We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sylvia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Hotel Pelita(Maumere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
7
31
59
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
31
59
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning flightnice poolcoffee and teanice placelabuan bajobalconyindonesiawesterners
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 118 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Pros: Nice pool in the early morning, clean room and bathroom, service staff very friendly

Cons: room and lobby stink of smoke. Hotel did not honour the price form booking.com. reception staff without the manager around are literally blank canvases of stupidity. Not a shred of a sign of intelligence to do something without prior approval. Manager was not around so you can image the frustration explaining we have a deal with booking.com. Credit card machine line wasnt working. If by fluke we didnt have cash on us we would have missed our plane. Again the manager wasnt around so you can imagine the blank idiots on reception just saying ;it's not working... words fail me on this place. Book the Seaworld hotel instead in advance.

As a a back it's ok but no where near as good as it should be. Wifi is terrible as well and only in the smoky lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monami_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I highly recommend Sylvia Hotel for anyone traveling through Maumere. Clean, comfortable rooms, with A/C and hot water. We paid RP 300.000 for a room with two twin beds, and breakfast buffet was included.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two days in late Nov 2012. The beds were comfortable and had clean sheets. Although all rooms are no smoking it appears not everyone understood this, as smoke was coming in to my room through one of the central vents. But this was only a problem for about an hour on the 1st night. There is free internet in the lobby; with a pretty good signal. Buffet breakfast is also served in the restaurant located in the lobby. However please note that the selection is limited -- rice, fish/chicken dishes, fried eggs, bread, juices, coffe/tea, and water. Staff were quite friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAL315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed this hotel as I did not have any other choice. Anyway, this hotel was recommended by a friend of mine and considered the only best hotel available in town. No wifi in the room and must go to hot, sticky lobby area where I was entertained with flies. Since the city is very underdeveloped, I thought that it was better to order meal for my dinner. The meal ordered from the only resto available in that hotel tasted fine BUT if you are real hungry, perhaps you will drop dead to wait as the service was absolutely slow. If there were any other International hotel, I definitely would not want to stay in this hotel!...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamawidjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I visited the hotel twice in the last 3 months for business trip. The hotel is located in the city and not far from Airport. It is easily to be accessed by using local transportation.
The room is spacious and clean. Facilities of the hotel is average with pool and gymnastic room.
Breakfast menus are not the best thing in this hotel. They serve Indonesian food like noodles, fried rice and sometimes with spicy chicken in the coconut milk. The bread is not really tasty with very limited choice of jam and butter. I prefer to buy my own bread and skip the breakfast in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask the room near the pool on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AkiraMaharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews