We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is the side of Thailand that we were expecting-quiet beaches, no jet skis,
banana boats, parasailing and the likes. We island hopped for a few weeks and
unfortunately Glow Elixir was the last stop on our trip. I am sure that if we
stayed there as our first destination we would have definatly stayed longer.
The resort is quiet, peaceful, laid back and fits in perfectly with the unspoilt
surounding. The staff are kind and efficient and for what they lack in English
skills (remember you are in a foreign country) they make up with the service
always smiling and friendly. The Chef greeted us on check in and wanted to
ensure that we were not allergic to any food items and enquired on how spicy
we liked our food, refreshing to see the Chef taking a genuine interest in guests
expectations. Needless to say everything that was served was spot on. One
of the nights we splashed out and opted for the secluded private beach dinner,
which was, mind blowing. Would highly recommend this option for a bit of
romance and is totally private. The rooms are great and we stayed in a deluxe
villa, which has an outdoor bath on the deck and was great slip into a cool bath
on the hot evenings. Would recommend this place hands down and cant wait to
come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samanthakotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear samanthakotze,

What a wonderfully descriptive review! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are over the moon to hear that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to your home away from home at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your Deluxe Villa as well as your dining experience with us. Wow! Great comments about our staff and Chef Scott. We will make sure we share with them!

Please come back soon as we would like to make your second stay as memorable as your first.

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“Character is what GLOWs when you are in the dark.” - Deyon Anteko Pitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 467 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Due to work commitments and pressure involved in my career it is rare that
I manage to sleep longer than 6 hours a night. That all changed when my
family and myself stayed at this off the beaten track resort. It is so relaxing
that after the first night settling in I was pleased to be sleeping a minimum of
8 hours a night! The beds and villas are extremely comfortable and having a
private pool villa was an added bonus. The front office team are delightful and
went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Having visiting Thailand
several times in the past, I had never experienced Songkarn (Thai New Year)
and was disappointed that they do not ‘play water’ on Koh Yao Yai. The team
specially arranged a private excursion to Phuket for a few hours to enjoy the
water festival. It was a great day out and a big thank you to K. Ball and the
front office team for arranging this for us, a fantastic memory that will stay with
us. The food was great and being a family of ‘fussy eaters’ with lots of specific
requirements the Chef and his team failed to disappoint us and he was always on
hand to double check that they got it right. The GM checks in with you regularly
and sorts out any small issues you might have on the spot. You get the feeling of
staying with a family who are focused on your every need. An all round fabulous
break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brandondebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear brandondebeer,

It is so wonderful to hear that your family enjoyed staying with us! We strive to make our guests feel genuinely cared for, and are so glad that your family felt welcome. Most importantly, you are definitely part of our GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai family.

I am so delighted to know that Khun Ball and Front Office team we were able to provide you with remarkable service and anticipate your needs, as these are two of our primary goals. I was so proud that our entire team was able to make your time with us more enjoyable, especially with the fun Songkran’s ‘water splash’ trip in Phuket Town!

Moreover, we are also so glad to hear that your family enjoyed the personalized culinary treats by our Chef and F&B Services team. All we want is to see your smiles and to feel your tummy GLOW!!!

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is so refreshing and encouraging. We hope you will give us an opportunity to pamper you again the next time you visit Koh Yao Yai!

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“Seeing her swaying her hips all over the dance floor with a GLOW on her face, I had never realized how movement can bring such life to people at all ages.” - Michelle Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in early April 2013. We did a lot of research before our trip to find the perfect place to stay and settled on Koh Yao Yai as it seemed the most unspoilt, least touristy spot but still with beautiful beaches. And we were not disappointed! The resort is beautiful, our room had a lovely view from the hill down to the beach. The beach itself was one of the best that we saw on the island. Swimming was a pleasure! The staff were very accommodating and helpful. We ate most meals at the restaurant and the food was lovely. Chef Scott personally came out to greet all the guests and discuss the meal options with us. This was a very nice touch and insured that every meal was thoroughly enjoyable. (Tip: ask about the local lobster...)
We did a few dives through the dive shop located at the resort and really enjoyed it. Very friendly and helpful staff again. Another must do on the island is to hire a scooter and explore! There are very few tourists and some amazing hidden beaches and beautiful roads if you are happy to get lost and explore. Well worth it!
Overall a fantastic trip and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Book a superior room or at least one on the hill. The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Bruce d,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding you recent stay at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai.

It is definitely a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with the team. We strive to continuously provide exceptional services and I am sure that your feedback will be an encouragement to all of us here.

I very much appreciate your kind words about our staff and Chef Scott and will definitely share your kind words with them.

Great tips about Koh Yao Yai, our room, local dishes and activities! They are useful for our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

"Let kindness create the GLOW that lights the pathway to friendship." - Tom Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Agree with Pilotguy1's review on this place. We too paid the extra for the deluxe room which was great with the hot tub and the private swimming pool, we were slightly up the hill which also made it quite private compared with some of the similar rooms right down on the beach. The beach is beautiful and the water visibility was the best of all the places we had been to in a 3 week travel around the islands which made a change. The Gym was better than most resorts in Thailand but still pretty basic. The food was choices weren't the greatest but still pretty good value. We were there in early April 2013 and were one of only what appeared to be 3 couples in the whole place so it was quiet in the extreme for us. Yao Yai Island is a quite non-touristy place and a stark contrast to Phuket or Phi Phi. we spent 3 nights here and 3 nights at Yao Yai Village Resort on the same Island (see review). If you like a bit more activity/action on your hols Koh Yao Yai is probably only good for a week, that said very unspoilt, very tranquil Island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Actiondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Actiondave,

Thank you so kindly for your candid feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rest and the extra indulgence and privacy from your Deluxe Pool Villa.

We are so lucky to be part of Koh Yao Yai and its local community. Our island constitutes one of the last bastions of untouched wilderness in the region. As such, finding the true relaxation can be easier than you imagine, as the calm and silence that a holiday in Koh Yao Yai can give you are the best remedy against the stress of daily life.

Actiondave, I appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, a perfect unspoiled tropical space to restore your inner Glow with an absolute calm and serenity.

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“Goodness is uneventful. It does not flash, it GLOWs.” - David Grayson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Room : we stayed in Superior rooms and near the pool, so we had swimming on the pool every morning. The room is not too big but very comfort . The outside shower was great.

Restaurant : provides excellent Thai and Seafood as well as a few more international offerings and a wide range of breakfasts.The price is very reasonable.

Beach: The beach in front of resort is amazing and clear but unswimmable during low tide. Hotel provides timetable of tides in every room so you can plan your day accordingly.

Massages: in the pool side were great and very relax. I recommend must be try it.

Transfers: The hotel sent transportation to pick up us from Phuket .Don"t worry about how to go to Koh Yao Yai.

The resort manager Gion and the staff is friendly, helpful, and professional.

I recommend rent a motorcycle, its about 250Bhat for a day, and drive around the island. it was fantastic !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dadawong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Dada,

Come back for another stay!!! Thank you so much for your positive feedbacks and all the great photos.

We're happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon experience at our resort and that you love all aspects of your stay and services offered; from your room to the food at Lalin restaurant plus some great tips on our private beach, poolside massage treatment, transfer service and the moped rental for a fun ride around the island. We believe that the simple pleasures are always the nicest.

Last but not least, congratulations to you and Kin on your honeymoon. I wish you all the best as you begin your journey through life together. Hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom of me in magnificent GLOW, than a sleepy and permanent planet.” - Jack London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I really do not know how people can complain?
After Phuket, this place was truly paradise!

Golden sand, clear waters, yes the tide goes out (?! it is the sea?) but we always had plenty of time during the day to swim. Plus, the rocks etc look very pretty at sunset when the tide was out!

Beautiful sunsets!

Activities (including free dive trial) if you want to do them. We just wanted to relax- it surprises me that people come here looking for a 'busy' or 'touristy' holiday- there are not enough places like this!

Menu is pricey compared to main Thailand (not to UK prices though) but they do have to ship across everything. I would say we both ate and had a drink for £10 each a night (2 or 3 courses), less at lunch. We were there for 4 days- not long enough!

The rooms/huts are not slick and polished- they are rustic and beautiful!
We paid £170 for a pool villa (gorgeous views!) in peak season- compared to runnish little London hotels this was a bargain!

Want to be back there now!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sazzler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at Glow Elixir. On the positive side, we were upgraded to a deluxe pool villa, which was gorgeous. The outdoor shower, private outdoor hot tub and outdoor pool were beautiful, and the room was impeccably designed. The hotel grounds were also beautifully designed. On the negative side, the Thai food at the hotel restaurant was extremely unimpressive; I suppose that many Westerners complain about too much spice in their food, so the hotel overcompensates and delivers extremely bland food. Another negative is that the resort's location at the island's southern tip means that there are no other options for food in the nearby area, aside from one small seafood restaurant on the road outside the hotel. So, if you love great Thai food, stay elsewhere. While you can rent a moped (highly recommended, and we did), it's a long 30-minute drive at night to the only other restaurant open for dinner.

I would highly recommend Glow for families with kids, but not for couples looking for peace and quiet. The vast majority of customers had babies, toddlers, and young children with them, which meant that one was frequently hearing a baby crying or a toddler screaming -- which doesn't quite fit my idea of a tropical paradise. So I can't call Glow "relaxing," but if I did have kids I'd be very likely to stay here.

On the plus side, Ko Yao Yai is the most gorgeous and unspoiled Thai island we've seen (and we've been to many of them.) Very quiet and peaceful -- a world apart from Phi Phi or Lipe. We'll be back to Yao Yai, but we'll choose another place to stay next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pilotguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak_Lim, General Manager at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear pilotguy1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We love your pros and have taken to heart your cons. It is very important that you let us know what we can do better.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your upgrade to a deluxe pool villa and you found Koh Yao Yai very relaxing and peaceful. That’s the natural charm of this undiscovered destination.

GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai ia aiming to be a resort of choice for families, couples or singles, even solo! Everyone deserves a perfect fun and relaxing holiday. This recent February was somehow falling into Chinese New Year, which is a family holiday. Hence I sincerely regret if your island getaway was slightly disturbed by families with kids during that time.

Thank you for your feedback on our Thai food. I have already passed on your comment to Scott, our CheF&B Manager and his culinary team for their review and we are continually fine-tuning to serve choices of cuisine to suit all palates and will look for ways in which we can improve.

We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
General Manager
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

“There are two kinds of light - the GLOW that illuminates, and the glare that obscures.” - James Thurber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
7.6 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
759 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
776 reviews
17.7 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
673 reviews
13.9 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

Address: 99 Moo 3 | Prunai, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand (Formerly Elixir Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range: $99 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai is an ideal island resort situated on a peaceful and private beach on KohYao Yai in Phang Nga. The 35 midscale all-villa property sits on a 300-meter stretch of beach just steps away from the glistening Andaman Sea.GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai is the first GLOW by Zinc resort worldwide and the third property in Thailand.The resort features 35 private suites/villas in contemporary tropical design with a rustic island style set amongst lush tropical gardens. The unique island layout provides each of the villas with a stunning sea view and direct access to the enticing beach of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elixir Hotel Koh Yao Yai
Elixir Resort Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing