We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Thailand close to Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Yao Yai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Thailand close to Phuket”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

A great place for relaxing and experiencing the real Thailand close to the bustling Phuket. The Elixir has a nice range of comfortable, spacious villas, some with private pools. The rooms are furnished in old Thai style that gives them a cozy, warm feeling.
All villas have a bathroom and an outdoor shower, which, I think, is a really fun idea. The private beach is very beautiful with it's white sand and turquoise water, and the view of Phuket island and the smaller islands on the background.
There are also some swings on the beach and some hammocks. I was there every day relaxing with a book.

The restaurant offers a wide variety of delicious thai and western foods and the staff is friendly and polite.

I heard from the staff that starting from November, the Elixir will offer their guests different physical activities like yoga lessons, aerobic, zumba etc, free of charge.

From Elixir it is possible to book an island tour around Koh Yao Yai and see the real Thailand and the beautiful nature of the island. Some of the interesting sights I saw were the rubber tree forests, the rubber factory, rice fields, all the herbs and plants and of course the local living in general. You can also rent a scooter and explore the island by yourself.

If you are looking for nature and real untouched Thailand, Koh Yao Yai & Elixir is one of the best choise there is.

Room Tip: Next time I will book the Beach Front Pool Villa. The pools looked so nice and villas are on the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Midalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    150
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
79
279
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A place for rest and relaxation set in the middle of a secluded and beautiful island. From the minute we were met by hotel staff at the pier to the minute we left with a smooth and easy check out....the Elixir was amazing. Set on an unspoiled beach on a friendly and curious island, the Elixir was just what we were looking for. The rooms were tastefully furnished with an old Thai style and an attention to detail that made it feel like home. The food was excellent with a nice range of Thai to Western cuisine. No matter what you are in the mood for, the staff will ensure they can accommodate. The beach is beautiful and private with excellent views of Phuket Island and smaller out crop islands. We rented a scooter and spent a day exploring the island which made us enjoy the trip even more. Bottom line: great beach, great food, incredible staff...a slice of paradise only Thailand can deliver

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Lak, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011



What can I say about this place.....fantastic, magical, paradise, an absolute dream all come to mind. 

This hotel is nested on the lesser developed island of Koh Yao Yai which s accessible by ferry from two different ports from Phuket island. The ferry trip is fun and really adds to the overall island experience. 

Booked this resort 2 days before arrival and got a fantastic rate including breakfast. We arranged for the hotel to pick us up at the ferry port in yao Yai and they were there waiting for us as promised. A quick 10 minute trip had us at the entrance to the resort. When you arrive you Jay be sightly confused as to where you are being taken as the bus drives up a dirt road but n arrival we were met by the lively receptionship with a refreshment drink and cold towel in hand. Check in was quick and the lady then walked us to our room. 

We booked the hillside deluxe villa. And was well worth it. The rooms are decorated in a traditional Thai style but the wow factor was when you opened up the double doors onto your deck to find a small swimming pool and a large bath outside. It was absolutely fantastic. And to top that the view of palm trees, the ocean and Phuket island in the background was magical. The bathrooms are nice but the surprise feature was the outdoor shower. What a great idea for a country that enjoys relatively hot weather year round. My fiancee and myself loved it. 

As we arrived we also realised we were the only guest on the resort. I have stayed in places where you are the only guest there and sometimes you get the feeling you are intruding on the staff. This is certainly NOT the case here. The staff were fantastic and only to eager to help you or suggest things for you to do. 

We ate dinner both nights in the restaurant and it was delicious. Over the 2 nights we tried a few different dishes but my 2 personal fabouries was the thick red chicken curry and the prawns and broccoli. 

Breakfast was good too. Choice of American breakfast, continental or Thai breakfast.  

Overall really loved this resort, so much so at my fiancee is adamant that she wants to get married here. 

Looking forward to returning. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciaran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were upgraded to the best room (in my opinion) that was on top of the hill and the biggest pool villa. Very private and quiet. Rooms are spacious and clean and very relaxing just to stay in. Bring along some DVDs as their TV channels are limited. Indoor bath tub took ages to fill up (so Elixir if you are reading this please take note).
The front desk staff are friendly and most of them speak fairly good english. Pol, the duty manager was there for our 3 nights of stay and he is a very friendly and nice guy. He even helps out at the resturant during dinner times and chats with you. If you need anything, from tours to transfers to room related stuff, Pol will gladly assist. Thanks Pol for making our stay more pleasant!
Great place for couples, elderly, families, friends who want to do absolutely nothing during their holiday. If you get bored, you can arrange island tours to Phi phi, phuket etc. with the hotel. Prices are realistically hotel priced e.g. US50-100/pax depending on your activity. Or just rent a motocycle from the hotel and explore the island on your own.
Breakfast was not too good so I hope they will improve the quality of it.
Dinner however was good, with a wide selection of Thai food and western style food. We had Thai food for 3 nights and we enjoyed our dinner alot. Price is reasonable. USD20-25/pax for dinner.
The beach is disappointingly dirty. Alot of broken glass and misc trash lying on the beach. Not particularly Elixir's fault but perhaps washed up from neighbouring party beaches like phuket. Not suitable for swimming and kids must be careful walking the beach. Dont walk the beach barefooted. The hotel does have staff clean the beach on alternate days but they need to do more. If you want to swim, arrange a tour to take you out to other nicer beaches.
This is a nice simple laid back type of resort. Nothing to do on the resort itself which is what we were looking for. Will recommend it! Thank you Elixir and Mr. Pol

Room Tip: Room 203, biggest, private, best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrgarfield10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Elixir Resort, created in 2006 and meant to be a 4*- 5* accommodation, benefits wonderfully of its unique location at a pristine beach on the all but touristy island of Koh Yao Yai. This island, situated at a 30-min. speedboat ride from Phuket, offers the visitor a totally opposite image of Southern Thailand than the one found on Phuket Island. Of course, Phuket also offers a number of great beaches and (some) patches of unspoilt nature but the tourists, and the tourist industry in its various forms, is literally omnipresent here. No such thing on Koh Yao Yai. On this sparsely populated, and dominantly islamic island, you’ll meet locals, young and old, living in their mostly traditional wooden houses, and only very few foreign visitors will cross your path. This greatly adds to the quality of this long-shaped island (hence its name, meaning Long Island). Green is the dominant colour, through its original nature, together with rubber plantation and rice-paddies which you’ll also find on your discoveries on Koh Yao Yai.
The Elixir Resort still has a lot to offer to the visitor wanting to get away from it all, aspiring for quietness and an original Thai feeling. Its setting on a 400 m private beach, and facing Phuket in the west, is magnificent and will guarantee some spectacular sunsets, if the rain doesn’t spoil it… The beach itself offers excellent quality golden sand, good swimming opportunities and nice patches of natural shade, but it would even be better without the remains of broken bottles here and there…
The resort was initially meant to be a 5*-accommodation, but to a certain degree, some lack of maintenance makes it vulnerable to inevitable criticism by the more discerning traveler. The rooms have a nice layout, some original architectural features, and almost everything was in good working condition. But a number of minor and less minor issues downgrade the overall rating of the room facilities. The aircon is ok but somewhat noisy, there is only an outdoor shower (which is pleasant only if it doesn’t rain) with no hot water, the room has a DVD-player but only an old-fashioned TV, but our main negative comment regards the poor quality of the mattress. There is no real bed, only a mattress put on a higher wooden floor level, but that’s no big deal. But the mattress itself is not comfortable, considering its metal springs you can distinctly feel once you try to get asleep…
The mini bar provides the usual stuff, but prices are quite high. Considering this is an Islamic and thus non-alcoholic island, drinks have to be imported, resulting in higher prices. The restaurant drinks are equally expensive and so is the food, if you consider the not so large portions. Food quality was satisfactory, and there is a quite large food selection available. We would rate the breakfast – consisting of 3 set choices – only average. Bread and croissants were not that “daily fresh”, and coffee was quite poor quality.
Some other things :
- The resort offers free wifi but only in the activity center (run by Chech staff, including a diving center) and in one segment of the restaurant.
- The swimming pool is certainly ok but the pool area lacks maintenance.
- Pick-up and drop-off at the pier (coming from Bang Rong pier on Phuket Island) was well organized.
And one last but important factor : the staff were all very friendly and helpful, trying to accommodate us in the very best way.
To resume : the visitor looking for isolation and quietness, a great natural setting on an unspoilt island, great water sports activities (weather permitting…), and an original and friendly accommodation will find this place a “heaven on earth”. The client looking for top class rooms and prime facilities will not be happy to the same degree. The choice is yours to determine whether you belong to the first or second category …

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin_R_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at Elixir for only one night, but it was leaps and bounds above the other resort we stayed at on the island. Elixir is one of the two best (and only) resorts on the island. Koh Yao Yai is an island that you should research extensively before traveling to it. The pool and grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The staff cleans the beach every morning, which is really necessary because this part of Thailand has a bit problem with litter and glass bottles washing up. The swings on the beach were a great touch. Everyone was very friendly and we wished that we had stayed at Elixir form the start!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Elixir was all I had hoped, the chalets were exceptionally well designed and mine had its own exclusive pool with a view to die for. It was clean and comfortable in a simple, stylish way. The staff were eternally helpful and did all they could to make our stay one that we will remember for the rest of our lives. We ate Thai food throughout our visit and it was of the highest standard. We used a speedboat to get there and I suggest getting advice on where and when to catch the best boat, we used the ferry on our return to Phuket and I made sure I was near a door, just in case! The island is totally untouched and the bay on which the Elixir sits is a dream with thick, exotic planting both stretching behind into the hills, and within the complex so that the Elixir is a part of the island and not apart from it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
7.6 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
11.8 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
4.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
17.7 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
13.6 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

Property: GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
Address: 99 Moo 3 | Prunai, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand (Formerly Elixir Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai is an ideal island resort situated on a peaceful and private beach on KohYao Yai in Phang Nga. The 35 midscale all-villa property sits on a 300-meter stretch of beach just steps away from the glistening Andaman Sea.GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai is the first GLOW by Zinc resort worldwide and the third property in Thailand.The resort features 35 private suites/villas in contemporary tropical design with a rustic island style set amongst lush tropical gardens. The unique island layout provides each of the villas with a stunning sea view and direct access to the enticing beach of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elixir Hotel Koh Yao Yai
Elixir Resort Koh Yao Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing