We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pennal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: info@riversidehotel-pennal.co.uk
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

First-time visit to this restaurant as Christmas lunch with my work colleagues and was totally delighted. Atmosphere is great with small and intimate seating areas, modern but comfortable, wonderful real fire, small bar but plenty of variety of spirits including some interestingly named whiskies! We ate christmas menu of which there was a varied selection of dishes to choose from, beautifully presented and generous portions, at reasonable prices. Set menu 2 courses £16.95 3 courses £21.95 10% discount at lunchtime 20% off bottles of wine with parties of 10 or more. Recommended chicken liver pate, goats cheese and pear salad; turkey and all trimmings, rib eye steak; lemon tart and summer fruit coulis, christmas pud and brandy sauce. Loads of freshly cooked vegetables, staff helpful and no problem if you want more sprouts!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    75
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Cosy country style restaurant offering local produce and only a short walk from the resort. Great menu with lots of choice. Friendly staff and a very warm welcome!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TracynPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
561 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Yummy Sunday lunch and great service”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We came here for lunch on Sunday whilst staying at a cottage in the area. We were running late and were two people fewer than we'd booked the table for so I called en route to let them know and the person I spoke to on the phone couldn't have been more charming. The table size had been adjusted by the time we arrived and we were made very welcome by the friendly waiting staff. There was a lovely fire roaring in the little snug area and it was all very cosy.

All the food was well presented and portions were generous. I had the roast beef which came with two delicious Yorkshire puddings and they were happy to provide additional Yorkies for my friend even though she ordered linguine! We weren't charged for these which was a nice gesture.

Another friend was feeling unwell and she didn't fancy the soup on the menu. No problem, a bowl of tomato was rustled up for her.

Deserts were good and the local cheese and biscuits looked amazing. The coffee was excellent quality too.

Bill came to about £90 for 6 of us which seemed more than reasonable for the high quality food and first class service.

We will undoubtedly be back if we are ever in the area again and I'd recommend a visit if you are anywhere nearby.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having checked with trip advisor before visiting I was expecting an excellent evening and was not disappointed. The staff were has friendly and helpful as they could be and the food was good. The surroundings are modern and comfortable with a warm log fire and there is a good range of wines. We did book beforehand and this is advisable for this excellent pub.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Criss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent an enjoyable week at nearby Plas Talgarth with 3 friends and following the good reviews this restaurant has, we booked to have a celebratory meal there. I cannot really add to the other reviews as everything was perfect. We were given a very warm welcome and the service and quality of food was faultless.
If you are in the area, don't miss it as you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Hotel also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing