We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Created falls”

Canonteign Waterfalls and Country Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Christow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
cannock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Created falls”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

These falls are not natural and it is not easy to get to the top. We arrived about 3.30 in the afternoon and paid £13.00 each after which we were told the gates would close in an hour and it would be a close call as to whether we could see all of the falls. They were right - we didn't make it all the way to the top and felt particularly cheated. Other walks are not signposted out of the visitor centre so we felt we had just wasted the £26.00 it had cost us, £30 had we not been pensioners.

If you had a day there, may be it is worth the money but I am sure there are many just as good walks that can be had for free in the Dartmoor area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank viv e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    111
    37
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Canonteign falls & county park”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A trip adviser from Hampshire.
We, couple and one large dog visited Canonteign falls in September.
Staying in the area on a mid week break.

Entrance fee. We paid £13.50 with Internet 10% off voucher for 2 adults. Dog free.
Normal price - Adults £7.50. Children £5.75 (over 4 yrs old), Students/oaps £6.50
Family ticket 2 adults & 2 children £24.00 Car park free.

We had a most relaxing afternoon, stayed about 3 hours.
The park is very dog friendly and all out doors so you need fine, dry weather to visit.
Plenty of paths and bridges. Ponds with ducks and 2 black swans. We took some bread to feed them. The ground level was flat and we did see a person pushing a walking frame. Plenty of picnic tables. We took drinks and own food.There was a cafe if you wanted to buy.

We did the walk to the top of the falls with plenty of rests. I did comment that seats/benches would have been nice. The walk was steep and through the woodlands.We saw the man made spider in a web(large) as we walked on up.
Lovely view at the top of open countryside.Saw the water begin its journey down the fall from what looked like a metal slide.

I would say there is something for everyone within the 80 acre country park. Lots of wildlife..Small park with swings, etc... for the children. Bring a drink, read the newspaper in the grounds, great views.

I read some people thought it expensive. Remember the gardeners, refuse collectors and cleaners, shop staff all need paid wages.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkshoes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

There are several walks in this park, so if you want to just amble for a while you can do one of the two walks around the lakes and feed the ducks and black swans, who are all quite tame. We opted to do the waterfall walk as well. My elderly mother, who for health reasons doesn't do a lot of walking, managed to get to the top and enjoyed the views once there, as we all did. My only disappointment was the choice of food, especially for vegetarians (as usual!), vegetable pasty which had sold out, or cheese/onion toasted sandwich, and some of the prices at the cafe. It was very dog friendly, including a covered area on colder/wetter days, if you wanted to eat outside and have your dog with you! All in all, nice views and peaceful, once the school party had left.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barleybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“day trip”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was an exceptional day out for all the family the park was good and the falls were spectacular, helped by recent rain.

Helpful?
1 Thank Weddingtrip147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good attraction!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Lovely, nice set up well thought out and worth visiting! waterfalls lovely very very steep! but if you can make it to the top is well worth going!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank srh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canonteign Waterfalls and Country Park also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
Manaton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Canonteign Waterfalls and Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing