We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple cottage and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea World Club Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Maumere
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simple cottage and nice staff”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Basic resort cottage with mosquito net, AC, fridge and warm shower. Location is outside town and noises. There's dive center and bar on beach with black sand.

Room Tip: Garden cottage was ok, and cheaper than the other at beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    110
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
40
104
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had a night in Maumere before a liveaboard dive trip. The dive company recommended Sea World Club. We were happy with the choice and it exceeded our expectations of a hotel in a remote town on a remote island of Indonesia. Our visit was just before the rainy season and it was uncomfortably hot.

The Sea World Club is right on the beach. It is just 100 ft to water across a stretch of dark sand punctuated with the occasional palm tree. The water’s edge was clean and free of odors. In the morning, we noticed the staff raking up debris.

Our room was a comfortable suite – beach house #1. It was clean, free of insects, and thankfully air conditioned. There was a big king bed – a bit hard for our taste – with optional mosquito netting, a refrigerator, in room coffee, a work desk, some pictures for decoration, a wardrobe closet and drawers combination, bedside nightstands with reading lights, and a sitting area with two big chairs next to a big window. There was an outdoor covered patio however it was too warm for our comfort. The bathroom was clean, with no odor, no bugs, and no mold/mildew that are common in less advanced regions. The bathroom was not air conditioned and the décor was a bit older and the fixtures were water stained. We appreciated good hot water, nice towels, and basic toiletries.

From the comfort of our air conditioned room we enjoyed the fisherman working their nets morning and night. Each catch was pitifully small suggesting that the growing population is overfishing the region. The look of disappointment on their faces was moving. Also during our stay we watched naked local children playing in the water. And when not entertained by such outside activity we checked our email on the well-functioning internet at Sea World Club. They offer three plans: $1.50 for an hour up to $4 for 5 hours. Hint: in order to stretch your purchase, simply log off after downloading the emails and web pages you need.

Breakfast – omelets or eggs, fresh squeezed juice, toasted local bread, coffee, etc -- was included with our room price. We purchased dinner. Our order was taken at 4PM for a 7PM seating. Our chose of asparagus soup, grilled fresh catch of the day, potatoes, vegetable side dish and guacamole side dish cost just $16 and could have fed 4 persons. The food was excellent. Wine and beer were available for $4.50/glass and $3.50 for 0.6L bottle.

We were most amazed by the service oriented attitude of the staff. They seem to *really * want to help. And they always had a smile on their face, as if someone told them “be friendly and more commerce will come”. The staff’s English was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The place was managed by catholic clergy made the areas very clean, green and quiet although the place was located near village and an estuary. The room rates are reasonable. Yet, the best thing from this place is the calm and clean black sand beach. It was like a giant swimming pool for me, and if you want to go for snorkeling, the hotel offers service for boat reantal and they will take you to some islands nearby. You can also dive, with a dive gude (NOT a dive master) ...

The location is pretty far from anywhere, so make sure you eat your dinner before their kitchen closed before 9PM, or you will end up with empty stomach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dugongidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed 2 nights in a standard room and found the bathroom very poor maintained and dirty.
The sink was almost coming from the wall and the shower was just a pipe with cold water falling down. But worse, the bathroom was full with crawling insects. I really had to put my shoes on to enter the dirty bathroom.
The foreign manager was very unpolite when I arrived. She hearty welcomed a German couple with who I shared a taxi and at the same time completely ignored me. She arranged someone to carry the luggage for the german couple and I had to carry my own bag. This was probably because I hadn't booked any tours with her, so no commission for her I suppose. Or was it because I am not German?
There are not many other options in Maumere, so I suppose the get away with it, but if any competition is coming here, they have to take care. It must be said that the local staff was extremely friendly.

Room Tip: They say the suites are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

After a trip across Flores this place was heaven. I had an ocean front suite with a 4 poster bed and the quality was 4* world class, clean and comfortable. There was a good size verandah and beach loungers right at the front of the bungalow. Service was good and booking very easy. The beach was beautiful as well and they arranged our transfer to airport early morning (in fact woke me up since I overslept and nearly missed the flight). If I am ever in Maumere again I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were delighted to stay here at the end of our trip across Flores. We asked to upgrade from the basic bungalow but due to high season nothing was initially available.
After checking in, we realised we would be happy in a basic bungalow although it didn't face onto the beach, it had a very pleasant porch with comfortable seats to sit and have a beer as the sun went down. It also had two double bed rooms which gave us extra unexpected space. All rooms came with good mosquito nets and the housekeeping was very good and maybe not what to expect of this type of accommodation.
The food was actually pretty good and we signed up to the special BBQ evenings which were very well done with local musicians and not the normal sort of thing I would recommend. They also had a decent happy hour on beers which were greatly appreciated over a sunset or two.
The only downside - had to pay for Wifi access and it was restricted to the public areas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianinsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were very happy with the Premium room, very large and well appointed, lots of hot water and nice deco. Very pleasant outdoor porch area. After 8 days overland it was a joy to spend 2 days here. We have already booked to return in 2012. Next time allowing more time for a trip or two out to the islands from Sea World. The only disappointment was the food at Sea World which was definitely so so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maumere
1.4 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
1.8 mi away
CAPA Resort Maumere
CAPA Resort Maumere
#4 of 5 in Maumere
29 reviews
166.5 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 41 in Flores
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
423 reviews
167.3 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#15 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
211 reviews
166.7 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Club Beach Resort

Property: Sea World Club Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Nairoa KM 13 | Waiara, Maumere, Flores 86181, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Maumere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Maumere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea World Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center, located in peaceful Waiara beach in Maumere, the biggest city in Flores Island-Indonesia. Situated along 500 m nice grey sands beach and surrounding by beautiful tropical garden makes the resort looks very exotics. Rebuilding a bankrupt hotel was a far-sighted self-help-project of the German father Heinrich Bollen SVD. This courageous project offers financial support for the social project in education, health and children to development the island and provides jobs for about 40 people. The Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center features 9 beachfront cottage and suites,1 honeymoon suites and 3 family cottages overlooking the ocean, 12 garden cottage and 2 private villas. With the nice beautiful beach and surrounded by tropical garden, the exotic buffet breakfast with home made jam from the local fruits, dinning at beachfront restaurant with selection of menu, enjoying the spectacular sunset while watching the fisherman working, diving and snorkelling activity, The Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center is the place to be to have the amazing exclusive holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sea World Club Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Club Beach Hotel Maumere
Sea World Hotel
Sea World Club Beach Resort Maumere, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing