozen couples at the resort and felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. The price couldn't be beat (beginning of the low season) and we had 3 days of beautiful weather!

Like everyone has said, it is in a remote location but that just added more to its beauty. We took a motobike out two days, visited the far southeast corner of the island and found a deserted beach next to the fisherman's village with amazing snorkeling!!! There are not many "traditional" restaurants in the area but plenty of Thai stops. We stopped at the diner right next to the pier by the resort and had amazing papaya salad and ice cream!!! The one downside about the resort is that the prices are slightly higher than the average Thai restaurant and drinks are significantly more expensive (noticed it was pretty standard throughout the islands). However, that is one small "price" to pay for your own slice of paradise!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adventurous206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Adventurous206,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location -- especially your own secluded beach just in front of our resort. What could be better than rewarding yourself once in a while with a serene escape from your busy day-to-day lives to find your own personal space and indulgence. At GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, we strive to create a nice rejuvenating and refreshing holiday for our guests, so that they can bring the ‘ Elixir of Life” back home.

Many thanks for sharing your great discovery from your motorbike trips around the island. These are very helpful for future visitors to Koh Yao Yai. Also, I appreciate your feedbacks about our food and beverage pricing. Being an island resort in a remote location, our prices are a little more expensive than mainland prices due to the incurring extra costs to operate i.e. transportation from the mainland. Nevertheless, we often do spot checks on food and beverage costs in other venues including other resorts, and local restaurants to ensure that our prices are reasonable and inline with other operators on the island. Thank you for your sharing your thoughts with us.

Last but not least, we look forward accommodating you again in the future and we hope that you make us your home away from home in Koh Yao Yai!

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

"Let our Love be the spark which brightens a GLOW, in the hearts of the ones we love and care about." - Tom Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is the side of Thailand that we were expecting-quiet beaches, no jet skis,
banana boats, parasailing and the likes. We island hopped for a few weeks and
unfortunately Glow Elixir was the last stop on our trip. I am sure that if we
stayed there as our first destination we would have definatly stayed longer.
The resort is quiet, peaceful, laid back and fits in perfectly with the unspoilt
surounding. The staff are kind and efficient and for what they lack in English
skills (remember you are in a foreign country) they make up with the service
always smiling and friendly. The Chef greeted us on check in and wanted to
ensure that we were not allergic to any food items and enquired on how spicy
we liked our food, refreshing to see the Chef taking a genuine interest in guests
expectations. Needless to say everything that was served was spot on. One
of the nights we splashed out and opted for the secluded private beach dinner,
which was, mind blowing. Would highly recommend this option for a bit of
romance and is totally private. The rooms are great and we stayed in a deluxe
villa, which has an outdoor bath on the deck and was great slip into a cool bath
on the hot evenings. Would recommend this place hands down and cant wait to
come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samanthakotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear samanthakotze,

What a wonderfully descriptive review! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are over the moon to hear that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to your home away from home at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your Deluxe Villa as well as your dining experience with us. Wow! Great comments about our staff and Chef Scott. We will make sure we share with them!

Please come back soon as we would like to make your second stay as memorable as your first.

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“Character is what GLOWs when you are in the dark.” - Deyon Anteko Pitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Due to work commitments and pressure involved in my career it is rare that
I manage to sleep longer than 6 hours a night. That all changed when my
family and myself stayed at this off the beaten track resort. It is so relaxing
that after the first night settling in I was pleased to be sleeping a minimum of
8 hours a night! The beds and villas are extremely comfortable and having a
private pool villa was an added bonus. The front office team are delightful and
went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Having visiting Thailand
several times in the past, I had never experienced Songkarn (Thai New Year)
and was disappointed that they do not ‘play water’ on Koh Yao Yai. The team
specially arranged a private excursion to Phuket for a few hours to enjoy the
water festival. It was a great day out and a big thank you to K. Ball and the
front office team for arranging this for us, a fantastic memory that will stay with
us. The food was great and being a family of ‘fussy eaters’ with lots of specific
requirements the Chef and his team failed to disappoint us and he was always on
hand to double check that they got it right. The GM checks in with you regularly
and sorts out any small issues you might have on the spot. You get the feeling of
staying with a family who are focused on your every need. An all round fabulous
break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandondebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear brandondebeer,

It is so wonderful to hear that your family enjoyed staying with us! We strive to make our guests feel genuinely cared for, and are so glad that your family felt welcome. Most importantly, you are definitely part of our GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai family.

I am so delighted to know that Khun Ball and Front Office team we were able to provide you with remarkable service and anticipate your needs, as these are two of our primary goals. I was so proud that our entire team was able to make your time with us more enjoyable, especially with the fun Songkran’s ‘water splash’ trip in Phuket Town!

Moreover, we are also so glad to hear that your family enjoyed the personalized culinary treats by our Chef and F&B Services team. All we want is to see your smiles and to feel your tummy GLOW!!!

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is so refreshing and encouraging. We hope you will give us an opportunity to pamper you again the next time you visit Koh Yao Yai!

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“Seeing her swaying her hips all over the dance floor with a GLOW on her face, I had never realized how movement can bring such life to people at all ages.” - Michelle Lombardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in early April 2013. We did a lot of research before our trip to find the perfect place to stay and settled on Koh Yao Yai as it seemed the most unspoilt, least touristy spot but still with beautiful beaches. And we were not disappointed! The resort is beautiful, our room had a lovely view from the hill down to the beach. The beach itself was one of the best that we saw on the island. Swimming was a pleasure! The staff were very accommodating and helpful. We ate most meals at the restaurant and the food was lovely. Chef Scott personally came out to greet all the guests and discuss the meal options with us. This was a very nice touch and insured that every meal was thoroughly enjoyable. (Tip: ask about the local lobster...)
We did a few dives through the dive shop located at the resort and really enjoyed it. Very friendly and helpful staff again. Another must do on the island is to hire a scooter and explore! There are very few tourists and some amazing hidden beaches and beautiful roads if you are happy to get lost and explore. Well worth it!
Overall a fantastic trip and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Book a superior room or at least one on the hill. The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Bruce d,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding you recent stay at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai.

It is definitely a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with the team. We strive to continuously provide exceptional services and I am sure that your feedback will be an encouragement to all of us here.

I very much appreciate your kind words about our staff and Chef Scott and will definitely share your kind words with them.

Great tips about Koh Yao Yai, our room, local dishes and activities! They are useful for our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

"Let kindness create the GLOW that lights the pathway to friendship." - Tom Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Agree with Pilotguy1's review on this place. We too paid the extra for the deluxe room which was great with the hot tub and the private swimming pool, we were slightly up the hill which also made it quite private compared with some of the similar rooms right down on the beach. The beach is beautiful and the water visibility was the best of all the places we had been to in a 3 week travel around the islands which made a change. The Gym was better than most resorts in Thailand but still pretty basic. The food was choices weren't the greatest but still pretty good value. We were there in early April 2013 and were one of only what appeared to be 3 couples in the whole place so it was quiet in the extreme for us. Yao Yai Island is a quite non-touristy place and a stark contrast to Phuket or Phi Phi. we spent 3 nights here and 3 nights at Yao Yai Village Resort on the same Island (see review). If you like a bit more activity/action on your hols Koh Yao Yai is probably only good for a week, that said very unspoilt, very tranquil Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Actiondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Actiondave,

Thank you so kindly for your candid feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rest and the extra indulgence and privacy from your Deluxe Pool Villa.

We are so lucky to be part of Koh Yao Yai and its local community. Our island constitutes one of the last bastions of untouched wilderness in the region. As such, finding the true relaxation can be easier than you imagine, as the calm and silence that a holiday in Koh Yao Yai can give you are the best remedy against the stress of daily life.

Actiondave, I appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, a perfect unspoiled tropical space to restore your inner Glow with an absolute calm and serenity.

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“Goodness is uneventful. It does not flash, it GLOWs.” - David Grayson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Room : we stayed in Superior rooms and near the pool, so we had swimming on the pool every morning. The room is not too big but very comfort . The outside shower was great.

Restaurant : provides excellent Thai and Seafood as well as a few more international offerings and a wide range of breakfasts.The price is very reasonable.

Beach: The beach in front of resort is amazing and clear but unswimmable during low tide. Hotel provides timetable of tides in every room so you can plan your day accordingly.

Massages: in the pool side were great and very relax. I recommend must be try it.

Transfers: The hotel sent transportation to pick up us from Phuket .Don"t worry about how to go to Koh Yao Yai.

The resort manager Gion and the staff is friendly, helpful, and professional.

I recommend rent a motorcycle, its about 250Bhat for a day, and drive around the island. it was fantastic !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadawong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Dada,

Come back for another stay!!! Thank you so much for your positive feedbacks and all the great photos.

We're happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon experience at our resort and that you love all aspects of your stay and services offered; from your room to the food at Lalin restaurant plus some great tips on our private beach, poolside massage treatment, transfer service and the moped rental for a fun ride around the island. We believe that the simple pleasures are always the nicest.

Last but not least, congratulations to you and Kin on your honeymoon. I wish you all the best as you begin your journey through life together. Hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom of me in magnificent GLOW, than a sleepy and permanent planet.” - Jack London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
7.6 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
11.8 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
12.9 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
13.7 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

Property: GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
Address: 99 Moo 3 | Prunai, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand (Formerly Elixir Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai is an ideal island resort situated on a peaceful and private beach on KohYao Yai in Phang Nga. The 35 midscale all-villa property sits on a 300-meter stretch of beach just steps away from the glistening Andaman Sea.GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai is the first GLOW by Zinc resort worldwide and the third property in Thailand.The resort features 35 private suites/villas in contemporary tropical design with a rustic island style set amongst lush tropical gardens. The unique island layout provides each of the villas with a stunning sea view and direct access to the enticing beach of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elixir Hotel Koh Yao Yai
Elixir Resort Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing