We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea World Club Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maumere
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“On the beach”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was here just in the afternoon for a swim and a beer. It's a nice, clean spot, the cottages are right on the beach. You can go for a walk on the beach watch the boats go by. Owned by a German pater. There's also a Spa if you walk back to the road.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    111
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
42
105
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hang Dong, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We enjoyed our one week stay there in a spacious garden cottage very much. It was the end of our 1month travel from Lombo to Flores. The staff was VERY helpful with any thing we needed. They even arranged that we can take home 2kg of pure cocoa beans, Child care while i could enjoy a massage and went for a beach dive. Helmut the dive master has been working there for many years and can take you to the most amazing spots in the area. The staff gave us good advise on where to drive with the motorbike and get to some fun activities for kids.
A beach local market with ikat textiles once a week showed the dying and weaving., the sunrise is one of the most spectacular that i've ever seen. We enjoyed the food and they very tried to always make it right also for children.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momo2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Travelling with a group of 7 friends we are very grateful to Romana from Sea world for helping us organise accomodation at various places on Flores. With a large group it can be a challenge on beautiful Flores to find clean beds - at some locales.We also arranged a car and driver through Sea World. Aemon is a fantastic driver - the trans Flores highway is of course a big challenge at times!
Sea World resort was a great base for us for a few days while we explored the area. We came home with glorious ikat textiles from Watublapi! The hotel cottages are lovely, the gardens full of colour, the staff very helpful and the food was fine. A group of local musicians provided a fun concert one evening. Special thanks to Romana.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Sea World Beach Club, just outside the town of Maumere, was a total surprise at the end of our trip across Flores. We were expecting something pretty basic but had a gorgeous beachfront cottage which was directly on the beach and absolutely huge with a large balcony area.

The grounds are well maintained and the beach is lovely and you'll pretty much have it to yourself, except for a few fishermen.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was good and very well priced.

What really set Sea World Club apart was the amazing service we received from one of their employees - Mery on reception.

When we were arranging transport to the airport the following day for our flight back to Bali, we discovered that the airline we had booked with had gone bankrupt and was no longer flying. I was going to try looking for alternative flights online but Mery said she would help and made numerous calls on our behalf, but the first available flight was going to be in 3 days. We resigned ourselves to staying at Sea World Club for the next 3 days (and as places to be stuck then this is pretty idyllic!), however Mery suggested we go to the airport at 6am the following morning to see if there were any cancellations and she offered to accompany us to speak to the airline staff - now that is going above and beyond good customer service!

Mery duly met us on the way to the airport at 6am and spoke to the airline staff and managed to get us 2 cancellations on that morning's flight to Bali. However, they would only take cash (no credit cards) so we spent half an hour driving around to various ATMs in the vicinity but were still about 800,000 RPH short (due to the machines running out of money), however Mery then offered to take some of our US dollars from us which we were carrying as back-up and to change them in town and then bring the remaining RPH back to the airline staff later that morning after we'd departed.

Thanks to Mery, we made it on the first flight back to Bali - this is over and above any service I have received at any top hotel in the world. She is an absolute angel and a credit to Sea World Club.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was a nice place, clean, with good little bungalows on a lovely beach. The town of Maumere itself is really nothing much to write about so this is by far your best option. A little on the pricey side but the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was not fabulous but definitely ok with a few good surprises.

The place has wifi although does not reach all the bungalows. You can always access it from the check-in building or the restaurant. There is hot water in the shower.

It's a quiet place, great for a few days of complete relaxation if that is what you are looking for. Get the beach front bungalows. The least expensive ones at 65USD had the best balconies from which to sit, have a beer and watch the ocean or the fishermen in the morning.

Room Tip: Get the beach front bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Sea world beach club not quite what I expected. Lovely surrounds and pleasant staff . Room was ok but nothing too exciting right on beach much more preferable than on of the garden suites. Food was just ok - lots of it big size dishes but too much sauces. The reception organised trip to Kelimutu which was amazing and not overly expensive. Really depends on what you're after - not much to do in maumare - not a lot of options if you don't ride a motorbike- maumare is really one or two nights tops but if you like diving maybe more.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopsteignton
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed for a week on a package which included our meals and some excursions. Its was very good value. Our sea view cottage was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The balcony was wonderful with amazing beach and ocean views.

The food was good but not brilliant. The staff were all wonderful, friendly and helpful.

The tours we went on were excellent and enabled us to visit areas of Flores that we would not otherwise have seen. The hotel also arranged a trip for us from Labuan Bajo to Rinca Island to see the Komodo Dragons. This was absolutely amazing and fantastic value for money.

We hope to revisit at some time in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maumere
1.8 mi away
CAPA Resort Maumere
CAPA Resort Maumere
#4 of 5 in Maumere
31 reviews
1.4 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
166.5 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#9 of 41 in Flores
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
435 reviews
167.3 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
216 reviews
166.7 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Club Beach Resort

Property: Sea World Club Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Nairoa KM 13 | Waiara, Maumere, Flores 86181, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Maumere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maumere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea World Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center, located in peaceful Waiara beach in Maumere, the biggest city in Flores Island-Indonesia. Situated along 500 m nice grey sands beach and surrounding by beautiful tropical garden makes the resort looks very exotics. Rebuilding a bankrupt hotel was a far-sighted self-help-project of the German father Heinrich Bollen SVD. This courageous project offers financial support for the social project in education, health and children to development the island and provides jobs for about 40 people. The Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center features 9 beachfront cottage and suites,1 honeymoon suites and 3 family cottages overlooking the ocean, 12 garden cottage and 2 private villas. With the nice beautiful beach and surrounded by tropical garden, the exotic buffet breakfast with home made jam from the local fruits, dinning at beachfront restaurant with selection of menu, enjoying the spectacular sunset while watching the fisherman working, diving and snorkelling activity, The Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center is the place to be to have the amazing exclusive holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea World Club Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Club Beach Hotel Maumere
Sea World Hotel
Sea World Club Beach Resort Maumere, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing