We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful hotel surrounded by beautiful countryside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldiola Country Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aldiola Country Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful hotel surrounded by beautiful countryside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights with my boyfriend in May. It was at the beginning of the tourist season in Sardinia so the hotel was very quiet with only a couple of other couples staying there.

All the rooms are dotted around a hillside in semi-detached 'chalet' type buildings which was lovely and peaceful. Rooms are a decent size, very clean and nicely decorated and they all have their own patio area, most with very good views of the nearby lake. Pool is also nice and kept very clean and although cold, it certainly wasn't cold enough to stop me wanting to swim. Breakfast was ok. You could have fruit, cereal, yoghurts, croissants, cakes, bread, meats and cheese. Pretty standard. We had dinner at the hotel 3nights we were there. You have to order what you want at breakfast with a choiceof 2 starters and 2 mains each day. Although the food wasn't the best we had in our stay in Sardinia, we still enjoyed it. However, the desserts really weren't great at all and we avoided them if we could.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, which is exactly what we wanted so don't come here if you want to be in the centre of a village/town with lots to do. We had a very relaxing few days and when we did want to get out and about to sightsee, we just hopped in the car and within an hour you could be at the costa smeralda for example.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff were friendly, room very nice and location beautiful.

  • Liked — views and semi-detatched rooms
  • Disliked — choice of food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lirbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

We have recently returned from three nights at the Aldiola in between a night either side in Alghero for flight access. I'm a very discerning customer and apart from one gripe (more later) I have to say I was sorry to leave at the end of our stay. We booked into one of their supreme cottages which are situated below the rest of the rooms thus giving an uninterrupted view of a stunning lake. A totally serene view, with no clear sight of any other signs of habitation. It is a simply breathtaking vista for a hotel of this price. Our room was perfect, simply yet gracefully decorated with plenty of room for two. We especially enjoyed relaxing on the balcony every evening as the sun was setting.

The small team of staff were all very pleasant and extremely personable. They all seemed to happy to be working there and it showed in their service. We were even offered cigarettes by the owner ( a lovely young couple seemed to be in charge) when we got a bit tipsy after dinner (typical English!) and asked the waitress if we could buy any. It was a moment of unselfishness that you will never find in a larger chain hotel. This simple act proved to me they wanted their few guests to have a totally enjoyable time.

My only gripe was the food. Having read the reviews below I can only ascertain that the chef was away when we were there, but seeing as it was one of the busiest times of the year I find that hard to believe.
The first night we were there I had one of the worst meals of my life. Some horrible tuna bites for antipasti with a sweet and sour sauce that tasted like it came from a jar. I was shocked - Italian food is all about freshness and simplicity and to be honest both of these factors were lacking. I could go on; a fresh local bean soup that tasted of baked beans, and a cuttlefish and pea stew that was so badly constructed it beggared belief. Lunch was better but not by much, my partner and I ordered pasta that tasted like it had been made with concrete - such was the heaviness. Pasta should be deft and light - it was a massive disappointment. A holiday in Italy is as much about the food as anything else - in this respect the Aldiola was lacking
Needless to say, with an isolated hotel like this you need to rely upon its kitchen and unfortunately it was far behind the rest of the hotel in every aspect bar the price. Our second night was in fact spent on our balcony with some fresh pizza from a takeaway in a nearby town - perfecto!

Anyway, barring the food the rest of our stay was spot on and exactly what we were after.

If you are looking for somewhere to unwind the Aldiola is perfect. It is close enough for day trips to the coast, the staff were faultless, the views are beautiful, and it is serenely quiet. I just hope they sort out that kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnieNotSoEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed at the Aldiola for four nights at the end of June and had a lovely time.

It's a stunning location overlooking the lake, and the hotel and the gardens are beautiful. The rooms were lovely with big comfortable beds, a pretty terrace and a really nice bathroom.

The pool is lovely with amazing views and was very quiet when we were there. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

We ate in the hotel for two of the nights we were there and the food was excellent (and good value at 25 euros for three courses).

You certainly do need a car, and it's a good half an hour's drive to the coast, but the scenery is lovely on the way, and there is a local town just 10 minutes away.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aliinbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

We've just got back from 10 days at the Aldiola and was prepared to write a glowing review. Except zippymonkey has beaten me to it and said pretty much everything that I was going to!

So to recap - very accomodating, pleasant staff, great rooms, pool is just warm enough in August (you don't want it too warm in the August heat), food is good too and wine is excellent.

There isn't much to do locally, so you must have a car at the Aldiola. Sant Antonio di Gallura is a little village with pretty much nothing in it, and Arzachena isn't much better but does have some food shops at least. You can get to Porto Cervo and Palau in 30 mins so they are very easy to reach.

The main reason we chose the Aldiola was because it was set a little distance from the Costa Smeralda, which is heaving in August. And in that respect it was brilliant, as it was quiet, peaceful and you could easily get to the action if you wanted to.

I would highly recommend this place for a stay in NE Sardinia.

  • Liked — Pretty much everthing
  • Disliked — Thin walls between adjoining bathrooms in the villas
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cornishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

Our three night stay in Aldiola Country Resort was the perfect start to our three destination holiday of Sardinia, offering peace, relaxation, and fine dining.

Aldiola offers the comfort of a traditional hotel with the unusual twist of each room being a bungalow with its own private balcony nestled on the slopes of the well-kept gardens overlooking the tranquil lake of Lago di Liscia.

We arrived early, just after 1pm, and recieved a very friendly welcome and complimentary drinks before checking into our spotless room. The rooms are very well equipped, with a complimentary safe, large fridge, good air-con and Sky TV with movies and Sports (tip: press 'info' then up/down to adjust language from Italian to English on most channels).

You will need a car to reach Aldiola, as it is situated inland, around 45 minutes from Olbia Airport; signposted well from the nearest village of Sant Antonio di Gallura. There is nothing to do nearby in terms of bars or nightlife - indeed, it was a struggle to find even a shop selling water - but, if you are after peace and quiet, then this can only be a good thing.

In any case, there is little need to find nearby restaurants for dinner as the hotel's food is excellent and good value. There is a choice of two or three dishes for the first three courses, which you must choose at breakfast. Dessert is the chef's choice. We were surprised and delighted by the quality of the cooking which had local influences and was full of flavour; complimented excellently by a large selection of Sardinian wines. There was no outdoor dining on offer, but the restaurant was very pleasant and cool with good views over the lake.

Breakfast was acceptable, but not up to the high standards of dinner. The locally baked cakes, pastries and croissants were delicious, however. Apart from this you were mostly limited to bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt and some fruit. They do offer freshly cooked eggs, but don't really tell you about it, so make sure you ask the waitress...

The pool area is spacious with plenty of free sun loungers, a large kidney shaped pool and an outdoor bar area. Previous reviews refer to the cool temperature of the pool, however we found it just right and quite refreshing. Due to the heat in July, we didn't spend all day by the pool but sought out local attractions.

Despite the isolation of the hotel, the roads are good and it is within less than an hour's drive of many interesting spots. Recommended outings include the picturesque town of Aggius, the pretty provincial capital - Tempio Pausania and a ferry trip to La Maddalena.

We left Aldiola in good spirits; well-fed and relaxed as we moved onto our next destination. We wouldn't hesitate recommending this unique hillside retreat to anyone seeking something a little different.

  • Liked — Great views and brilliant food
  • Disliked — Limited Breakfast choices
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

We just returned from our 1 week stay at the Aldiola Coutry Resort and were very pleased with the entire hoiday.

The hotel is beautiful for those who seek a little peace and quiet from a stressy job. That was exactly what we were looking for and it is exactly what we got.

The rooms are very clean and just as in the pictures shown on the homepage. The people are very very friendly and always try to ensure a comfortable stay. We were even welcomed with a cool drink after our arrival.

Remember to have a rental car if you wish to travel around the island, otherwise your stuck there...

Be assured to find a beautiful hotel, great food, friendly service and a variety of wines to round up the entire deal!

I can suggest this hotel to everybody who is looking for something away from the classical touristical type holiday stay, with no compromise concerning service, cleanliness or food and drinks!

Great Job, Aldiola and keep up the good work!!!

Greetings fron Germany,

C. and I.

  • Liked — beautiful surroundings and hotel, peace and quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SirCharles1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
283 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2008

This resort hotel was opened in 2007. It is located high in the hills a long way from the beautiful Costa Smeralda. The location is pretty and there is a nice view of the reservoir. There are 27 units scattered around the site and a central reception/bar/restaurant with a kidney shaped pool nearby. Apart from the pool and a couple of bicycles which may have been available to guests, there appeared to be no other leisure facilities. Overall we were extremely disappointed, particularly in view of the very high price (£197 per night for a superior double with breakfast). Let us explain:
- the Costa Smeralda is quite spectacular but the Aldiola is an hour or so away along difficult roads. The place to be is on the coast not up in the hills.
- the resort is nicely constructed and tastefully furnished and the rooms are pleasant but basic. However the gardens need weeding and attention and we wonder how long it will be before the resort looks tired.
- service is pretty bad. We had to lug our own bags from the car park to our room down narrow steep paths with lots of steps (we are retired and could have done with some help but none was offered). Much of the housekeeping appeared extremely amateurish. The bed, for example, had no mattress cover and the pillow, no pillow protectors. Fortunately the mattress was new but after a few sweaty nights, we wouldn't fancy it.
- the food was utterly appalling. You have to choose your dinner at breakfast with two options per course. It was cheap (E25 per head) and the service was cheerful but the food was the worst Italian food we have been offered in years - absolutely horrid. Breakfast was no better - in a country groaning with fresh fruit, the only fruit we were offered was tinned pears. There was no fresh bread and nothing appetising. After the first night we ate elsewhere but that is a major problem as the nearby town has no good restaurants and we ended up driving 20 kms each way for a decent meal.
- As we have mentioned, even though Aldiola calls itself a resort, it is not a resort at all and has virtually no facilities. Also the pool is extremely cold due to the altitude and the fact that kidney shaped pools are difficult to cover at night to reduce heat loss (not that any attempt was made).
- the price is a rip off. At half the price it would be reasonable but we would still much prefer to be at or near the coast.
- all meals are served inside (easier for the staff?). We couldn't understand why the doors weren't opened and why there were no tables set up outside for meals.
All in all it was a terrible disappointment. It seemed to us that the owners had put some effort into the decor but none whatsoever into hospitality standards yet they expected top dollar. It has an air of amateurism and, we suspect, impending failure. We were there at a busy time during excellent weather yet they weren't full. No one seemed to be particularly happy but nor was there impending rebellion. We doubt however it's going to be around for long.

  • Liked — Decor, vista, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianemilio, Direttore at Aldiola Country Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Google Translation
E' molto divertente come i clienti possano valutare la stessa struttura come un luogo meraviglioso oppure come un luogo di condanna, prossimo alla chiusura. Sicuramente le critiche sono sempre di stimolo al miglioramento. A distanza di anni il successo tra gli ospiti che hanno visitato l'Aldiola Country Resort ne è la conferma . E' comunque doveroso precisare che le tenute dell'Aldiola risultano in parte essere nel comune di Arzachena, capoluogo della Costa Smeralda, e che le spiagge più vicine siano quelle di Cannigione a circa 15, 20 minuti . La spiaggia di Liscia Ruja Porto Cervo dista circa 25 km . La prerogativa principale della struttura è comunque l'essere inserita in un contesto paesaggistico unico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Antonio di Gallura
10.3 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valkarana - Relais di Campagna
Valkarana - Relais di Campagna
#1 of 2 in Sant'Antonio di Gallura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
#1 of 75 in Arzachena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Lughente
Hotel Luna Lughente
#7 of 40 in Olbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
56.8 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
141.7 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldiola Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldiola Country Resort

Property: Aldiola Country Resort
Address: s.p. 137 lago del liscia km 4,700, 07030 Sant'Antonio di Gallura, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Sant'Antonio di Gallura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Antonio di Gallura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldiola Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Aldiola Country Resort is surrounded by centuries-old trees, and located on the hills overlooking the Liscia Lake, close to the Sardinian Emerald Coast. The panoramic swimming pool and the various shady spots offer moments of total relaxation. The architectural features of the Gallura region are reflected in the lay-out of the hotel rooms. Each room offers spectacular views of the lake. Furnishings are in the authentic Sardinian style. Particular care has been paid to the choice of wood and ironworks for the furniture and fixtures, textiles and ceramics, all crafted by the finest Sardinian artisans. Both the restaurant and the rooms are set among the local shrub and flowers, carefully trimmed and illuminated at night to create a beautiful atmosphere. The Aldiola restaurant offers the best choice of regional and international cuisine, with 2 types of menu that change daily. The finest traditional dishes are enhanced by local ingredients and flavours. The house wine, from the family vineyard, is a fine, fresh red wine. The restaurant also stocks the best known Sardinian labels. The surrounding area is rich in extraordinary sites, both natural and archaeological. A short distance away, on the shores of the lake, are numerous 1000-year-old olive groves and amazing granite rocks. You can also admire monuments of the Nuragic age. Aldiola Country Resort is also the ideal starting point for nature walks and more challenging trekking excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aldiola Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldiola Country Hotel Sant`Antonio Di Gallura
Hotel Aldiola Country
Aldiola Country Resort Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing